We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Orbitz.comUSD 61*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 136*
USD 61*
Great Deal
USD 136*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

393 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 374: English reviews
Waimate, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 November 2014

We booked this online and paid for a two roomed unit with geyser view. When we arrived we were given a single room with no view. The room was shabby and old. No effort was made to match glasses, cups and saucers etc. everything was odd and shabby. There were doors and windows broken in some units. This was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Waimate1
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 November 2014

My son and I stayed here for one night while in Rotorua. My son is in a wheelchair so when booking I asked for an accessible room, with a view of Pohutu geyser. On arrival we found there was a step to the room rendering it inaccessible ,the bathroom door was too narrow and there was no wet area shower....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank poppet2014
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 October 2014

It boasts an outdoor pool, a fitness centre, a sauna and a spa pool, but all these facilities are unusable and have been broken for months! The breakfast was disgusting and even the staff said it’s pathetic. There were a few canned half peaches, clotted yoghurt, weetbix and cornflakes, also only marmalade for the cheap white bread toast. Not even...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Melro
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 24 October 2014

As an ex soldier, ii have slept in some weird places, from pig pavilions in country show grounds to standing up in the rain with a pack on my back and wearing a tin hat. This placed is right up there with a hole in the ground after 3 days rain. At least the bed was dry and comfortable. It...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AussieRandR
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

This review does not relate to our property In the review your refer to mised cultery, plates etc, we do not ahve cultery or plates in our rooms. At our hotel we have tea/ coffee facilities only. We have objected to the review on the grounds that the review clearly does not relate to our Hotel We do hope you...

Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 October 2014

Despite a full hotel spec write up including swimming pool, spa, spout pools and continental brekkie included, the only good thing - that remained in working order - was the view of Pohuto Geyser outside the room. All above facilities were broken, as was the room phone (apparently across entire first 2 floors), the towels were old and fraying and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aowhetu
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 October 2014

A very dated motel... but room was clean & tidy & no sign of anything nasty. Bathroom was clean also. TV has one channel which is not ideal. View is stunning. Stayed for business for one night & it ticked the boxes. You get what you pay for - Room cost me $70 so wasnt expecting the Hilton - was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gsykiwi
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Great to hear that we will see you again, and our goal is that we excced your expectations next time Kind Regards Management

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 September 2014

I agree with all the other 'DON'T EVER STAY HERE' comments..... I got eaten alive with bed bugs, power sockets hanging out of the wall, only one TV channel, a gym with no weights or anything in it, half the lights weren't working, where is the Spa pool?, it is easily the worst Hotel I have ever stayed in!!!!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SmokeyNo1
Reviewed 14 September 2014

The only positive thing I can say about this place is the awesome view of the geyser/mud pool. Other than that, the place is VERY dated (in desperate need of a makeover), there is only 1 TV channel, the jets in the bath tub didn't work, the customer service wasn't great and the walls are very thin. I wouldn't recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ilovetravelling277
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

We do thank you for your comments The Hotel does offer the free2view channels to the rooms, the Hotel is of concrete brick construction so the dividing walls are actually concrete We do understand that you enjoyed the view from the room, and we would appreciate the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future Kind Regards Management

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 September 2014

My sister and her baby were surpose to stay here for 3 nights, but only stayed for 1. The room was small, old, cold and you could here the conversations from the people next door. There was also ONLY 1 chanel available which was disappointing. Waste the time having a TV in the room. It gets wrose the CUSTOMER SERVICE...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stacey983
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. The rooms do have radiators to all rooms, and whilst they do take 5 minutes to warm up, they are extremely effectice in keeping the rooms warm I am concerned that you did not find the staff helpful, most guests do find our staff friendly and helpful. Kind Regards

Waikoloa, Hawaii
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed here while in Rotorua, mainly for the view from the guest room. The hotel was easy to find- just along the main street into town- and close to the city center where there are lots of restaurants and grocery/convenience stores. The rates are inexpensive, but you get what you pay for when it comes to the room itself-...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lotusandthebee
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, it is a great place to stay We agree you do get the best seat in the house, and a nice cup of coffee looks at the view from your balcony is a great way to start the stay Kind Regards

262 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (250)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (126)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.2 km away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
106 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
810 reviews
0.2 km away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#66 of 92 in Rotorua
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
0.4 km away
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
#52 of 92 in Rotorua
154 reviews
0.2 km away
Pohutu Lodge
Pohutu Lodge
#18 of 57 in Rotorua
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel overlooks the world famous Pohutu Geyser and is directly opposite the Rotorua International Golf course. The 70 rooms hotel offers pool view rooms and Geyser View Suites, facilities include Geyser View Restaurant, bar, gym, spa, sauna, heated spout pools, Conference Centre, business centre, internet cafe, wireless internet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Address: 424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $59 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room with view”
111sharonf, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the geyser”
824cathiel, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Dont stay at the rooms in front of the pool as all very rundown. Chose the rooms upstairs the reception area.”
hazelineng, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose higher level than ground for better view of geysers.”
juliarN9487IH, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get one on the geyser side”
512JeanF, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
USD 61* /night
View Deal
Priceline
AMOMAUSD 136
HotelQuicklyUSD 79
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates