We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ibis Rotorua

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ibis Rotorua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,084 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ibis Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Showing 963: English reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Handy location to lakefront, Eat Street, weekend market etc. If you do not mind walking or are not traveling with young children, most city centre based attractions are within walking distance. Good value for money with room neat and tidy, bed and pillows comfy, free wifi. Parking available on hotel premises or off street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jannz25
Edward J, General Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear jannz25, Thank you for your kind review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to our hotel, especially our great location. We hope to see you back again soon!

Aurangabad, India
Reviewed 6 February 2017

in line with the good ibis tradition , the hotel is excellent and food is also very good. the best part is the staff, they ensure that you are at home especially great when u are travelling with families

 Report
Helpful?
Thank atuldeolankar
Edward J, General Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear atuldeolankar, Thank you for your feedback and positive rating. I was really pleased to see that you received such excellent service from our staff, I will make sure to let them know! We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 February 2017

I stayed for 1 night at this Hotel with my 2 grandsons , The Lady at the reception desk was so hopefull, the room was very good very clean beds were nice, and we had a swim at the Novel next door which was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaigeiePie
Edward J, General Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear PaigeiePie, Thank you for your amazing 5 star review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel. We hope to see you back again soon.

Wollongong
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

This is my first time in an Ibis and it was a good experience. Value for money, reasonable breakfast price, great lake views, easy parking. Everything you need, nothing you don't. Wi-fi was rubbish and movie channel didn't work. No biggie for me but it would be a hassle for some. Prepay for breakfast seems to be weird science, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Squizzynet
Edward J, General Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Squizzynet, Thank you for your feedback and positive rating. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We look forward to hosting you...

Israel
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Ibis used to be my favorite hotel network in the past, but unfortunately it seems that the whole lot has lost its way and is deteriorating. Let's start with the few good things about Ibis Rotorua : The Receptionist was very friendly and polite There was a free parking space under the building The room had a big window with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UAvron
Edward J, General Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear UAvron, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn...

Matamata, Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Easy check in and obliging to have our room ready early as we had a wedding to attend. Room was small but a good view over towards the lake. Everything you need and fine if you are not living in the room! Good to have a decent sized mirror. Bedside lamp wasn't working on one side - forgot to tell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenda C
Edward J, General Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Glenda C, Thank you for your kind review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. We will most definitely look into all your concerns mentioned. We hope to see you back again soon!

Southampton UK
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Typical Ibis hotel we were unlucky a coach party arrived as we did so checking in took a long time. Rooms good. We ate out as there are loads of local restaurants for evening meals and breakfast. Lovely walks round the lake and good access to local tourist attractions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bully1959Canaries
Edward J, General Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Bully1959Canaries, Thank you for your feedback and positive rating, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. I do apologies for the slow check-in. I have shared your comments with the team and we will put a higher focus on this area. We look forward to hosting you again!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here in January and had a fantastic time. The staff were amazing and went out of their way to help us. The hotel is associated with the Novotel next door too, thus the hotels share facilities which means that guests have access to geothermal spas and an incredibly good value all you can eat seafood...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cecilsantiago
Edward J, General Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear cecilsantiago, Thank you for your fantastic 5 star review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel. I was really pleased to see that you received such excellent service from our staff, I will make sure to let them know! We hope to see you again soon.

Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Hotel clean and comfortable, plenty of free parking, but the wifi is so poor as to be virtually unusable, despite complaining, the IT dept were unable to make the system better, local free wifi in Eat Street was lightning fast

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank TonyMar45
Edward J, General Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear TonyMar45, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities to your liking. I do apologies for the poor wifi, we will most certainly review this. We look forward to hosting you again!

London
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
Edward J, General Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
1:26
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
3.3 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
774 reviews
1.1 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
660 reviews
2.4 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.0 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Ibis Rotorua is located on the picturesque shores of lake Rotorua, just five minutes walk from the central business district, convention centre, cafes and restaurants and some of Rotorua's most popular tourist attractions. The fully air-conditioned hotel offers 145 rooms providing exceptional comfort and value. Room configurations can be one king or two doubles. A number of triple rooms with three single beds are also available. Bedrooms feature in-room safes, internet with broadband connectivity, showers, flat screen TV's and refrigerators. 24hr reception, an internet kiosk and guest laundry facilities. The I-Restaurant and Bar welcomes guests for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Conference rooms and other facilities at the neighboring Novotel Rotorua Lakeside are also available to guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Rotorua

Address: Lake End Rangiuru Street | PO Box 348, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $106 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Rotorua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Ibis Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Rotorua staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Bengaluru, India
London, United Kingdom
8 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check trip advisor”
 of 5 bubbles Omaio, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms were very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles KateFife_Scotland, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had air conditioning and 2 queen sized beds in our room which were comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles cmurray1959, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Lakeview was worth extra cost”
 of 5 bubbles CrystalRose54, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“479 was good”
 of 5 bubbles PaigeiePie, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5