We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gwendoline Court Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Gwendoline Court Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gwendoline Court Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 97: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Carpet badly stained, window catches broken, spa pool area mossy, damp with rotten timber, kitchen table unstable, many lights weren't working, few TV channels if they worked, radios broken ,curtains off rail, pot provided with no handle, limited kitchen utensils, cobwebs, no smoke alarm and the list goes on. Needs renovating as tired and past its best. Mentioned all of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 150bud123
Featherston, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 February 2016

We stayed for 3 nights recently with 2 friends from overseas on a budget. While the price was great the quality was sub-par, however the service we received at check-in was excellent. Unit 9 was where we were put having booked for 4 adults, this gave us a queen size bed upstairs and 2 singles in the lounge - very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iang229
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 February 2016

I cannot recommend this place. My wife, kids and I had booked family accomodation that was changed by the owner at the last minute. It was unnerving but the owner reassured us that we were getting a similar appartment with more room at no extra cost. Unfortunately it was dirty, uncared for and not pleasant to be in for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Very run down, lights didn't work, long black hair in a bed and on towels. People were nice but not even a fan upstairs in the bedroom to keep cool, carpet threadbare. Price was cheapish and the area was OK.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KirstenTighe
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 February 2016

Cant believe an establishment of this low grade is still on the books! totally agree with previous reviewers in all aspects. Feel we have been duped and taken for a ride! Unfortunately we were unable to inspect the property as is our practice as we had booked from overseas and depended on booking sites for accurate information.As our first accommodation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2016AnneD
Greg W, Manager at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay It is disappointing that you did not raise any issues with us during your stay, that we could have resolved for you We do care about our customers, and we are happy to assist at all times Kind Regards

Reviewed 15 January 2016

We thought the online photos looked ok when we booked this, the checkin experience was OK then we unloaded the car. The stains on the floor and light fittings made me want to spray the room with luminal to see if something terrible happened there. After finding tissues on the floor near the bed and hair in the shower we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew C
Timaru, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Well where do I start. The room was in very bad shape , holes in walls, most light bulbs blown,mold in the bathroom walls,threadbare carpets, no door handle on the shower door,broken light fixtures,stained carpet,rubbish overflowing into the carpark ,stunk of urine ,spa area was disgusting holes in walls , smashed roof , very unclean , no tea towels ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 395neilg
Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

If I could give this a 0 score I would. We booked 2 rooms into the Gwendoline's 'sister motel' silveroaks heritage resort however due to some kind of hot water situation we were moved to the Gwendoline and seriously downgraded from a $130 room to something barely worth paying $40 for. The floor was sticky, the carpet was stained and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Grace F
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 January 2016

Not recommended for any type of visit.not clean,no customer service...etc.Dont try any silver oks chain motels in rotarua.... They not providing what they saying before we go.need to ask for everything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aravindak2016
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

This was a dreadful apartment . The carpet was threadbare and dirty and so was the kitchen . We had booked for two nights and left after one and would not have stayed at all if we could have found somewhere else , the towels were dirty and well past use date. The bedroom was equally poor and the spa...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sally1809

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.1 km away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
0.2 km away
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
#86 of 93 in Rotorua
77 reviews
1.4 km away
Baden Lodge Motel
Baden Lodge Motel
#89 of 93 in Rotorua
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Ace Motor Lodge
Ace Motor Lodge
#85 of 93 in Rotorua
33 reviews
2.5 km away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#63 of 93 in Rotorua
81 reviews
0.1 km away
Manhattan Motel
Manhattan Motel
#74 of 93 in Rotorua
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Gwendoline Court Motor Lodge is within walking distance to Puia and the Rotorua International Golf Course, the Motor Inn offers 18 spacious one bedroom apartments, each with spa pool, full kitchen facilities, central heating, wireless internet, digital TV, en-suite with shower, tea/ coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gwendoline Court Motel

Address: Cnr. Fenton & Gwendoline Streets, Rotorua 3200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $86 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwendoline Court Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gwendoline Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gwendoline Court Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are no good clean rooms. Drive straight past this place”
 of 5 bubbles Giddyuppahimbop, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I think there was Wifi but we couldn't access it. Top tip is keep driving.”
 of 5 bubbles , 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“i had room 18 which was a family room but although warm and good linen generally run down and lounge above ? water bore pump.”
 of 5 bubbles DiddumsM, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room in a different motel!!!”
  • Worn carpet
  • Broken connection for hand rail.
  • Mould and worn/chipped paint around door frame.
  • Old food left in fridge.
 of 5 bubbles TwinkD, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room with a spa!”
 of 5 bubbles Channybee9, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay