We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gateway International Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gateway International Motel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 66: English reviews
Start your review of Gateway International Motel
 Click to rate
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Shower was in the spa bath needed a step to get in , had to ask twice to get a shower curtain installed. It was clean but very dated needed a good makeover. Close to all amenities , best thing was the lift better than lugging suitcase up the stairs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ozkiwis2016
sophy Z, Manager at Gateway International Motel, responded to this review

Hi Dear, I will talk with our housekeeping and make better next time, we promise we will make progress. I am really appreciate you give us good advise to make progress for our motel. Thanks so much.

Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night and found the value for money is excellent based on the price the accomodation exceed the expectations the room was a decent size with a comfy bed the bath room was clean and fantastic and this is the central location right in the heart of Rotorua just minutes away from a wide choice of restaurant

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adiseshu A
sophy Z, Manager at Gateway International Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. We are so happy you had a great time in Rotorua. We are looking forward to seeing you next time.

Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Good place and centre for all the popular sites around Rotorua the rooms were pretty good we stayed on room 16 with spa pool in it Thanks for the room it's clean and tidy the beds were very comfy The service was pretty nice recommended to every one Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank premcef
Auckland
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Dirty bedding, no soap, not enough flannels and dreadfully in need of a total overhaul. The elevator seems dodgy and to make matters worse the cleanliness of the entire unit was questionable. I have never stayed in a hotel with no soap or clean bedding. The one vestige of soap was the pump bottle which was just water and no...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank frequentflyer861
sophy Z, Manager at Gateway International Motel, responded to this review

Sorry for what happened to you! We take all you review on board and check back by every details which you list. The review is always a great way to improve our service. Thank you!

California
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

Wish we had longer here. I stayed one night with my family Great location easily access to City centre Apartment was spacious and very comfy. The room has everything we needed. A big comfy Beds with a perfect bed making 😀, Plenty of space with clean and well maintained (would really appreciate the house keeping staff) we stayed on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mounika77
sophy Z, Manager at Gateway International Motel, responded to this review

Thanks to put this review and share your experience with everybody. We will keep up the service. The fiber we choose is 200 upload and download, which is the highest which Spark can offer. But seams sometime slow somehow. To overcome this problem, we are on the queue to set up a new system to manage the WIFI system. The...

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Been here for a couple of times & i loved it, I like the comfy beds and spa pool inside the room. Excellent location, It is near to the shopping centre and polynesian spa. Mineral pools were ok, Cleanliness is upto the mark with excellent & friendly staff to assist

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 558pravinp
sophy Z, Manager at Gateway International Motel, responded to this review

Hi dear, Thanks for giving us courage. we will continually to improve our services . we are looking to seeing you next time as well. Have a beautiful day.

Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel and cancelled before the stated date where a penalty charge will be levied as they claimed they will give 100% refund. It was more than a month ago and until now I can't see my money returned back to me. Feels like scammed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tony R
Selina Z, Manager at Gateway International Motel, responded to this review

Hi Tony, we are sorry to hear from you! however,we never receive any refund or cancellation request under Tony's name.could you provide your full name and your check in and check out date. so we can check our record and give you respond as soon as possible!

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Was booked to stay here by a company I work with and I was disgusted at the condition of the room. The bathroom windows were black with mould and the over cleanliness of the room not good. No hairdryer or iron. Very worn down and in need of a complete revamp. Only spa baths in the bathroom with no handle...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank j9godfrey
Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Gateway International for three nights and found the hotel to be a good clean budget accommodation option. It is in walking distance to supermarkets and not far to the Main Street of town. The hotel is nothing flash but it was clean and they have there own thermal baths. We had a couple of issues with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TracyNGrant
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Room was really run down and dirty like the owners don't care. Worn carpet, stained pillows and duvet. Only base of fire alarm on wall and rubbish from previous people was still in the bin. No motel information in room.This could be a nice motel with the right owners. At $149 it wasn't value for money in fact it should...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank angelareece58

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.3 km away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
0.2 km away
Fernleaf Motel
Fernleaf Motel
#29 of 93 in Rotorua
94 reviews
1.0 km away
Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Kowhai and Colonial Motel
Kowhai and Colonial Motel
#87 of 93 in Rotorua
32 reviews
0.7 km away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
843 reviews
0.2 km away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Gateway International Motel. Now UNDER NEW MANAGEMENTOffering clean, comfortable and affordable studio and family units. Our concrete built motel is three levels north-facing. Elevator reaches to the top floor. Radiator heater and hot water thermally heated for all rooms. All studio units come with a spa bath or hot tub. The Motel has two private mineral pools for customer and a trampoline for children to play.Gateway International Motel located only 1minute drive from Rotorua city centre. 15 minutes’ drive from the Rotorua Airport; 3 minutes’ drive from the Lake side, 5 minutes’ drive from Redwood forest, Te Puia Maori village and golf club. Top one Fish ‘n’ chip takeaway shop in New Zealand directly opposite the motel.Gateway International Motel offers 15 self-contained accommodation units with at least one LCD TV for ALL units, offering kitchen facilities and full kitchen for some units. A refrigerator, microwave and cutlery are standard in all rooms. Each room is serviced daily. Owner on-site and on-call 24/7Laundry facilities, BBQ facilities, wireless internet and children’s cot are free of charge. Guest have free pick up from Rotorua Airport. Free off-road parking. Lockable garage for bikes, motorbikes etc. Ironing facilities, DVD player and newspaper are available from reception. Units 1 – 5 (Ground floor) Units 6 – 10 (First floor) Units 11 – 16 (Top floor) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gateway International Motel

Address: 263 Fenton St | Glenholme, Rotorua 1310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $96 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway International Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gateway International Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gateway International Motel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Blacks Beach, Queensland, Australia

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Gateway International Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“See review above”
RobNoel, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We were on the 1st floor. Enjoyed a bit of a view over the local area. The elevator clip-on helps if you have a lot of luggage. We had a studio with twin queen beds, all we needed.”
MerlinBlaise, 25 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Please inspect room before you pay”
319jackiep, 4 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Not on the street side, too many traffic.”
joseft123, 23 May 2014 | Read review
“Find another motel”
360laviniam, 9 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5