We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

B&B @ The Redwoods

Travellers' Choice award winner
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
B&B @ The Redwoods
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

483 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 403: English reviews
Start your review of B&B @ The Redwoods
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Vivien was so kind to us so we had a very good time to spend in Rotorua. The house was really comfortable to stay because it's so clean and big. Every breakfast was also yummy and variety of kind. とてもおすすめできるところです♪

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 栗林月
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Vivian, the host, was an absolute delight. When we arrived she gave us some great options of things to do, places to eat, etc.. based on our interests and time we had to spend in Rotorua. The B&B is situated in a lovely, off the beaten path, neighborhood walking distance to the Redwoods, but close enough to everything else. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NoKidsNoWorries
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 3 nights at The Redwoods, based partly on the excellent Trip Advisor reviews and were really thrilled to discover that it more than lived up to its reputation. Vivien was an amazing host from start to finish. She made us feel very welcome and upon arrival gave us a detailed run down on everything we could/ should do...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bel_1004
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Vivien and her B&B exceeded our expectations! She was speedy to return my excessive amount of email inquiries, and had so much patience as we debated on how to get from Auckland to Rotorua and back. It was wonderful to have a locals perspective as this was our first time to New Zealand. After much consideration, we decided on transportation...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
North Shore City, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely long weekend staying here. Travelled to Rotorua to mountain bike The Redwoods & this was a gem of a find. Very comfortable accommodation, excellent breakfast, & afternoon tea & cake. Our host Vivien was very welcoming & an absolute mine of information on things to do and see in Rotorua, providing maps & info. Lovely room with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AtaFitGirl
theredwoods, Owner at B&B @ The Redwoods, responded to this review

Hi Nick & Jill Thank you very much your excellent review of my property and hospitality. I really appreciate your great feedback. It is so nice to be acknowledged and I am glad that you both had a wonderful time in Rotorua. As you know we must be the closest to the many amazing mountain biking trails in the Redwood...

Kaunas, Lithuania
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

This B@B is outside the center of town. So you need a car to go to restaurants and shops. It is quite clearn with nice bed clothes. Unfortunately a bed was uncomfortable for me with too soft matraces and hard pillows. Wifi does not work in rooms just in a breakfast area. This area is a little bit cold. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Klinikos K
theredwoods, Owner at B&B @ The Redwoods, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to write me your feedback. I am disappointed that you did not mention your discomfort during your 2 days stay with me. I had asked each morning how you all were and you assured me that you were well looked after and had good night sleep. There was no mention of the pillows,...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Good ensuite room with off road parking, guest lounge and high quality breakfast. Very good personal support. From the booking stage, Vivien communicated personally and attentively. When we arrived she offered excellent tailored advice on where to eat and what attractions to visit. She bases this on the time available and profile of the guests. She also seems interested in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eyeright
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Vivien was a most gracious hostess!! She communicated with us before, during and after our visit. She greeted us upon arrival with a delicious homemade cake and tea. She made reservations for us at the Mitai Maori Village for a cultural dinner and night walk. She gave us recommendations of things to see and do in the local area. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila D
Zurich
Reviewed 7 April 2017

Vivien is the perfect hostess. Very lively and charming with lots of hints about points of interests an things to do. She is also very helpful with making reservations. The downstair rooms have a private deck in the beautiful garden. There is also a lounge area where there is WiFi and enough space to meet and talk with the other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZurichSwissmiss
Noosa, Australia
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Vivian is a fabulous hostess and really does make you feel at home. We especially appreciated her tips about where to eat and what to do. The location is very quiet because it's close to the Redwoods, rather than in town - this worked well for us as we had a car (or you can rent bikes nearby). We also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AussieItchyFeet_13

139 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.2 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
2.8 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
685 reviews
11.5 km away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
Doolan's Country Retreat
2.1 km away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,216 reviews
2.1 km away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Secluded yet Central. 2 luxurious ensuite guest rooms with private verandah and garden. Private entrance to guest only lounge,dining, indoor & outdoor living. City & lakes 5 mins, many attractions close by, next to Redwood Forest. Full Breakfast included, safe & free off-street car park, free Wifi, laundry facilities, no sulphur smell. 4 star NZ Qualmark rating and highly recommended by travellers in Tripadvisor. ... more   less 

Additional Information about B&B @ The Redwoods

Address: 3 Awatea Terrace | Lynmore, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $167 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — B&B @ The Redwoods 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your B&B @ The Redwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from B&B @ The Redwoods staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from B&B @ The Redwoods staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All good rooms”
eyeright, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“It's a small B&B and all rooms are equally good.”
ians4, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great B & B. Only three rooms, downstairs easier access. Parking tight but manageable.”
849michaelh849, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“great location near the redwoods, clean and comfy”
carlosteclas, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Koru room is away from the living room, not that anyone was making any noise!”
Canada-Oz, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 140* /night
View Deal
PricelineUSD 145
Hotels.comUSD 141
Orbitz.comUSD 140
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates