We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Hotwire.comUSD 86*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 180*
USD 86*
Great Deal
USD 98*
USD 98*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,474 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,368: English reviews
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in Sudima Lake hotel for 3 nights, The staff was very friendly and polite, the hotel was quite nice, and had great ambiance, although i feel the rooms furnishing was bit old & outdated. It located right next to the rotorua lake and a top the thermal area which are very common in Rotroua and surrounding, sometimes you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerIndia
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for writing such a nice review and rating, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to Rotorua and that our facilities and staff met your expectations. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We spent a night with friends on our way to watch the Rugby 7's in Wellington. It was a nice place with friendly staff. Indoor heated pools which we were even allowed to use after hours. It's close to the Polynesian Spa as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saif786
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for posting such a nice review and rating, I'm really pleased to read that our staff made such a nice impression, we hope to welcome you back at some stage in the near future. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sudima is a large (hundreds of rooms) touristy hotel located near Tthe Polynesian Spa in Rotorua. The Sudima caters for many many coach loads of tourists. Having travelled in the rain on Motorbikes we welcomed the Sudimas style of accommodation. Basic in layout, the standard twin queen room with side entry bathroom,(shower over bath) opposit coffee/tea making/ fridge/wardrobe etc, offered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Montybeel
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Montybeel Well what an amazing review and description of our property, thanks for taking the time to write it, I really appreciate it, I am happy to read that you enjoyed your experience staying with us and I hope we can welcome you back at some stage in the near future. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel...

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Didn't intend staying as thought it would be way too expensive but got a deal on accommodation for the night we were staying. Yay for us. Great value for money. Room was lovely and had been recently upgraded (done up) and was very clean and the bed was comfortable if a little bouncy. It even had two single chairs and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Linda What a beautiful review, thanks for taking the time to write it, I hope we can welcome you back at some stage in the near future. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just the one night for old time' sake. (Read: 30 years later since I was there last). Couldn't fault the place! Loads of friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic facilities, bar and even breakfast and a sunny morning to wake up to.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcel L
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Marcel Thanks for taking the time to write your review and such a nice rating, I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rotorua is in a geologically active area. There are bubbling pools of mud, steam rising through the road drains and a pervasive smell of sulphur that visitors stop noticing by the third day. Unfortunately the large museum that deals with the geology of the area had been closed due to earthquake damage. The hotel is a good base for touring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlandeWalden
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Alan Thanks for your review and rating. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked online and friendly staff treated us. Rooms average nothing to rave about nothing to complain about. Was nice to have the spa to ourselves, ended up whenever we wanted and a view of the lake. All staff very friendly asking how were were. Great location so close to town. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diannemh46
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It is ideally situated with Pak n' Save just a corner down, thermal hot springs just a walking distance away and of course it is just next to the lake. Stayed in the newer rooms of this hotel for two nights, which had modern and clean rooms. They don't have a lift in the building that we stayed in and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suaneywaney
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for your kind comments and review, I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

Berkeley, California
Reviewed 25 April 2017

This hotel was just okay. Standard motel rooms, okay bathroom, okay TV, limited wifi service. The hotel seemed pretty crowded with a lot of university kids using the common areas. We were able to get some laundry done fairly cheaply which was a nice plus. Unfortunately we saw a cockroach in our room, which was rather unpleasant. We were quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nachty
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for your time to post your feedback and rating, I am sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, we do have a pest control program in place but unfortunately we will get the odd unwelcome bugs. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

Reviewed 25 April 2017

Beautifully situated right next to some thermal activity and views of the Museum. There were lots of parking available with easy access to all rooms. We booked late, and needed a room for 4, and were accommodated for at a very affordable price. The staff were personable and looked to make conversation and be helpful. The rooms had everything we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juno R
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Juno Thanks for your kind comments and review, I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff made such a nice impression. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

365 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (336)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (124)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.0 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.7 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
1,124 reviews
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
812 reviews
0.6 km away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#32 of 92 in Rotorua
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $91 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Clearwater, Florida
Mont Tremblant, Canada
9 months ago
Gold Coast Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in room 309”
Tuwhare, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“just ask and you'll be given (if and when...cos she's a pretty busy hotel).”
MarcelL356, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Lake view best.”
AlandeWalden, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Request for the newly renovated rooms”
suaneywaney, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Request a room not on the ground floor!”
nachty, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
USD 86* /night
View Deal
Sudima RotoruaUSD 98
Booking.comUSD 98
AMOMAUSD 180
View all 15 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates