We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
27/08/2017 28/08/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Cactus Jacks Backpackers

    1210 Haupapa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    27/08/2017 28/08/2017
    USD 25*
    Traveller (22)
    Room & Suite (4)
    Dining (1)
    Overview
    • Excellent23%
    • Very good35%
    • Average17%
    • Poor8%
    • Terrible17%
    29 Jun 2017
    “better than i expected”
    13 Feb 2017
    “Cacti among the smell of Sulfur”
    Wifi
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Self-Serve Laundry
    All hotel details
    Offers from Cactus Jacks Backpackers
    Deals (1)
    27 Aug.28 Aug.
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • 2xBed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
      USD 25
      View Deal
    • 2xBed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
      USD 25
      View Deal
    Collapse room deals
    View more room deals
    Showing room deals 1 - of 1
    Quest Rotorua Central
    706 reviews
    #1 of 92 hotels in Rotorua
     
    Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
    2,466 reviews
    #20 of 92 hotels in Rotorua
     
    Aura Accommodation
    185 reviews
    #3 of 92 hotels in Rotorua
     
    Manhattan Motel
    12 reviews
    #74 of 92 hotels in Rotorua
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (111)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    There are newer reviews for Cactus Jacks Backpackers
    See the most recent reviews

    41 - 45 of 103 reviews

    Reviewed 10 July 2013

    I traveled with a group of 6 students so we were looking for a nice cheap place, this was the cheapest around, $22 for our own room. The guy who owns the place is awesome! He gave us coupons for $1 beer down the street...More

    2  Thank natalie b
    Response from SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks BackpackersResponded 30 December 2013

    Thanks for the review It means the work we are doing is appreciatted

    Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

    3 nights in rotarua. Cactus jack gave us a warm welcome. The main negative for us was that the room was uncomfortably hot and the beds were knackered, and mattresses need replacing and lights improving. There are lots of friendly long residents, we liked that....More

    Thank Gacco29
    Response from SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks BackpackersResponded 30 December 2013

    Thanks for your kind words Good eviews enourage us in our efforts

    Reviewed 24 May 2013

    This hostel is quirky; a host of long-term residents with varied personalities and stories to tell give it a more colourful vibe than your standard hostel. This may not be to everyone's taste - if you're not particularly friendly or a good conversation maker, then...More

    1  Thank Finbarr M
    Response from SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks BackpackersResponded 26 May 2013

    Thanks for the kind words we will strive to maintain our standards

    Reviewed 16 April 2013

    We absolutely loved our stay at cactus jacks! Although it is a bit under construction that won't disturb your sleep at all, and we thought all the guys that worked there that we met in the kitchen were so lovely! Fantastic value for money, and...More

    1  Thank CoupleabroadUK
    Response from SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks BackpackersResponded 18 April 2013

    Thanks for your review, it's nice to be appreciated. The upgrades are still continuing.

    Reviewed 1 March 2013

    Character? Lots. A Tijuana experience. I applaud whoever turned a pretty old, run-down place into that. But it doesn't compensate for the tiny, cramped rooms with old & dirty carpet, or for the feel that nothing is super clean, or for the loud noise at...More

    4  Thank Mileni D
    Response from SwordKing, Front Office Manager at Cactus Jacks BackpackersResponded 6 March 2013

    We thank the reviewer for this review because in our unequal world all opinions count Our response to this review is This reviewer made the following threat “If you do not refund my money I will be write the worst review of this place.” My...More

    Quest Rotorua Central
    706 reviews
    #1 of 92 hotels in Rotorua
     
    Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
    2,466 reviews
    #20 of 92 hotels in Rotorua
     
    Aura Accommodation
    185 reviews
    #3 of 92 hotels in Rotorua
     
    Manhattan Motel
    12 reviews
    #74 of 92 hotels in Rotorua
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    Details
    • Price range
    • USD 15 - USD 48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 20
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Cactus Jacks Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • New Zealand >
    • North Island >
    • Bay of Plenty Region >
    • Rotorua District >
    • Rotorua
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (22)
    Room & Suite (4)
    Dining (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (14)
    Bathroom (3)
    Nearby
    Aura Accommodation
    185 reviews
    .48 km away
     
    Quest Rotorua Central
    706 reviews
    .22 km away
     
    Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
    2,466 reviews
    .44 km away
     
    Manhattan Motel
    12 reviews
    .39 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Sabroso
    556 reviews
    .08 km away
    Pig and Whistle Historic Pub
    1,279 reviews
    .16 km away
    Fat Dog Cafe & Bar
    1,705 reviews
    .21 km away
    Le Cafe de Paris
    229 reviews
    .21 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Eat Street
    554 reviews
    .32 km away
    Rotorua i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
    207 reviews
    .32 km away
    Rotorua Night Market
    87 reviews
    .13 km away
    Bibleworld Musuem & Discovery Centre
    29 reviews
    .36 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Cactus Jacks Backpackers staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "don't stay here, period."
    Read review
    "Corner rooms have more space the rooms on the left are close to the night entrance if you are a light sleeper"
    Read review
    "Be a cleaner to reduce your living costs, but be good at it."
    Read review
    "Make sure to take the rooms away from the main road, to avoid late night foot traffic noise."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing