We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (1)
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good28%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“the kitchen”(26 reviews)
“large lockers”(2 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Wheelchair Access
5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Saltwater Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsensuite bathroomthe kitchenlarge lockerstv videocommon roomtop bunkbunk bedsfemale dormplug socketscommunal areasbackpacker hostela fantastic place to stayfree bikesminute walk to the beachstayed here for nightswifi is freesliding door
Updating list...
31 - 35 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

I've recently spent the past two months staying at Salwater Lodge and I wouldn't stay at another hostel. Its a spacious, clean and well equipped hostel, with a great social vibe and nice common area. The friendly managers and good lay out means you'll not...More

Thank kerryandrachel
Response from lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater LodgeResponded 8 May 2016

Dear Kerry, We would like to thank you for your amazing review and the time sharing your experience with travelers. We are thrilled that you had great time staying with us and that you went back to travel with lots of memories from Paihia. We...More

Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here up for 4 nights and everything was perfect! The rooms are very big and clean, there is a big balcony where you can relax with your friends or just enjoying sitting in the sun. At the evening you can go to pubs, which...More

Thank marc_2096
Response from lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater LodgeResponded 12 April 2016

Dear Marc, we want to thank you for commenting our Lodge so highly. It is our priority to make all of our guests happy and make them feel like home. Therefore we are glad to hear that you had a good time. We wish you...More

Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

This is an amazing hostel!! Right from the beginning the customer service was great when I wasn't sure if I was staying 2 nights or 3. I was able to pay for my first 2 nights and then come back to pay for my third...More

1  Thank Sadiedude
Response from lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater LodgeResponded 7 April 2016

Dear Sadiedude, We appreciate you took the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at our Lodge. It sounds like you had a fabulous stay with us and we can't thank you enough for all your kind words about your experience. We wish...More

Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

I could use the Saltwater Lodge Wifi free of charge without staying there, when the Wifi where I stayed didn't work properly. Thank you very much, Rohit, it was really very very kind of you! And it worked perfectly. Can only recommend your Lodge as...More

Thank Gertrud S
Response from lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater LodgeResponded 3 April 2016

Thank you for sharing your nice review. We are happy that we were able to assist you. We are very pleased that based on your experience you would recommend others to stay in our Lodge. Kind Regards Lenka & Rohit

Reviewed 30 March 2016

There aren't enough good things to say about this hostel. The staff was very helpful with the wifi and they were incredibly friendly. The rooms were very comfortable and I enjoyed every minute of it. It was a short walk to the beach and the...More

Thank Nick B
Response from lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater LodgeResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for choosing us for your stay and your delightful review. We are pleased to know that your stay was enjoyable. We are glad that our guests have pleasant experience and nice memories on Bay of Islands. We wish you safe travels around New...More

View more reviews
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Room amenities
Price range
USD 37 - USD 93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Kitchenette
Price range
USD 37 - USD 93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (1)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Saltwater Lodge staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Third floor above the kitchen"
Read review
"Book early"
Read review
"Choose the 2nd level, the rooms are larger!"
Read review
"Room 9 is the furtherest away from the road and bars, and also the communal lounge which can get noisy too."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing