We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

623 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 599: English reviews
Start your review of Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
 Click to rate
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at The De Bretts Holiday Camp site, we did our honeymoon in a camper-van. We chose this because we wanted inexpensive accommodation so we could spend our money towards experiences. The De Bretts site is amazing, during Feb when all the holiday makers have gone, and you are cruising with only senior holiday makers, no time pressure and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank troodles2010
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi troodles2010, It's wonderful that you think so much of Taupo. We are very proud to be part of such an attractive area with so much to offer. We hope you come back through again soon :) Kind regards, Peter

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stay one night in our caravan on our way to Napier. Check in was very professional, we were directed to our site and given very clear instructions re pools etc. Very clean and new facilities. Piped music a wee bit too loud in the bathrooms. Only negative but we sure will be back. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jontymp
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi jontymp, Thank you for your kind review. I will be sure to pass your comments along to our team. Thank you for letting us know about the music. We look forward to your return. Kind regards, Peter

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

These hot mineral pools are devine. The setting is very pretty at night and the heated floors in n the changing rooms are fabulous. Continuous water in the showers, no pushing buttons is great. Only issue the price at $22 per adult we all thought was a bit much.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 452paw
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi 452paw, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your time at the the pools and we hope you come back for your next soak soon. Kind regards, Peter

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ammenities were perfect. Shared uni sex toilets and bathrooms which is great for families. Loved the easy access to the hot spas and being an adult still enjoyed the slides :) Very friendly helpful staff at reception. Great place for a family stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ez R
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi Ez R, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very happy you enjoyed our freshly renovated facilities and hope that you come for your next stay soon. Kind regards, Peter

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and 2 kids (4 and 1) went camping for the first time together, we stayed 4 nights over Waitangi weekend. We were a bit nervous about it all just because we were unsure how the kids would go and the fact we had never put up a tent before... Putting up the tent was all good and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve_romijn
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi steve_romijn, Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your time here so much. We hope to have you back again for your next family get away. Kind regards, Peter

Somerset
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were a family of three travelling around New Zealand. This was our first stop after Auckland and we were greeted with an incredibly warm welcome. The check in was very quick and efficient and then we were taken to our room. We were a little surprised when we got in there as it had no sink or toilet, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allblack66
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi Allblack66, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted that we were able to make such a good impression on you. We have many different room types, both with and without en suites. We hope you come to stay again soon. Kind regards, Peter

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Being huge fans of Hanmer Springs we were all a little disappointed by the hot pools here. They seemed a bit tired. The interior of the pools themselves need more seating around thd edges plus more shade would also be good. Also found that a lot of the seating was very low so we had to strain to hold our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SandyC96
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi SandyC96, Thank you for your lovely comments about our motel unit. We are glad you had such a comfortable sleep. We are sorry that you didn't have a good time at our pools. We usually have very happy swimmers who are delighted with the variety offered by our facility. Our hydro slides are very popular and we are surprised...

Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very well maintained family orientated facility. Private sites shadey level sites with water and power. Excellent unisex showers with adequate hot water for showers. Very clean bathroom and toilet facilities. Hair dryers provided. Great children's play areas with innovative activities and bouncy castle. All well fenced. Several easily accessible dump stations,with good easy parking. Bonus to use the hot pools...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pulley2016
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi pulley2016, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you had a great time here and we hope to have you back again soon :) Kind regards, Peter

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a superior studio and it was immaculate! Comfortable enough for 2 adults and 2 kids (7 and 3). The bounce pad and playground were popular with the kids. The hot pools were lovely, especially at night. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. The food in the café was ok. We will definitely stay here again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samantha F
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi Samantha, Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely comments. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay so much and we look forward to having you back again next time :) Kind regards, Peter

Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed on a site with our van. Our site was a good size and private, It was also close enough to the kitchen showers toilets and TV room, which were so clean and tidy.Would stay again and recommend to any one who is looking for a beautiful camp ground The pools are so nice and relaxing. Love it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teenagroshinski
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi teenagroshinski, Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you have enjoyed your time here and we hope to have you back again soon :) Kind regards, Peter

186 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (150)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.0 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
1,880 reviews
1.0 km away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#2 of 71 in Taupo
468 reviews
1.5 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
3.0 km away
Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort
2.5 km away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#10 of 34 in Taupo
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Choose to stay ahead of the game with our awesome Luxury Accommodation - self contained villas, lodges and spa chalets, providing an indulgent escape and complete with panoramic lake and mountain views. Or stay true with our ever-popular Qualmark rated 5 Star Holiday Park accommodation - from camping to van sites, cabins and motels, all spacious and excellent value.We have pools,water playground,slides,big bouncing air pad,Day Spa,Cafe-the ultimate all-year-round relaxation and recreation destination! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Address: 76 Napier Road | PO Box 513, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $81 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taupo Debretts Hotel Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in a Campervan - but the powered sites are lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles troodles2010, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If campsite is not busy, try to stay away from main road”
 of 5 bubbles steve_romijn, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were unable to book the accommodation”
 of 5 bubbles SpiderS_12, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sites 39 and 40 good for tents.”
 of 5 bubbles ChChCouple, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you get a room with Air-conditioning.”
 of 5 bubbles catt1970, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5