Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Haka Lodge Taupō

Traveller (119)
Economy Double
Room & Suite (21)
View from the outside dining area
Dining (18)

View prices for your travel dates

AU$91
Go to your Happy Price
AU$101
AU$83
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 10 hostels in Taupo
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Haka Lodge Taupō is an up-market backpacker's hostel located in central Taupō. Our ethos places the guest experience at the heart of everything we do. Come and stay in backpacker luxury with FREE unlimited Wi-Fi, hot-tub and stunning views of Lake Taupō! Haka Lodges are a modern New Zealand hostel network with fresh ideas, smart design and an eco outlook.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Bicycle rental
Hiking
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Parking
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German

Location

56 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo 3330 New Zealand
673Reviews1Q+A69Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 451
  • 155
  • 39
  • 17
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
SuperTravelGirlNZ wrote a review Jan 2022
Auckland, New Zealand5 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent location (walking distance to the lake, cinema, bars, restaurants and supermarkets). Lots of parking. Well constructed wooded bunks in dorm room which don't shake when other people on bunk move, bunks also have privacy curtain, 2 power plugs and an individual light. Large lockable (bring own padlock) storage areas below bunks. Easy after hours check in process (they email you a code for the lockbox which has your room key). Great that it has quiet hours, so you get a good quiet night sleep. Good wifi.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kirsty Malone, Other at Haka Lodge Taupō
Responded 8 Jan 2022
Kia ora SuperTravelGirlNZ, Thank you for taking the time to share your review, It's a great location isn't it? We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again very soon. Nga mihi Timo and the Haka Lodge Taupo team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicole B wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great hospitality, clean and comfortable! As always, Haka Lodge is above the average backpackers, and delivers exceptional quality for an affordable price. Great sturdy bunks with curtains, lights and padlocked storage below. Is a relaxed place with no party antics; so great if up early to be adventuring out and about in the Lakes District region, weather water or snow! Thanks to Ryan; for being a peaceable, friendly and accommodating host :)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Colette Leonard, General Manager at Haka Lodge Taupō
Responded 9 Sept 2020
Kia ora Nicole B, Thanks for your excellent review - we are so pleased you had a great stay! We will be sure to share your comments with Ryan! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Taupo! Nga mihi, Colette and the Haka Lodge Taupo team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
imirizaldusolaia wrote a review Dec 2020
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely stay in a suite with balcony and views to the lake. The staff were really nice and the outdoor deck by the kitchen was great for breakfast. Although the people on the neighbouring bedroom were playing music at night, they respected the silence policy after we knocked on the wall. We were able to rest like in no other hostel. Would definitely come back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Haka Lodge Taupō, General Manager at Haka Lodge Taupō
Responded 22 Dec 2020
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us at Haka Lodge Taupo. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Nga mihi, Haka Lodge Taupo team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Honeymooners519 wrote a review Jan 2020
Washington DC, District of Columbia2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hostel is close to town, so it's in a great location. We stayed in a private room with shared bathrooms and the bathrooms were very dirty and filled with bugs. They refreshed and cleaned the bathrooms multiple times but in general I felt they were gross. Our room was absolutely tiny with no air and no screens on the windows - when we left them open at night we were inundated with bugs and moths. Lastly, the laundry was out of order when we were there. We booked here specifically because it said laundry was available and we were doing the Tongariro Alpine Crossing (I knew we'd have sweaty/dirty clothes to wash!). Some of the other rooms might have been better than ours, so please keep that in mind! However, I would not stay here again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at Haka Lodge Taupō
Responded 30 Jan 2020
Dear Honeymooners519, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Haka Lodge Taupo. The team and I were disappointed to read your comments about the cleanliness of the bathrooms - we have addressed this as a team and have completed re-training. we do apologise about the laundry issue - we were having issues, and we were waiting on replacement parts for the units so that they could be repaired. Thanks again for your feedback and we do hope we have the chance to welcome you back again at some stage, to show you our true kiwi hospitality! Nga mihi, Colette
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rebecca J wrote a review Feb 2020
Wollongong, Australia75 contributions16 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Haka Lodge is located fairly close to the main part of Taupo and supermarket, e.g. about a ten-minute walk. The kitchen and dining common areas are generally good and staff are helpful. I usually like staying in hostels and have always had good experiences in New Zealand, however, this is probably one of the worst stays in a hostel I have had. The laundry was out of order the whole time I was there, and the closest shower and toilet to my room were constantly blocked and overflowing. Although the kitchen is well set up, most of the gas burners did not work properly. My bed that I had in the 8 bed dorm was also the worst bed in the room, with nowhere to store my luggage. Do not get the single bed by itself in the dorm room. I has none of the extras the bunk beds have e.g. no light, nowhere to store anything, no curtains. The only good thing about it is that it was next to the window as the room gets hot.This was frustrating as I had actually booked early and didn't realise this particular bed had none of the "extras" the other beds had, see comment below.

Please update and maintain the facilities and be clear when booking what each bed and/or room provides. The single bed I had should not be the same price as the other beds in the room as it is much more inconvenient than the other beds.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Room Tip: Do not get the single bed in the dorm room, bunks are better.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at Haka Lodge Taupō
Responded 3 Feb 2020
Kia ora beckatej, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Haka Lodge Taupo. I was disappointed to read your comments regarding your experience. We did have an issue with the laundry facilities, and unfortunately, due to the time of the year, we were struggling with getting the required replacement parts on a quick turn around time. I will address your feedback about the single bed in the dorm - as we do not want our guests having an average experience. Thanks again for your feedback - we have taken it all on board. Nga mihi, Colette
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Skues wrote a review Jan 2020
6 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Hostel standard. Double economy very small, not much space to move but cheap so expected? Showers not up to standard, lots of hair in plug holes and not draining properly. Kitchen doesn't open until 8am so if your wanting to get up early you need to keep your food in your room overnight. Ok for price but wouldn't go back
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HakaLodgeTaupo, General Manager at Haka Lodge Taupō
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Kia ora, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry to hear that you had a less than great experience. Unfortunately this year we have been hit with major staff shortages, which is showing in our cleanliness. Thankfully we have managed to fill our ranks, and have got things sorted out! We do have early access keys to our kitchen, and we do have that information clearly marked in our in-room information, I am so sorry to hear you missed it, I'll check if those are visible enough in each of the rooms! We wish you all the best for your travels in New Zealand. Kind Regards Jayson CVL
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Moye2SEVN4 wrote a review July 2021
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Family of 20 (6 kids under 12yrs, 1 senior 80+ , angsty teens and parents in tow) from Auckland decided hey let's take the little ones to Whakapapa for a day in the snow...Taupo was the obvious choice to base ourselves for the weekend! Whilst looking for accommodation to suit all of us - Haka Lodge stood out in terms of affordability, availability and friendliness.
Rooms adequate for our needs, kids loved bunking in one of the 3 large dorms we had booked and the small kitchen in our building was a good size.
Family enjoyed it, was a great experience Thanks Haka Lodge
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kirsty Malone, Other at Haka Lodge Taupō
Responded 22 July 2021
Kia ora Moye2SEVN4, Thank you for allowing us to be part of your wonderful adventure, we are ecstatic you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you all back soon. Nga mihi, Timo and the Haka Lodge Taupo team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Youth Girls Rugby League Stay wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were staying here as a Rugby League Team for the Nationals Youth for Girls League Tournament that was run in Taupo. The facilities were good, the care and service from the cleaners and workers were also good, but spoiled by the poor & "disgusting service and delivery" of the owner/manager towards my team. My girl's team were growled for singing at 9am in prep for a big game in the carpark & for using their cleaning equipment (vacuum) to clean their rooms. He said it was unreasonable & dis-respecful. 9am was not being unreasonable and helping keep their facilities clean was our way of respecting the facilities. I think he was the one being "DISRESPECTFUL". We always ensured our team followed the rules and regulations of this venue. The name of this Lodge is "HAKA" Lodge. "Haka Meaning" - this is performed in a group and represents a display of a tribe's pride, strength and unity. He is a foreigner confirmed by his accent, I suggest he takes the time to learn and understands our culture in New Zealand. We are very respectful people, till you dis-respect us.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kirsty Malone, Other at Haka Lodge Taupō
Responded 9 Oct 2022
Kia ora bettyIG312FV, Thank you for taking the time to share your review, We are glad you enjoyed the facilities and the cleanliness. Sadly, we have received multiple complaints regarding your group and the level of noise, including from outside of the lodge from our neighbours. The manager of our property is a New Zealand citizen and aside from that, we do not tolerate any kind of discrimination of any nationality at our properties. If you would like to discuss in more detail please contact us Nga mihi Kirsty
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
woozie3 wrote a review Feb 2023
Western Australia, Australia760 contributions85 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Our twin room was small, but it was mostly functional with good WiFi and a TV. There was no air-conditioner or fan...reception said that fans were allocated on a first come first serve basis. Luckily, we didn't need them with our upper floor windows open. We definitely could've used some hanging hooks and an extra mirror in the room though. No coffee making facilities. Our ensuite bathroom was good, with a body wash dispenser.

The carpark didn't have enough spaces, but it was easy and free to park on the street. No elevators, so luggage had to be carried up a flight of stairs to reach the upper floor rooms.

Our biggest problem was noise. Our friend in a ground floor room had a poor night's sleep as he could hear people moving around above him, going up and down the wooden stairs right outside his room, people chatting in the communal area till maybe 1 am, and even his neighbour's loud snoring. In our upper floor room, it wasn't as bad, but we were unfortunately right next to one of the hostel's shared toilets. Whenever it was used, the loud bang from that door literally sounded like someone was charging at our own room door, which was highly startling until you get somewhat used to it after awhile. Luckily, this shared toilet wasn't used by anyone after midnight during our stay, and the noise didn't start till about 7am, so we did manage to get some sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ABel0011 wrote a review Apr 2021
Wellington, New Zealand1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The lodge is very well placed for town, restaurants, lake and activities. Some playgrounds close by for kids also - total bonus. All facilities on site great & clean. And there was a private bathroom for that we were able to use with the kids
Appreciated the onsite parking also.
Rooms however were incredibly small! And the noise from the balcony echoed - so if you have a rowdy crowd it might be a bit noisy.

Overall - it was what was expected for the price we paid for a private room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Colette Leonard, General Manager at Haka Lodge Taupō
Responded 19 Apr 2021
Kia ora ABel0011 Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us - we appreciate your feedback. Nga mihi, Colette and the Haka Lodge Taupo team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from HakaLodgeTaupo
Taupo, New Zealand
Hi, Haka Lodge does not opperate its own shuttle service to the Tongariro Cossing, however, we are more than happy to book it for you with a company call Tongariro Expeditions. The shuttles leave Taupo at 5.30am ($65) or at 6.20am ($60) and then drive you back at the end of the day. Alternatively, if you have your own car, you can choose to drive to Ketetahi (the end of the Tongariro Crossing), and then book a shuttle for $30 per person to take you to the start of the crossing. Tongariro Expeditions is always the only company that offer car park security in Ketetahi while you do the crossing However, as this is an activity that is dependent on the weather, we do not book shuttles for our guests more than 24hrs in advance. Therefore, when you check-in, please remind us that you would wish to do the crossing and we will help you book the shuttle. And do not worry, they never run out of space so you will not miss out. Hopefully this information will help and feel free to contact us again if you have anymore questions.
Go34497018954 wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"lots of cafes and restaurants short walk away. Taupo gets cold in the evenings! "
Read full review
deanwhelch wrote a tip Jan 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand15 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"As we are a mountain bikers we were very pleased to find a lockup for our bikes"
Read full review
Rebecca J wrote a tip Feb 2020
Wollongong, Australia75 contributions16 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not get the single bed in the dorm room, bunks are better."
Read full review
Anne295424 wrote a tip Jan 2020
Santiago, Chile4 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"excellent beds with the privacy of a curtain and personal plug and lamp . very nice modern rooms with natural light"
Read full review
Coastal583983 wrote a tip June 2019
16 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose the top bunk or you will bump your head a lot!!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Taupo area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$78 - AU$107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionTaupo DistrictTaupo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HAKA LODGE TAUPŌ (AU$78) - 2024 Prices & Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Haka Lodge Taupō
Which popular attractions are close to Haka Lodge Taupō?
Nearby attractions include Lake Taupo (0.6 km), Maori Rock Carvings (0.6 km), and Taupo Museum (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Haka Lodge Taupō?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a hot tub.
What food & drink options are available at Haka Lodge Taupō?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Haka Lodge Taupō?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Haka Lodge Taupō?
Conveniently located restaurants include Incredible India Restaurant and Bar, Master of India, and Roquette Restaurant - Taupo.
Is Haka Lodge Taupō located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Taupo.
Are any cleaning services offered at Haka Lodge Taupō?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Haka Lodge Taupō?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.
All Taupo HotelsTaupo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TaupoHotels near Haka Lodge Taupō
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars