We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Four Canoes Hotel

1.1 km from Rotorua centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
273 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Four Canoes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 109: English reviews
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Advertised as Hotel with hotel prices... but very much a hostel and doesn't do a very good job at that... - paper thin walls - bathroom disgusting... no where to hang towel, shower rose too low - no tv in rooms - communal kitchen looks nice... but pots all corroded or dirty, blunt knives - thermal pool an uninspiring luke...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank monkeybike551
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards, Karan Jhand

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

The rating of the hotel is very misleading. It is very run down. The room had a very bad mildew smell. At best I would call the hotel a hostel with motel prices. The room needs a major remodeling. Only book if it is your last resort.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wolf3728
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards, Karan Jhand

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We booked a room for 5 but there's 2 of us. The room has an ensuite bathroom. The bed are comfy and the room is clean. We did use the kitchen for some light cooking. The hotel is located along Fenton Street which is a main street in Rotorua. Very close to Countdown and PaknSave and to the city center....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nnadiama
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, great to hear that you had such an enjoyable and comfortable stay. We wish you well and look forward to welcome you again in near future. Kind Regards, Karan Jhand

Reviewed 7 November 2016

This hotel/motel ???? was terrible. The room consisted of a bed, 2 bedside cabinets, what was once a TV stand and a chair. Carpet was threadbare, curtains were hanging on about 5 hooks and torn. French doors were rusting and grubby. Had adjoining door to next room, although it was locked it did not stop the people in the next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ged E
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards, Karan Jhand

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

The location is great. Fenton Street is the motel row of Rotorua. Four Canoes is right in the middle of where the action is. A minute drive away is a good takeaway shop run by Chinese but serves fantastic fish n chips- they even won an award back in 2009. This eatery serves both western and Asian varieties. The motel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ric_L123
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your enjoyable stay at Four canoes. We are glad to hear that you have found the property location handy and comfortable. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you again in near future. Kind Regards, Karan Jhand

San Diego, California
Reviewed 4 November 2016

This is called Four Canoes Bar and Hotel. There is no bar. The bedrooms take the word minimalist to a new level. No soap, one towel, no where to hang a towel (if there was one), threadbare sheets, dirty carpet and chair (singular). Beds were similar to pull-out type (i.e., very thin mattress). Water limitations- notice in the room "shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcschnoodles
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mcschnoodles, Thank you for reviewing our property – this property used to be Four Canoes Hostel and Bar but we have changed the name to Four Canoes at all known platforms. We are in transition period from a hostel to Hotel and our price will reflect the same (Cheapest in town), the only reason it is at that price...

Kanwal, Australia
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Excellent value, clean basic room with shared kitchen, TV room, free DVD hire. $9 continental breakfast available in the dining room. Staff are very friendly, good location. The thermal pool was absolutely amazing. The usual Rotorua sulphur smell was strong but if the sliding door is shut you cant smell it. Stephan was in residence at the time doing his...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rpmscorpion
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. we wish you well and look forward to welcome you again in near future. Kind Regards, Karan Jhand

Traralgon, Australia
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel section. Room was basic... toilet/shower/basin, heater, bed was nice to sleep in, bedside tables and lamps. Little balcony outside. Could hear outside noise quite clearly like a window was open but it wasnt. Were some draughts coming in from window/door. Older style hotel I'm 5"4 and shower rose was still too low for me. Glad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twin22016
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Firstly I would like to extend my sincere apologies about inconvenience you have encountered. We are in the transition period from Hostel to Motel and we are renovating our showers as well. We would be grateful to get another chance to welcome you again and to prove our...

Narwee
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a family room as our accommodation fell through. Our room was clean and comfy. I wouldnt recommend for a family with young kids would be ok for older teens as others staying were drinking. Kitchen had good facilities. It was a good base for us and very cheap

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trish K
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you well and look forward to welcome you again on your next trip to Rotorua. Kind Regards, Karan Jhand

Jurong, Singapore
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

This place is located somewhere in the middle of Feldon Street, so it's within walking distance to the lake and a short drive to the Te Puia Geothermal area. There are 2 supermarkets and 2 gas stations, as well as some eateries in the vicinity. We had a room with 4 single beds, yet there was plenty of space left...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PriscillaCPL
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found the property location handy and comfortable. We look forward to your next visit again with us and we can ensure you that your future stay would be as excellent as your first. Kind...

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 km away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#51 of 93 in Rotorua
116 reviews
2.5 km away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#47 of 93 in Rotorua
224 reviews
0.6 km away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#48 of 93 in Rotorua
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
365 reviews
0.1 km away
Executive on Fenton
Executive on Fenton
#45 of 93 in Rotorua
190 reviews
0.9 km away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#2 of 56 in Rotorua
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recently refurbished the Four Canoes Hotel is now a 3 Star Qualmark rated Motel in central Rotorua. Rooms offer free unlimited WIFI, Free Tea/Coffee in the rooms, all rooms are ensuite with Shower and toilet. Two outdoor heated pools, and 1 Thermal Mineral Water Pool free to or guests to enjoy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Four Canoes Hotel

Address: 273 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $96 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Canoes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Four Canoes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Canoes Hotel
Four Canoes Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Four Canoes Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Four Canoes Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the disappointment”
 of 5 bubbles 314gede, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A variation of rooms from doubles and family rooms to bunk rooms with 4 and more beds.”
 of 5 bubbles OldKiwiFlyer, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms a bit dated”
 of 5 bubbles SLASHTong, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to ask about doscounts to the Maori Cultural Experiences!”
 of 5 bubbles NatOOSh_12, 19 Apr 2015 | Read review
“i liked having a ground floor room as it was close to my car which was easy for me as a manager, and my team were in rooms next me as well. Real easy for me to look after them.”
 of 5 bubbles JaxG23, 8 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5