We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Wairakei Resort Taupo

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (257)
Room & Suite (58)
Dining (33)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 3 resorts in Taupo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Wairakei Resort Taupo provides hotel and villa accommodation and is set amongst a stunning geothermal valley in Taupo. The resort has outdoor leisure facilities including two thermal heated swimming pools, two hot pools, a fitness center, nine-hole golf course, tennis courts and access to walking/mountain biking tracks. Dining options are available with something for all budgets. It is also a purpose-built conference venue catering to up to 600 conference delegates. Situated in the Wairakei Tourist Park, the resort is close to Taupo’s many activities and attractions and is only a 5-minute drive from the center of Taupo.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Tennis court
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English
1,350Review2Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 494
  • 500
  • 230
  • 77
  • 49
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Leonie P wrote a review Mar 2024
Hamilton, New Zealand6 contributions
We went for a night with our daughter thinking we would "splash out". From the moment we walked into reception it was all down hill!!! We queued for a good 20 mins before the long check in process, by an obviously frazzled staff member who barely smiled at all. Only one of our two rooms were available even though it was 4 pm. Before we got to our one room the alarm bells were ringing, the carpet was unvacuumed and very shabby, threadbare on the stairs. We unlocked our room and didn't know whether to laugh or cry!!! The bed looked like it had been made by a 5 yr old!! No attention to detail. The shower grout was black with mold. The windows were dirty. The TV was tiny We finally got our second room and the receptionist gave us some complimentary drink cards to compensate the lateness of availability. We went to use the drink cards later that night only to be told they were only to be used on "house drinks" so were unbale to use them. The following morning we had to plead to use them on coffee! The entire resort was dated and understaffed more like a 1 star not the advertised 4 star. Please do not stay here! This review is entirely directed at ownership and management, I fell sorry for the cleaning staff and front of house who are under pressure and probably dealing with disgruntled, complaining customers on the daily.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't waste your money!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wairakei Resort, Other at Wairakei Resort Taupo
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Leonie, Thank you for taking your time to leave a review and a rating based on your stay. We are so sorry to hear that your experience did not meet our standards. We value our guest’s feedback and your suggestions; recommendations and the comments will not go unnotified as we will be sharing them with the concerning departments for further discussion and review. Kindest Regards Wairakei Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ruthwW821ZQ wrote a review Mar 2024
Hahei, New Zealand19 contributions8 helpful votes
we enjoyed our time away at your resort, the staff were friendly and welcoming. sadly the room was dated and there was only one armchair in our room.We requested after the second day that our cups and glasses be washed or replaced with clean ones but sadly the message can not have been relaid to the housekeeping staff.i had to ask for dish wash liquid and a tea towel. The toilet is very hard to flush in room 111 and the blasted toilet roll holder kept falling off. time for someone to repair this. My bed had a very thin cover and i was extremely cold, there are no addition blankets available in the wardrobe. For the amount of money i paid for a three night say i expected a far better standard of decor. i see you have plans to upgrade some of your resort. it is a real shame that you continue to use photographs depicting a very glamorous resort as it was many years ago however it certainly is time for a facelift. The array of foods for breakfast was amazing and the staff super helpful and friendly.I was great full to have made the choice to include breakfast in my room rate. it was lovely to relax and enjoy food that i didn’t need to prepare or clean up after. well done team.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: supply extra blankets
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wairakei Resort, Other at Wairakei Resort Taupo
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Traveller, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us. Your review is of high importance to us as it includes the areas that we can improve ourselves on and we would also like to take this opportunity to apologize to you for the things that you have mentioned and we will endeavour to correct the problems that you have mentioned with the departments concerned. Your suggestions, recommendations and comments will not go unnotified as we will be sharing them with the concerning departments for further discussion and review. Kindest Regards Wairakei Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lyn L wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Whenever we travel north we always use the Wairakei resort. This week we stayed on our way north and had a booking for the return trip. Unfortunately we had to cancel our holiday and return home due to a medical incident. Reception advised us to apply for a refund for the cancelled night via email. Wairakei resort replied they wanted to see a doctor’s certificate AND further documentation to prove we were unable to travel! We advised them that this was private and personal information that even an employer cannot ask for. Their next response was they only need a certificate from a Dr and no further documentation, this would then be forwarded to management for “consideration” if this is how Wairakei resort treat a “valued” customer then we will taking our “valued” dollars elsewhere and telling others. Absolute rubbish customer relations.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wairakei Resort, Other at Wairakei Resort Taupo
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Lyn, Thank you for taking your time to leave a review and a rating based on your stay. We are so sorry to hear that your experience did not meet our standards. We value our guest’s feedback and your suggestions; recommendations and the comments will not go unnotified as we will be sharing them with the concerning departments for further discussion and review. Kindest Regards Wairakei Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Texlish wrote a review Mar 2024
Amarillo, Texas44 contributions39 helpful votes
A really cool experience. Kind of a throw back to the 70s in style. Very friendly reception staff. Room was clean and well appointed. You MUST eat here. We had the lamb two ways which was curry and probably some of the best I have ever eaten, anywhere ! Really nice staff in the bar/restaurant, very spacious so you are not crammed together on tables. Great location if you are touring, would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wairakei Resort, Other at Wairakei Resort Taupo
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Texlish, Thank you for taking your time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to have received your fabulous review and we will be sharing this with our fellow staff members. We really look forward to welcoming you back to the resort the next time you visit Taupo. Kindest Regards Lisa Wilson Wairakei Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Luceti wrote a review Mar 2024
Adelaide, Australia17 contributions15 helpful votes
The room was a bit tired,.. shabby carpets, but had a nice outlook to a balcony overlooking green surroundings . The beds were comfortable and we slept well except for the bass guitar of the band playing at the function that night and the noisy guests returning to their rooms after midnight. The following night a large convoy of bikers arrived. . They made a lot of noise with their bikes parked right below our first floor window . I think they should have been made to park their bikes in the car park where everyone else parked their cars. My husband I got stuck in the tiny antiquated old lift for several minutes and it was terrifying. There was a persistent stale offensive smell on our floor.. I thought it might have been a dead mouse or similar. I had fish and chips in the dining room first night.. it was trevalley apparently, but there was hardly any fish and way too much batter. The coleslaw was very bland .. as was the Kumara soup. We were disappointed to find the golf course closed . That had not been made apparent when I made the booking a few weeks earlier. The staff were extremely friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wairakei Resort, Other at Wairakei Resort Taupo
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Luceti, Thank you for providing feedback on your recent experience at Wairakei Resort. We are so sorry to hear that your experience did not meet our standards. We value our guests’ feedback and work hard to ensure that similar issues do not occur in the future. Kindest Regards Wairakei Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JohnFLUB wrote a review Mar 2024
Otorohanga, New Zealand86 contributions33 helpful votes
Over $200 per night for a room with worn out carpet and that was probably last decorated over 10 years ago. We stayed for 2 nights but can't comment on house-keeping because there wasn't any. Rooms are only serviced every 2 days. We chose not to try the breakfast at $50 each! I've not even been charged that much in genuine 5-star hotels. ***To save the hotel some time I'll write their standard response......... Dear John, Thank you for taking your time to leave a review and a rating based on your stay. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet our standards. We value our guests feedback and will be sharing with the concerning departments for further discussion and review. ***
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Wairakei Resort, Other at Wairakei Resort Taupo
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear John, We appreciate the time it took you to write your review and take all of your feedback seriously. So sorry that you missed the card explaining how we have transitioned our housekeeping to be more environmentally friendly and sustainable with scheduled service every 3rd day but are happy to top up any of your towels, tea, coffee etc, you just had to let us know. You will also be pleased to know that we have a fabulous new tennis, basketball, futsa, netball courts starting their refurbishment in the next few weeks, and we are also scheduled to be getting some new carpets in the property this year too. So many great things happening here at the Wairakei Resort we do hope to see you again. Kindest Regards Wairakei Resort.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Troy R wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
This place is a run down disgrace. There is mold in the bathroom and the fans are covered in dust. Carpet is also so worn down to the ground i think weeds might start growing. The rooms are also not sound proof and we are able to hear complete conversations from the next room. There is also no daily room service, evident they are cheaping out where they can. If you are considering choosing this place for the facilities, think again. There is a sauna which doesnt warm up in the stated time and the pools are run down. Especially when it comes to the gym, you will hurt yourself. When i was on the equipment it broke, i was seriously close to landing my back on some other equipment. The clamps also used to hold weights on bars do not work. Seriously shut it down until its up to code or someone will get hurt bad. And how hard is it to fill the water tank in the gym.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay away please
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Wairakei Resort, Other at Wairakei Resort Taupo
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Tory, Thank you for taking your time to leave a review and a rating based on your stay. We are so sorry to hear that your experience did not meet our standards. We value our guest’s feedback and your suggestions; recommendations and the comments will not go unnotified as we will be sharing them with the concerning departments for further discussion and review. Kindest Regards Wairakei Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mshane53 wrote a review Mar 2024
Auckland Central, New Zealand40 contributions3 helpful votes
upon entering facility, noticed how down and out furnishing and other areas needed a urgent revamp Lift , was not vacuumed in four days and litter was building up. Carpets thread bear in hallways, in assigned room, no sink plug and bed had seen better days. On last day, notices were place in reception on April 2024 revamp. great , as have stayed in this hotel over the years and have recommended to others. Hopefully, attention to cleanliness improves
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: long overdue facility revamp , advised to include external tennis courts etc wouls stay again, as...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wairakei Resort, Other at Wairakei Resort Taupo
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Traveller, Thank you for taking your time to leave a review and a rating based on your stay. We are so sorry to hear that your experience did not meet our standards. We value our guest’s feedback and your suggestions; recommendations and the comments will not go unnotified as we will be sharing them with the concerning departments for further discussion and review. Kindest Regards Wairakei Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ian C wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Staff very good but closed the bar at 21.00 on the Tuesday night with 15 mins notification. Other people came down for drinks but they would not open the bar again. Very poor service, would not use this place again or recommend it. We came from uk and were told it was a great place, food and service all good but to shut a hotel bar at 21.00, suicide.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wairakei Resort, Other at Wairakei Resort Taupo
Responded 6 Mar 2024
Dear Ian, Thank you for taking your time to leave a review and a rating based on your stay. We are so sorry to hear that your experience did not meet our standards. We value our guest’s feedback and your suggestions; recommendations and the comments will not go unnotified as we will be sharing them with the concerning departments for further discussion and review. Kindest Regards Wairakei Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Leah G wrote a review Mar 2024
Auckland, New Zealand110 contributions22 helpful votes
On the positive big sprawling grounds at what looks like was once a beautiful resort. The children enjoyed the hot pool also. Unfortunately it is now dated and not particularly clean. Our room had stained carpets, chipped tiles and not even USB charging ports. For $500 per night I expect a bit better
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The family villas are not good value for money
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wairakei Resort, Other at Wairakei Resort Taupo
Responded 3 Mar 2024
Dear Leah, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us. Your review is of high importance to us as it includes the areas that we can improve ourselves on and we would also like to take this opportunity to apologize to you for the things that you have mentioned, and we will endeavor to correct the problems that you have mentioned with the departments concerned. Your suggestions, recommendations and comments will not go unnotified as we will be sharing them with the concerning departments for further discussion and review. Kindest Regards Wairakei Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Taupo area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$149 - AU$216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bayview wairakei hotel taupo, hotel bayview wairakei
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Bayview Wairakei Resort
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionTaupo DistrictTaupo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
187
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WAIRAKEI RESORT TAUPO (AU$149): 2024 Prices & Reviews (New Zealand) - Photos of Resort - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Wairakei Resort Taupo
Which popular attractions are close to Wairakei Resort Taupo?
Nearby attractions include Aratiatia Rapids (4.2 km), Huka Falls tracks (2.4 km), and Lake Taupo (7.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Wairakei Resort Taupo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Wairakei Resort Taupo?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Wairakei Resort Taupo?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Wairakei Resort Taupo?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Wairakei Resort Taupo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Master of India, Incredible India Restaurant and Bar, and Malabar Nepalese and Indian Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Wairakei Resort Taupo?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Wairakei Resort Taupo?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Wairakei Resort Taupo offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does Wairakei Resort Taupo have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Wairakei Resort Taupo accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.