We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rydges Rotorua

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Rotorua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,119: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Not the experience you expect! No air conditioning in any of the rooms here , everything is done in a very cheap way! The gym is just a joke, everything creaks like a old gate! Wouldn't go there for the gym! Hopefully they don't start up any more gyms

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Demihello
Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Stayed here on 27th Dec. $410 for Deluxe room with balcony. Actually got run down bottom floor room with door that was permanently closed to outside. Fan hanging out of ceiling. Bathroom bench on slope so all water runs down onto floor. Furniture was all chipped and had seen better days. Really for $410 it was total rip off. Won't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank otti340
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had a double queen spa room, I think it is called. The room was tidy but it needs updating. The 2 person spa on the balcony was good. We stayed 2 nights and did not ask for our room to be cleaned, but they came in anyway and took the towels away and forgot to replace them. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
USA
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

If you're looking for a hotel with outdated rooms, old beds, broken furniture and a dirty jacuzzi then this is the place for you! Extremely slow internet which only works good in the lobby, an overpriced breakfast with dirty plates and cutlery then you'll love it here. Additionally, If you enjoy hotels with rude front desk staff and a front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adamcrew
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Reception busy and staff seemed inexperienced and chaotic; not inviting or welcoming as we have experienced many times in the past. It took several attempts to get the key card to work in the door of the 4th floor room we were in, even the desk staff tried and apparently they were going to reset the door lock - didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kej5
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently stay at Rydges Rotorua with my family for 3 nights for a short holiday. I've to say the staff is extremely friendly & helpful! The Hotel manager Christine and her team did an excellent job help me sort out with my PGR card issue. One of the staff even came to say hello to me when we have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter C
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

There is no doubting that the hotel rooms are tired and in need of an upgrade. We had a Deluxe King Spa Room on the ground floor that was very spacious, clean and with a very comfy bed and the lady who checked us in was friendly and polite. Essentially we only used the hotel to sleep in anyhow, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin L
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We spent one night at the Rydges with the family. Hotel staff were friendly and efficient. The room had 2 double beds, large bathroom with shower in bath and was spacious and clean. There is a gym and pool on the 4th floor. Kids loved the pool and we chilled in the warm smaller pool. After a day out, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin L
Management response:

Dear Colin, Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to know that your family have enjoyed our overall services and facilities during your recent leisure trip. We appreciate your support and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future. Kind Regards Christine...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

to describe as outdated is being too kind, it's absolutely exhausted. stayed as a family just after xmas which appreciate a very busy time of year, so options available by the time i booked were limited, however, was very expensive and in terrible need of a revamp. we had a room on 4th floor overlooking the racetrack, which was nice,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stuart2002
Management response:

Dear Stuart2002, Thank you for your review of our property. We regret that our hotel couldn't meet your expectations. Your feedback have been well-noted and we will certainly keep them in mind for the future. Thank you very much for your valuable comments. We sincerely hope to have a chance to serve you again. Kind Regards Christine Chen Front Office...

Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Positives- comfy bed, spacious rooms, friendly staff, parking included, nice bar area (Mezz). Negatives- appalling water pressure in shower, room was made up very late in the day (5pm), breakfast was basic on first day, but better options on second.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 694deborahi
Management response:

Dear 694deborahi Thank you very much for taking the time to sharing your comment. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed our overall services and facilities during the recent stay with us. In regards to some shortfalls that you mentioned, we will certainly review it within our team for further enhance. Once again, appreciate your feedback and we...

214 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (198)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
2:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.9 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 93 in Rotorua
713 reviews
1.1 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.1 km away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
358 reviews
1.2 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Atrium Restaurant
Atrium Restaurant
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, New Zealand
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $162 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Rotorua staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“overlooking racetrack i'm assuming best option”
 of 5 bubbles stuart2002, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose someplace else, you are not going to find it here!”
 of 5 bubbles AklFamily, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the ground floor rooms especially rooms near the back entrance. It gets quite noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles gabsd2014, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the road and hopefully one with aircon if they have it”
 of 5 bubbles KMRoman, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Is there one?”
 of 5 bubbles MarrakechMorganman, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay