We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

608 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 584: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spent 7 nights camping at DeBretts Spa Resort over Xmas 2016/17 Positives * Big campsites - sites 39 & 40 particularly good for tents as are big sites. * Great kitchen and bathroom facilities - smaller campground so you're never far away from the kitchen etc * Free wifi * Discounted tickets to the spa ($60 for a family...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChChCouple
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi ChChCouple, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time here and we hope to have you back again soon :) Kind regards, Peter

UK
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for new year - repeat visit as stayed a few years ago to. Site seems to have expanded and still lovely. Clean and plentiful facilities including showers and kitchen. Although a fairly big site you wouldn't necessarily know it as it's well laid out and pitches feel fairly private. Not too far to stroll into town either and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lazytraveller2
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi lazytraveller2, Thank you for your wonderful comments. I will be sure to share this with our team. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay so much and we look forward to having you back again soon. Kind regards, Peter

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed with our 6 year old daughter and it was such an awesome experience. Being able to go down form our room to the mineral pools was such a treat and the water was so pure and relaxing. We had a blast and will be back for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aimeeyoung81
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi Aimeeyoung81, Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you will be coming back and we look forward to your next visit :) Kind regards, Peter

Gosford, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Room walked it wow, king bed, jumping pillow, scenery, but no Air-conditioning? Couldn't open the windows they had no screens and we kept getting bitten by Midge's. Motel room #2? The Debretts spa resort has mineral pools we paid $20 for adult and kid 10. Next day extra $7 so kid could go on the big hydro slides. Was so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catt1970
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi catt1970, Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed our setup so much and we look forward to having you back again soon. Kind regards, Peter

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Excellent facilities, spotlessly clean, well equipped kitchen and best showers of any campsite we've been to. Bonus to have access to hotpools. Only downside was the lack of grass on some tent sites which made for a bit of a dust storm when it was windy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jayneb155
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi jayneb155, Thank you for your kind words. We are really happy you enjoyed our brand new shower facilities. We are looking into a solution to keep the grass green despite the heavy traffic it sees. We wish you all the best and look forward to your return. Kind regards, Peter

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Spaces for vans and tents big, often with concrete on half, good shelter and privacy belt of trees and shrubs round plots. Free wifi, not slow. Half price entry to hot pools which are excellent, with private pools, water slides Facilities excellent, clean unisex amenities, hair dryers, towels on the basins, piped radio, large shower booths which could have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FleaNZ
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi FleaNZ, Thank you for your lovely review :) We are glad you enjoyed your time here and our facilities. We pride ourselves on having clean and up to date amenities and we see you enjoyed the results of our recent renovation project. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Peter

Reviewed 1 week ago

One mishap after another - only redeeming quality was the hot pools. Room muck up, disgusting dirty dishes in cupboards (including long black hairs stuck to plates), no Wifi, staff having a slanging match on the lawn outside our unit, shower door hung upside down causing so much noise if anyone touched it, tv reception from the 70's (blurry/fuzzy etc),...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzi L
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi Suzi, We are sorry we have not replied to you on Facebook. Our Customer Relations Manager has been on personal leave until recently. The maintenance and housekeeping issues you have raised have been sent to the relevant departments to be dealt with. The issue with charging you for the room was caused by the booking service you used which...

ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My friend and I arrived at the spa looking forward to a relaxing day. We were booked in for a package to receive massage, facial & pedicure. After a busy holiday it was very welcome. I was designated a room at the front of the spa, this was right beside the swimming pool where kids ran up and down the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IrelandBuddy
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi IrelandBuddy, We are sorry that you did not enjoy your time at our Spa. We are a family friendly public facility and during the holiday period, we receive a lot of guests with children. Children have a great deal of fun at Taupo DeBretts but can create a bit of noise and we are sorry this disrupted your treatment....

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is awesome. Suits everyone from tents, campervans, cabins to villas. We chose to stay in one of the villas (no.1). We were most impressed with their professional approach to our booking. We received an email confirmation, and an email reminder closer to the time, as well as a txt reminder, and also a thank you txt afterwards with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tribe_Mooresy
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi Tribe_Mooresy, We are delighted that you guys enjoyed your stay in one of our Lake View Villas. We are very proud of these rooms and it's wonderful that you have seen why. Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review and we look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Peter

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited for a couples massage. Nice relaxed atmosphere. The massage was lovely and staff were friendly. We didn't use the hot pools but if you are booked into the spa you get free use of the hot pools including the private pools.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bex K
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi Bex, Thank you for your lovely review. I will be sure to pass your comments along to the team. We hope to have you back again soon :) Kind regards, Peter

182 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (146)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.0 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
1,828 reviews
1.0 km away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#2 of 71 in Taupo
458 reviews
1.5 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.4 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#3 of 71 in Taupo
164 reviews
3.0 km away
Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Choose to stay ahead of the game with our awesome Luxury Accommodation - self contained villas, lodges and spa chalets, providing an indulgent escape and complete with panoramic lake and mountain views. Or stay true with our ever-popular Qualmark rated 5 Star Holiday Park accommodation - from camping to van sites, cabins and motels, all spacious and excellent value.We have pools,water playground,slides,big bouncing air pad,Day Spa,Cafe-the ultimate all-year-round relaxation and recreation destination! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Address: 76 Napier Road | PO Box 513, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $79 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taupo Debretts Hotel Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sites 39 and 40 good for tents.”
 of 5 bubbles ChChCouple, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you get a room with Air-conditioning.”
 of 5 bubbles catt1970, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles , 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“two bedroom chalet enough for 4 adults and 1 kid”
  • two bedroom chalet
 of 5 bubbles , 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with the lake views are just stunning!”
 of 5 bubbles kiwigaltraveller, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay