We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Devon Hotel & Conference Center

Hotwire.comUSD 108*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 111*
USD 108*
USD 111*
USD 108*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 252: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 9 April 2016

I stayed here two nights for a conference. The hotel is located on Devon street, which will take you into the heart of downtown though it is a bit of a walk (15-20 minutes). As far as I could tell, there really isn’t much in the immediate location of the hotel The layout was quite unusual, almost mazelike, with rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IYCNYC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for joining us for your 2016 conference, and for your feedback. We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Peter Tennent

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 April 2016

This motel has a restaurant which is a huge bonus as there are not a huge amount to choose from in New Plymouth. The restaurant is very good. On this visit i stayed in one of the rooms that really do need a makeover, but in saying that the bed was comfortable, free wifi was good, good shower pressure with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danjonelson
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, and for joining us. We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Peter Tennent

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 April 2016

A hotel that is synonymous with Taranaki - and what a beauty it is. Modern and fresh décor. Smiling and attentive staff. This place has it all. We will be back. We stayed for two nights - first night (we arrived pretty late) we ordered a light snack in the garden outside the lounge bar. The next night we tried...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LizD-NZ
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, and for joining us. We hope that next visit is in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Peter and Rosemary Tennent

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

Reception was very helpful on arrival. The street map needs updating - until mentioned I couldn't actually see the streets it was so faded! Bed rocked like a boat on the seas each time one of us moved. Their was a stain on the duvet picture attached. Bar manager had no charisma nor personality. If he had smiled he would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sustainer15
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Hi Stephen, Thanks for joining us and for your extra feedback. Per our GM's email to you, I look forward to seeing you back. Kind regards, Peter Tennent

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Booked a king studio for two nights. Popped our gear in the room and left soon after to explore New Plymouth. On our return, looked closer at room and discovered we had a queen sized bed. Said something to receptionist but she insisted it was a king and 'it sits higher off the floor so gives the illusion of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicky M
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Hi Nicky, Thanks for your feedback, and for joining us over the holiday weekend. Again, I'm sorry you were not allocated a super king on your first night with us. Kind regards, Peter Tennent

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 March 2016

I stayed at the Devon for business reasons but the room was lovely and comfortable and the little extras in the bathroom apart from the standard shampoo, soap etc were interesting. The staff are very friendly and helpful and if you need any assistance they will help you in any way. On arrival our bags were taken to our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Libragirl17
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks for joining us, and for your feedback. We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Peter Tennent

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend and loved it. Friendly helpful staff. Spa. Pool. Everything I wanted. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. Glad I got the chance to check it out. Looking forward to my next visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Son M
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and for joining us. We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Peter & Rosemary Tennent

Reviewed 9 March 2016

Was given a upstairs room across from the pools. Room had no air conditioning. Guests were smoking and the smoke was blowing into my room. The guests downstairs decided to talk outside late into the nite. I could not close my windows as there was no other ventilation. Then decided to close enough windows but could still hear the other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William L
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Hi William, Many thanks for taking the trouble to give feedback. I'm sorry you didn't get a good sleep, and can understand why you didn't want us to move you along the corridor to a new room. Again, my apologies. The last of our rooms are on schedule to be fully air-conditioned before next summer. Kind regards, Peter Tennent

Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 March 2016

Not realising we had chosen the busiest weekend in New Plymouth, 'Americana'. We have no complains. The receptionist on arrival was very efficient, able to answer any questions we had. Our room was a good size with a very comfortable king size bed. The bathroom also roomy. We did like the quiet extractor fan and being on a separate switch,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrismish
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, and for joining us. We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Peter Tennent

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2016

The hotel is an average hotel. Hot when we were there and no a/c made the room pretty unbearable. Staff friendly throughout. Buffet very expensive for breakfast but value for dinner. $10 reduction for seniors was appreciated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RedpathM
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Many thanks for joining us. I'm glad you found all the staff friendly - we love looking after visitors to Taranaki! The last of ours should have full air conditioning soon, as the builders complete the last of our rooms. We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Peter Tennent

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.7 km away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
290 reviews
0.4 km away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
185 reviews
1.6 km away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
134 reviews
0.4 km away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
1.5 km away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have a wide variety of accommodation from luxurious suites with spa baths to studio units with various bed configurations sleeping up to four people. All rooms with access to the extensive Hotel amenities, including complimentary internet access, playstations, mountain bikes, gym access and a fantastic spa and pool complex. We are the home of Marbles Buffet Restaurant New Plymouth open 7 nights a week. You can relax by the fire in The Rocks Lounge with a coffee or a drink and nibbles. OUR NEW CONFERENCE CENTRE IS NOW OPEN Let our team help you organise your wedding or your next conference, function, seminar, reunion, team visit or group tour. We have the expertise, contact us now for a quote. The Devon Hotel New Plymouth is the perfect destination, we'd love to look after you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Devon Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 390 Devon Street East, New Plymouth 4620, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Price Range: $127 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Devon Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Devon Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devon Hotel New Plymouth
The Devon Hotel And Conference Center
Devon Hotel New Plymouth
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Devon Hotel & Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our bathroom was tiny...so if you need larger might pay to ask when booking.”
erinbburke, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms with small high windows overlooking roof tops!”
helenrossallie, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Every delegate loved theirs rooms.”
U3041EGcharlesc, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms looked great”
, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The reception staff are the best - let them know what you want”
, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
USD 108* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
TripAdvisorUSD 108
PricelineUSD 111
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates