We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Expedia.comUSD 126*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 165*
USD 126*
USD 165*
USD 125*
USD 165*
USD 125*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,413 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,262: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were disappointed with the overall cleanliness of the hotel. Carpets were old and had various spots on, the dining room floor was dirty so was the bar's floor. The bath in our room looked old with stains on.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peet Z
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Peet Z Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Novotel Rotorua, your feedback is important to us. I do apologise that the cleanliness seems to have been a let down on this occasion, I can assure you that this is not the norm, and will be addressed with the team. Regards...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 July 2014

As an Accor member who has previously stayed here, I naturally chose it for an overnight stay. I arrived just before 10 am, a little earlier than I expected. I was greeted by friendly and professional staff who were unflustered by my early arrival & said the room was ready. The room was clean and comfortable with a fabulous lakeside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peragro-ergo-sum-100
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Peet Z Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Novotel Rotorua, your feedback is important to us. I do apologise some aspects of your stay seems to have been a let down on this occasion, I can assure you that this is not the norm, and will be addressed with the...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Novotel is in a prime location in Rotorua. It is walking distance to the shops and the restaurant and cafe district. There is also a yummy ice cream shop across the road from the hotel. The hotel is a typical Novotel. Clean, comfortable and family friendly. Our rate included free breakfast. There was a wide range of choices at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YLH01
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear YLH01 Thank you for taking the time to comprehensively review the property, feedback such as this is a vital aspect of our business. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the various aspects of our hotel. The buffet is substantial and we are pleased you enjoyed the Asian variety we offer. Regards Ian Shipman

Australia
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel located right at the end of the mall where café and restaurants were everywhere. It is called 'Eat Streat'. It is also right at the Lake of Rotorua. View of the lake was great, unfortunately, weather wasn't the greatest whilst we were there, the Lake Queen wasn't operating. Short walk from the hotel to central city area, by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JonBrisbane
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear JonBrisbane Thank you for taking the time to review the property, feedback such as this is a vital aspect of our business. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the various aspects of our hotel.We look forward to having you back with us when next in beautiful New Zealand. Regards Ian Shipman

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 July 2014

From the time we checked in, staff were friendly and attentive. Our room was comfortable, clean and spacious. We had delicious breakfast and it was fresh, with a wide selection. Thank you to all staff, especially Kristen, who made our stay more memorable and enjoyable.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank planetwonderer
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear planetwonderer Thank you for taking the time to review the property, feedback such as this is a vital aspect of our business. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the various aspects of our hotel.Kristen certainly is a huge asset to our team, who will be pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Regards Ian Shipman

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred K
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The buffet breakfast we found disappointing for $30 a head so only had it once. It did not cater for all the asian guests staying at the hotel. Limited variety. The room was ok but towels were not always replaced and had to ask twice at reception for clean ones. Pool area was good though the poor receptionist was overstretched...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian K
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Gillian K Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Novotel Rotorua, your feedback is important to us. While we attempt to cater for the majority of tastes i am sure you would appreciate that it is not possible to cater for all, our buffet is extensive and does cater for most....

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were part of a large family group overnighting in Rotorua. Lovely, spacious foyer with friendly front line staff. Very comfy beds with feather everything: toppers, duvets, pillows. My idea for a good night's sleep. Enjoyed a pre-dinner drink in the cosy bar complete with a flamed feature fire (we were all sad to leave for our night out). Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbie_Kel
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Barbie_Kel Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Novotel Rotorua, your feedback is important to us. I am very pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and hope to have you join us again in the future. Regards Ian Shipman

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Great looking hotel from the inside, rooms nice and tidy. Very ordinary from the outside and parking in the hotel car park at night is not easy to find a space. Close to the lake and dining area. If I were going to rotorua again id stay there for sure. Great bar, quite large but feels intimate....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cruise H
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Cruise H Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Novotel Rotorua, your feedback is important to us. I am very pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and look forward to having you join us again in the future. Regards Ian Shipman

Rotorua District, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cjndjn
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

506 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (457)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (42)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (113)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (177)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
684 reviews
2.3 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.8 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
810 reviews
0.1 km away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#33 of 92 in Rotorua
1,118 reviews
0.1 km away
Regent of Rotorua
Regent of Rotorua
#9 of 92 in Rotorua
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $141 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novotel Rotorua Lakeside staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Phoenix, Arizona
6 months ago
Auckland, New Zealand
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Rotorua Lakeside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely go for a lake view room, amazing views”
Phil233, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the lake have views and catch the sun.”
ZendaJ, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Request Lake view rooms.”
ashlee1808, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Always ask for an up grade, as they will select maybe a lake view, all very quiet.”
446allan, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“a room overlooking the lake.”
, 16 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 126* /night
View Deal
NovotelUSD 125
Hotels.comUSD 125
TripAdvisorUSD 126
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates