We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wairakei Resort Taupo

Show Prices
#17 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Wairakei Resort Taupo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

581 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 573: English reviews
Adelaide
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Was the best find out of Taupo as when we booked 4 months ago there were no 4 star accommadation available in Taupo due to bike racing weekend. We were on the 3 rd floor with a balcony with good views of the beautiful gardens & the hills in the back ground. The grounds are the high light of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
Hiro_Ogata, Front Office Manager at Wairakei Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Dear Robert M We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to give us such lovely feedback. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the beautiful and relaxing ambience of the resort and it is great to read that you thought our staff members were friendly. Looking forward to welcoming you back at...

Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Second time recently staying here, and again a pleasant experience. A stuff up with our booking was corrected quickly and efficiently, and our room (whilst dated and a little shabby in places) was certainly good value for money - spacious, clean and quiet. The free open air spa was a nice touch too after a (very) long bike ride. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KentandMichelle
Hiro_Ogata, Front Office Manager at Wairakei Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Dear KentandMichelle We thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to give us your feedback. We are pleased to read that your second time stay went well and you are happy about your stay with us. I have passed over your feedback on or buffet meals to our Executive Chef and the Restaurant manager for...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On the face of it when you arrive at Wairakei it appears to be a lovely place to stay. Unfortunately it's in desperate need of updating and bringing into the 21st century! I had the misfortune to stay in a room in the main wing which is right next to the resort entrance. 11pm at night tour buses were arriving...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LisaKS_12
Hiro_Ogata, Front Office Manager at Wairakei Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Dear LisaKS_12 Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Please accept our apology for not meeting your expectation during your stay. We are continuing a long term upgrade of our accommodation rooms and bathrooms and hope you will see an improvement if you visit us again in the future. Please email myself fom@wairakei.co.nz if we can...

Whanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here last weekend. It was fabulous. We were in a king spa suite. The bed was super comfy and the room nicely decorated. We enjoyed a walk around the park like grounds. Amenities were fabulous and the pavilion restaurant was really good. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichelleHS1971
Hiro_Ogata, Front Office Manager at Wairakei Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Dear MichelleHS1971 Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Wairakei Resort. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed everything we have to offer. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Hiro Ogata Front Office Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My stay was for a work conference - 2 nights Rooms were nice, very clean. I had an issue with the heater - realizing it did not work at midnight and someone came to assist straightaway with a smile and fixed everything. Staff were lovely and helpful. Breakfast was very good, lots of choice. The Gym was perfect. Very quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine V
Hiro_Ogata, Front Office Manager at Wairakei Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Dear Geraldine V Thank you so much for your lovely positive review. We are thrilled you enjoyed our renowned friendly staff and our large selections of breakfast buffet. One behalf of the hotel team, once again we wish to thank you and looking forward to welcoming you back again. Sincerely, Hiro Ogata Front Office Manager

Whakatane, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the staff were great,the food very good but the outside of this hotel needs a a lot of refurbishment, dirty paint work and grubby .The main bar furniture is frayed chairs and sofa, the ceilings need a coat of paint the whole place is very very tired I stayed in the Kings rooms far from that Queen size bed small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reezageeza
Hiro_Ogata, Front Office Manager at Wairakei Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Dear reezageeza We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. Your kind words about our staff members and restaurant meals have been passed on to our team. We are in constant progress of refreshing our rooms and this is an ongoing process. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience you had to experience in the...

Binghamton, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful mineral hot spring pools with varied temp for all tastes.lovely setting Staff friendly seniors discount clean fairly priced Not for children no food availability they sell water, bring or rent a towel quiet place to relax

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ely1203
Hiro_Ogata, Front Office Manager at Wairakei Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Dear Ely1206 We thank you so much for your great comments on your stay with us. We are delighted to know that your enjoyed our famous pools and our friendly staff members assisted you well. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Wairakei Resort Taupo. Kind regards, Hiro Ogata Front Office Manager

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Arrival and check in was done quickly by the friendly and professional staff, also we got upgraded rooms. The rooms are actually really nice, lots of space, huge bed, balcony, decent bathroom. Surely nothing to complain there one of the best rooms we had in New Zealand in this price class so far. The only issue that made me deduct...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GuenterD1980
Hiro_Ogata, Front Office Manager at Wairakei Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Dear GuenterD1980 Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Your kind words have been passed on to our team. We are delighted to know that our friendly staff members assisted you with a room upgrade and an efficient check in. It is great to know you certainly enjoyed our spacious and clean room as well. I...

Reviewed 16 October 2016

We had booked a heritage room and when we arrived we were told that we had been upgraded, however the room we were given looked very much like the heritage room we had booked. Although the room was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed it was quite old, including the appliances (the fridge looked very old). The bathroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samantha J
Hiro_Ogata, Front Office Manager at Wairakei Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Dear Samantha We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. I was delighted to learn that our team assisted you well with the local knowledge during your stay with us. We are continuing a long term upgrade of our accommodation rooms and facilities and hope you will see a marked improvement if you visit us again...

Auckland
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Very cool place and in some ways pretty unique... Lots to do and keep busy with in the property itself and they have a golf course right next door.. There are a few onsite restaurants and it is a massive property.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aklguy
Hiro_Ogata, Front Office Manager at Wairakei Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Dear Aklguy Thank you so much for your nice positive review. We are happy that you think our property is a cool place to visit and stay. We trust you enjoyed our outdoor 25 meter swimming pool and complimentary private spas as well as the golf course which is a minute away from our resort. We are looking forward to...

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
8.7 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
1,771 reviews
8.1 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
9.0 km away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#2 of 71 in Taupo
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
8.2 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 71 in Taupo
136 reviews
7.4 km away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 71 in Taupo
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wairakei Resort Taupo is located only 5 minutes north of Taupo town centre, offering superb hotel and villa accommodation in Taupo with excellent indoor & outdoor leisure facilities and dining options, as well as a being a purpose built Taupo conference venue. All situated in a stunning historic setting, close to Taupo’s many activities and attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wairakei Resort Taupo

Address: 640 Wairakei Drive, Taupo 3384, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Wairakei Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $135 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wairakei Resort Taupo 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Wairakei Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Wairakei Hotel Taupo
Hotel Bayview Wairakei
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Taupo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#14 Family Hotel in Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wairakei Resort Taupo staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
23 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Wairakei Resort Taupo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms second or third floor”
 of 5 bubbles 63RobertM63, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Deluxe business room with spa bath. Room 814 or 815 interconnecting.”
 of 5 bubbles 834karinaf, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Close the windows on arrival or fill the room with insect repellant”
 of 5 bubbles bowdogb, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room overlooking the pool (Taupo end) was very pleasant and caught the afternoon sun nicely.”
 of 5 bubbles Barrett2Whangaparaoa, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the low 100s are near reception but no problems with noise, so they are convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles EJ_LA, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay