We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Strand Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tauranga
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Strand Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 31: English reviews
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2016

If you just need somewhere to stop over for a night or two, this place is great. It's really affordable and you can walk to any number of fantastic restaurants along the Strand for your meals. There's a bit of city noise - cars, the occasional train, the occasional gaggle of drunk people screaming as they stumble along on a... More 

Helpful?
Thank lzha224
strandmotel, Owner at Strand Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review as always its good to hear from people who measure our offer on what we promote; Good clean affordable accommodation in the heart of the city with harbour views. Colleen and Allan. More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

Good price good location in the middle of town , owner was nice and helpful. No complaints, you get what you pay for, great after a long drive and somewhere to rest. Just be mindful it is by the train tracks in the middle of town so if you wanted somewhere quiet it wouldn't be so good.

Helpful?
Thank fortheloveoffood21
strandmotel, Owner at Strand Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review its always good to hear from people who measure our offer on what we promote; Good clean affordable accommodation in the heart of the city with harbour views. Coupled with the offer is our quest to provide our guests with friendly helpful service. Colleen and Allan. More 

Stockholm
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. The location is excellent. Close to the sea and the city. The motel is a bit old and internet only works if you sit outside but we slept well and it was very affordable.

Helpful?
Thank Lusen
strandmotel, Owner at Strand Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are waiting to hookup with UF Broaband. Always good to hear from people who measure our offer on what we promote; Good clean affordable accommodation in the heart of the city with harbour views. Colleen and Allan. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

I have previously reviewed this motel and since then have stayed again several times. Our last visit deserves a review of its own. Our family of 8 stayed this time across three units for two nights from New Years Eve. It was a wonderful stay that was enjoyed by all. We love it here, the proprietors are always lovely and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shangel
strandmotel, Owner at Strand Motel, responded to this review

Thank you "Shangel".. you have epitomised what we strive to achieve. Any motelier will tell you the difficulties of operating a budget style motel in the cbd, you don't have the "bells and whistles" of most motels and being close to bars and nightclubs you have the problem of guests "friends" visiting to consume liquor before venturing off to dinner... More 

Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2015

Stopped here for two nights, budget type motel but very comfortable, overlooking the harbour, quiet and close to all the restaurants. We paid NZ$85 per night, with no complaints. It was clean, had parking right in front of the room. Recommended for a short stay.

Helpful?
Thank Robrid1
strandmotel, Owner at Strand Motel, responded to this review

Always good to hear from people who measure our offer on what we promote; Good clean affordable accommodation in the heart of the city with harbour views. Colleen and Allan. More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2015

We stayed at this motel for two nights during our travels around the North Island. It was clean, fairly priced and had a balcony overlooking the harbour. It was great sitting there looking over the sea with a beer in hand, what more can you ask for?! The hosts were friendly and recommended that we tried the local fish market... More 

Helpful?
Thank Meltem T
strandmotel, Owner at Strand Motel, responded to this review

Always good to hear from people who measure our offer on what we promote; Good clean affordable accommodation in the heart of the city with harbour views. Coupled with the offer is our quest to provide our guests with friendly helpful service. Colleen and Allan. More 

Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Unfortunately this place has seen better days, it is old. If you are expecting flat screen TV's and modern fixtures and fittings this wouldn't be the place for you. The couch in our room was in need of a good clean, we chose to sit on the chairs instead. Without wanting to sound overly negative it was terrible, some of... More 

Helpful?
Thank MeffnDiv
strandmotel, Owner at Strand Motel, responded to this review

We stand by our philosophy of; "Good clean affordable accommodation in the heart of the city with harbour views" The word "Clean" in our philosophical statement we stand by; because we do most of the cleaning ourselves...in regards to the couch we contacted our carpet/furniture cleaning contractor who found no problem with the cleanliness of the couch. Good to read... More 

Travellers are raving about these Tauranga hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for the weekend with my husband. No worries, no problems. The owners were very accomodating especially with storing our bags for a later pick up. We didn't notice the trains or late night noise. Lovely stay. We would def go back. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank Shangel
strandmotel, Owner at Strand Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. Its great to receive positive feedback from people who appreciate "good, clean affordable accommodation in the heart of the city with harbour views" ..and the harbour view from your balcony at any time of the day is awesome.Once again thank you Colleen and Allan. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2015

We booked this motel because of it being nice and close to town and a good price. i wasn’t very happy with the cleanliness of the place the bathroom floor was sticky and the bedspread had stains on it , also when we booked we had no idea this was right by the train tracks witch kept us up also... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank halizxo
strandmotel, Owner at Strand Motel, responded to this review

We stand by our philosophy of; "Good clean affordable accommodation in the heart of the city with harbour views" The word "Clean" in our philosophical statement we stand by; because we do most of the cleaning ourselves....and yes across the road and beyond the park is the railway line, because it only serves the port, trains are not frequent.Also every... More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2015

I live in Tauranga however my two friends from out of town wanted to come down and catch up. They booked this motel and I cannot even fathom the hostility of the owners. One of the friends staying here had come to my house a few weeks before and had accidentally left wallet at my house so when I was... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank leshdiamond
strandmotel, Owner at Strand Motel, responded to this review

The issue here is one person arrived at the front desk and filled out the booking in document stating one person and was reminded about what he had stated and the “no visitors after 7pm” rule that he had signed. He acknowledged he fully understood. About 8.30pm a female arrived and entered the room. I knocked on the door and... More 

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.2 km away
Quest Tauranga
Quest Tauranga
#20 of 57 in Tauranga
113 reviews
0.3 km away
City Suites
City Suites
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
276 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#29 of 57 in Tauranga
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
962 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
473 reviews
0.3 km away
Harbour City Motor Inn
Harbour City Motor Inn
#6 of 57 in Tauranga
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Strand Motel

Address: 27 The Strand, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Number of rooms: 9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Strand Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Strand Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Depending on which room you get you may not have wifi signal further away from the office.”
 of 5 bubbles lzha224, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Unit with a balcony and view.”
 of 5 bubbles 933fay, 10 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Chose a room at the back just in case the trains might wake you”
 of 5 bubbles 588peterw588, 28 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Ground floor units probably quieter than the ones bordering the street. They are bigger though so you would be paying more.”
 of 5 bubbles Maria_wn, 18 Sep 2013 | Read review
“They have a huge upstairs room!”
 of 5 bubbles hannaha144, 13 Jan 2013 | Read review
5 of 5