We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Great Lake Holiday Park

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Great Lake Holiday Park
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 149: English reviews
Start your review of Great Lake Holiday Park
 Click to rate
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We’ve stayed in standard and deluxe cabins here every year for the past 10 years, bringing running teams for an annual sports event. Always friendly and clean, plenty of hot water, lovely outdoor undercover BBQ area for large groups (and small). Grounds always neat and tidy. Quiet, and just 5 minutes’ drive to centre of Taupo. We notice that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RunningTheLake
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review

As always, it was a pleasure to have the team staying with us while they competed. Thank you for writing such a wonderful review, we really appreciate it! We have many upgrading projects underway so you may see some more changes when you return next year.

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Clean and practical unit. Ample parking. Friendly and helpful staff. Great location. No complaints! Plan to stay again. Everything i need to say is above - sometimes one does not need losts of words to say all good - great. Cheers from happy client.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pip4183
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of our park and our staff. We look forward to a "happy client" returning for another enjoyable stay.

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Actually we booked for 3 Nights, but once we arrived my wife thought to stay one night longer. So I went to the Reception to pay for. It is a clean Park, the Owner is friendly like all of the staff I got in contact. We did like to have our BBQ. The Grills are very tidy. We felt very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wali-Zurich
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to stay an extra night. Also that you returned to stay again a few days later. We look forward to seeing you both again next time you visit New Zealand.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were very happy with our 2 night stay - the cabin was great - well appointed and clean. We where in Taupo for Wanderlust so it was close to the resort and close to town as well. Has made us reconsider the need to book motels / hotels at twice the price.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank melaniesT7087QT
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and felt that we offer good value on our accommodation. We hope you enjoyed the festival and look forward to you staying with us again.

Levin, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely stay here. Amenities were spotless.Water was hot for the showers but there was a 5 min limit for each shower Proprietors were friendly and helpful. Free WIFI which is a bonus. Grounds well kept and a largish spot to park up. Very popular spot and just 10 min to Taupo Central

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DibblesA
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments on our facilities and our friendliness. Our sites are a good size for campervans, caravans and family tents. Thank you for staying with us.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly service, clean facilities, nice and quiet in the unit we stayed. We had a one bedroom cabin and hired linen for the beds that did not have it and found this great. Beats carrying it around in a already full car and was cheap to hire. Would definitely go back and recommend to everyone. Price wise it was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michell K
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review of your stay with us. We appreciate your comment that you will recommend us to everyone. Look forward to seeing you again.

Wellington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A warm friendly welcome when we checked into the Great Lake Holiday Park. Our powered caravan site was large, shaded with onsite fresh water. We were handy to the facilities. The well appointed campers kitchen was very clean and tidy. The showers and toilet facilites were modern, clean and tidy. The showers had good water pressure with ample hot water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nzkeg
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review

What a lovely review. We are constantly maintaining and upgrading our park environment and facilities and wonderful feedback like yours is very much appreciated. We look forward to you staying with us again on your next caravan adventure.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

1 bed cabin with 2 single beds and sofa bed, the cabin was love and clean. Main double bedding included in cost extra 5 dollars for bedding for other beds per night if required. More than enough bowls and cups when you have a few in room, plenty of hot water. Lovely place. We were with some people that were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moors B
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our park; we are pleased you were comfortable in your accommodation and enjoyed your stay

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Taupo (Acacia Park) had good ablution and kitchen facilities apart from basic equipment like the kitchen boiling water heater being broken and cloudy drinking water from the underground tank. Overall the place looks run down with campsite surfaces unmaintained for years, playground equipment near to failure (swings) and trampolines without the usual standard of safety protection or rules for usage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J D
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for mentioning our good ablution and kitchen facilities. Your other comments are rather surprising as highlighted by other recent reviews from many guests who enjoyed their stay with us immensely and are recommending us to others.

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2017

We booked this last minute. Nice little campsite, facilities were fine. Could see a little bit of the lake from our campervan! As it's slightly out of town though there wasn't a lot in walking distance which is fine if like us you're happy to drive the short distance into town for dinner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicholasbashford
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Guests enjoy our relaxing location which is only five minutes drive into the town centre.

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
2.9 km away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
3.8 km away
All Seasons Holiday Park Taupo
4.9 km away
Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
2.7 km away
Haka Lodge
Haka Lodge
#3 of 34 in Taupo
259 reviews
2.5 km away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#10 of 34 in Taupo
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park is situated only 3 km's (5 minutes) from town centre and is set in 5 acres of sheltered parklike grounds, surrounded by 3000 acres of farmland. Lake access and northern boat ramps are 1,5 km down the road. We offer a variety of quality affordable accommodation, 1 & 2 bedroom self contained units, deluxe and standard cabins, powered campervan and non powered tent sites. Park facilities include communal camp kitchen, toilets and showers, guest laundry, children's playground, trampolines, games room, Sky TV lounge, cardphone, internet kiosks, WiFi, private spa, free gas barbeques and tour and activity bookings.Come and enjoy the peace and tranquility of our Holiday Park along with lake views and warm, friendly hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Great Lake Holiday Park

Address: 406 Acacia Bay Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $21 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Great Lake Holiday Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a site sheltered from the wind if you are tenting”
 of 5 bubbles 922JD922, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Quieter pitches , away from the road, at the back of the site”
 of 5 bubbles Milliemax64, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“try to get further back in the site to avoid road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles UK_Rob_000, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The flats that face the playground area were lovely.”
  • Our cute towels.
 of 5 bubbles cazbar62, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No tips nreeded - Good pitches for camper vans and tents”
 of 5 bubbles martinf706, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5