We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rock Solid Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Rock Solid Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 270: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The reception closes at 10pm and, differently from many (all?) other places in Aus/NZ, they do not allow a late check in. I arrived at 10:15pm, after problems with my car during the day, and all I found was a sarcastic note saying "We know it might not have been your fault, but it is not ours either :)". Terrible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sergio M
Lon
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We only stayed one night and for the price it was fantastic. We had a private ensuite room which was spacious, very clean and had been made to look very modern. The staff were very helpful at check in and helping us decide what to do the next day. The hostel itself is very unusual with a climbing wall inside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S K
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in a private double room which was reasonably priced, clean and a really good size. Shower was pretty good, although I would recommend they add hooks to the back of the bathroom door so you can hang your towel. The only downside is that you have to slam the door to get it to shut properly which can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
RockSolidNZ, Manager at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia ora Laura Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased you appreciated a private ensuite room and found it spacious and clean and we will certainly look at adding a hook to the back of your ensuite door, but there is actually a freestanding towel rail available in the room. We are disappointed for you that you found...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Central hostel with good facilities, kitchen and bathrooms were spacious and clean. Avoid private room 111 if you can, the extractor fan duct that runs through the room is on until 11pm at night but it still doesn't stop the room smelling of the food cooking in the kitchen opposite!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holly M
RockSolidNZ, Manager at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review

Apologies the Fan ducting should have been set to turn off much earlier and we would have rectified it immediately had you informed us - now that we know it will be rectified. Many thanks

London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Room was right next to the kitchen, which was noisy and the smell of food flows in the air. Basic room but comfy beds. Toilets and showers are clean. Not a bad place overall. If you want a cheapish backpackers that is central to the town of Rotorua, then this is the one. Starbucks close by if you miss a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G M
RockSolidNZ, Manager at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia ora Thanks for the feedback. Yes any communal area in a hostel can be noisy especially kitchens as they are also social areas but we do close it up at 10pm in consideration of guests in nearby rooms. We do provide a simple clean hostel rooms and facilities at reasonable rates from just $26. This includes free wifi, and...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I loved my stay at this hostel, nice private ensuite room, extremely friendly staff, large and clean kitchen.However, the kitchen doesn't stay opened 24hrs. Wi-fi worked fine and great location. I would highly recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valeria M
RockSolidNZ, Manager at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia ora Thank you for the great comments. We are so pleased you chose Rock Solid and very happy you enjoyed your stay with us especially your private ensuite room. The guest kitchen is open from 7am-10pm daily and not outside these hours in consideration of those guest sleeping in nearby rooms. We do love sharing our hostel, culture and...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 12 December 2016

I have no words to say how much I loved this hostel! Staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the place is beautiful (it used to be a mall!) and really well located, the beds are very sturdy and comfortable (no waking up when your bunk buddy moves at night), internet is fast and reliable, the kitchen is really clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolina B
RockSolidNZ, Manager at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia ora Carolina Thank you for the great comments. We are so pleased you chose Rock Solid and very happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We do love sharing our hostel, culture and city with fab guests who appreciate everything we have to offer! We wish you continued amazing experiences and safe travels! Kia pai to ra

Breda, The Netherlands
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed in a private ensuite room. The room was spacious and clean. Hostel had a large and clean communal kitchen. If I had to name one thing of what was less it should be the noise. But I think there is always a little noise in hostels, would come back here anyway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carly S
RockSolidNZ, Manager at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia ora Thank you for the great comments. We are so pleased you chose Rock Solid and very happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We do love sharing our hostel, culture and city with fab guests who appreciate everything we have to offer! We wish you continued amazing experiences and safe travels! Kia pai to ra

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Stayed here before my friend and I's apartment was ready and it was such a nice hostel! Everyone was very friendly and the rooms are super nice. The bathrooms are tidy and they deep clean them everyday. The only thing I would complain about is the weird hours of the kitchen and how you can't go into the bathroom when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank merissar1
RockSolidNZ, Manager at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia ora Thank you for the great comments. We are so pleased you chose Rock Solid and very happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Our guest kitchen is open from 7am-10pm and not 24 hours in consideration of sleeping guest in nearby rooms. During housekeeping hours bathrooms are closed to guests for the 30 mins for safety reasons as...

Reviewed 29 November 2016

My fiancee and I were apprehensive about our first stay in a hostel, but knew it was a necessity if we were going to keep within budget for our round the world trip. Our stay in Rock Solid was the best possible introduction to the world of hostels! We stayed in a private double room for two nights. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trfskinner1
RockSolidNZ, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia ora Thank you for the great comments. We are so pleased you chose Rock Solid to start your hostel experience and very happy you enjoyed your stay with us especially our guest lounge with views to the Rock Climbing wall, spaciousness and cleanliness. We do love sharing our hostel, culture and city with fab guests who appreciate everything we...

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
620 reviews
0.7 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#2 of 56 in Rotorua
340 reviews
0.4 km away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#5 of 56 in Rotorua
351 reviews
0.5 km away
Regent of Rotorua
Regent of Rotorua
#7 of 93 in Rotorua
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BIG BOLD & BRIGHT! Kia ora - Welcome to Rock Solid Backpackers located in the heart of downtown Rotorua. Owned and operated by locals Barry & Vanessa Miller and their dedicated team, they really do care about their guest's comfort and enjoyment and love sharing their hostel and town with their international visitors. Based in a former office block, this large industrial-style building is no cosy cottage but a funky inner city chill out zone at reasonable rates. Guest lounge The large comfortable reception guest lounge is the hub of the hostel with FREE High Speed WiFi, FREE pool table, FREE Table Tennis and FREE XBox. FREE DVDs and FREE book exchange corner. They also have FREE luggage and bike storage room including a fridge to store your food while waiting to check in or depart. Also unique to Rock Solid is being able to view a 17m high rock climbing wall through floor-to-ceiling windows from this guest lounge. Or if you feel like having a go, guests can climb for just $12 which includes, shoes, harness, chalk and climbing until you drop(not literally!) Or if you prefer a bit of arty culture you can check out what's on in the Basement Arts Cinema downstairs too! Kitchen & Dining Room A large well equipped guest kitchen and dining room for guests to prepare and cook their meals and snacks. This hostel also actively recycles packaging. Guest Laundry Coin operated washing machines, driers and laundry powder dispensers are also available. Tours & Activities Rotorua is the ultimate north island adventure and cultural destination, offering a huge range of activities to suit every taste, budget and thrill factor which hosts are happy to arrange for their guests. Parking There is both limited free public street parking and charge meter parking available in front of the hostel. From 5pm-9am (daily) this parking is FREE. It is also free from Saturday 12:00 noon to Monday 9:00am. More information is available on request. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rock Solid Backpackers

Address: 1140 Hinemoa Street | Downtown Rotorua, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $24 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock Solid Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rock Solid Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rock Solid Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Rock Solid Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring extra blankets”
 of 5 bubbles OlaP55, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you're on a budget, don't feel nervous about booking this cheaper option as it was a fantastic surprise to walk into the room!”
 of 5 bubbles 120ellenk, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room further away from the common areas”
 of 5 bubbles NanaKBoat, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Bring ear plugs”
 of 5 bubbles JeroenNeth, 12 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Choose a room on level two to be away from the nightclub noise at the front.”
 of 5 bubbles boondog1975, 27 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay