We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clearwater Motor Lodge

Show Prices
#10 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clearwater Motor Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 165: English reviews
Start your review of Clearwater Motor Lodge
 Click to rate
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We arrived fairly late in the afternoon but enjoyed being able to be so close to the lake. The sound of the water was wonderful. However, after coming back for dinner, it felt like the underfloor heating was on. Upon reading the manual, we realised that the motor lodge is situated on a thermal area and that this was what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
linashao, Manager at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

HI Mary: thanks for your time to write the review. we glad that you enjoyed the view. you are right, lake front upper level unit no air conditioning as it was not affect by the thermal heating, however it is nice to stay on the grand level during the winter time because of the natural heating. i am sorry to...

Hod Hasharon
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited lake Taupo area as a part of a long trip to New Zealand. We picked up this place because it has a lot of positive reviews and we didn't disappointed. The place is very nice and is located close to the city center but far enough to be quite. It is also located at a nice place on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harari2012
linashao, Manager at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Harari2012: Thanks for your time to write the review. we appreciated that you had a enjoyable time with us except the weather wasn't work out for you. all Best wishes. Regards Lina

Bradenton, FL
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Clearwater 3 nights and enjoyed it! Easy walk into town on the walkway. Quiet in the evenings. Due to the thermals under the property, the floor was always warm and easy on the feet. The hosts were helpful and informative. The view over Lake Taupo at sunset was incredible. Nice place!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djcopeland
michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived to Lake Taupo and the first place we booked was not up to our standards so we drove around looking for something suitable and found Clearwater. We loved it and would definitely go back. We had a ground floor room with a huge jacuzzi spa and a nice patio right on the lake. The views and sunset were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wiggletail
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We've stayed with these people for years and always impressed with the facility. Clean quiet good parking And black swans outside. Right on the lake. That's all I want to say but for some reason this site requires more.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alana B
linashao, Manager at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Alana B: thanks for your time to write the review. thanks for supporting our business as always. we are pleased that you enjoyed your staying at our lodge. we are looking forward to see you again while you are next time in Tuapo. Regards Lina

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful reception welcome. Highlight was the gentleman's enthusiasm, patience and initiative. He helped us with restaurants, tourist locations and directions. We appreciated the good portion of milk given. The room was spacious and the air conditioning was easy to use and sufficient for the 2 rooms. Lots of towels and good sized telly. There were a lot of flies so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanaja M
linashao, Owner at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Vanaja M: Thanks for your time to write a review for us. It was our pleasure to service you. there should have 2 shampoo containers in family room, and we are in the process of upgrading to 50+channel sky TV. Thanks for staying with us and looking forward to see you again. Regards LIna

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room is medium sized and comfortable, the bathroom very modern, a spa in the bedroom, and a small kitchenette. The Fridge freezer was too small to be useful. However, the views on lake Taupo are stunning and worth staying there, absolutely!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mennito
linashao, Manager at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Mennito: Thanks for your time to write the review. we are appreciated your comments. Regards Lina

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I loved my stay at Clearwater motel, helpful staff. I was travelling with my 16yr old son, handy to town, lake and scenic places like Huka falls. It was lovely to have side view of Lake, super clean and lovely to have spa in room as well as outdoor spa. Certainly a place to chill. Also quiet and nice to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terasa2016
linashao, Manager at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Terasa 2016: we are appreciated your time to write a review for us. It was lovely to meet you and your family. enjoy your rest of trip in NZ and having a safe trip back to home. we are looking forward to see you next time while you are in Taupo. Regards Lina

Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I cannot say enough nice things about Clearwater Motor Lodge in Great Lake Taupo!! From the management to the cleaning staff....everyone was friendly and helpful -- we had a lovely lakefront studio and I got a real kick out of watching the black swans swim by!! Our unit had everything we needed, and nothing we didn't and it was immaculately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank waikerie
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Lovely, helpful owners Nice location - walk out the gate and you are on lake's edge Easy access to walking paths around lake - 25 min walk to town (5 min drive) Large comfortable room with spa bath Partial view to lake from room Sliding door from main room to patio Great water pressure, nice bathroom Would stay there again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zeddy-boo

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.1 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.1 km away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#4 of 71 in Taupo
481 reviews
1.0 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#3 of 71 in Taupo
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.2 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
1,909 reviews
1.0 km away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#8 of 71 in Taupo
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
LAKE EDGE TRANQUILITY Clearwater Motor Lodge offers quality accommodation situated right at the waters edge of lake Taupo. All 10 self-contained units provide king beds, in-room spa, kitchen facilities, TV/DVD, balcony or courtyard. 6 Of our Studios with unlimited lake & mountain views.Family units with same facilities, 2 single beds in separate bedroom. On-site Thermal plunge pool & BBQ. Quiet location Free on-site parking. Perfect for romantic couples ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clearwater Motor Lodge

Address: 229 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $170 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearwater Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Clearwater Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clearwater Hotel Taupo
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#15 Family Hotel in Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Clearwater Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors are not affected by the thermal activity below - at least that's what we were told.”
 of 5 bubbles 833MaryP, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms with the lake views are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles Harari2012, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Hosts offered beach towels if requested.”
 of 5 bubbles djcopeland, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A room on the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles wiggletail, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“chose one on the lake front, they are worth the stay”
 of 5 bubbles Mennito, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5