We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Show Prices
#15 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 365: English reviews
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Wonderful location on the Paihai seafront and very close to all the local amenities. The Reception staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient but the swimming pool was not heated !!! However, there were shortcomings with the housekeeping staff. We stayed for 5 nights and the sheets were not changed once and some days we were not left with enough...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eric M
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback I am sorry that housekeeping lapsed during your stay and will ensure matter is brought to their attention on the importance of long stay bookings. Swimming pool is solar heated so still a little bit on the chilly side until the warm summer arrives.

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

This as I've said before in the previous reviews is my 2nd home and such a simple way now to get WiFi I couldn't be happier. Always stay in a corner suite in the 400 block and very happy with all aspects of the Hotel-----cleanliness------service-----comfortability-----location above everything. Keep up the good work and I have no reason to complain anymore-----the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trisha826
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am happy to see we have rectified past concerns you had with the hotel and we look forward to seeing you back in 2017.

sonoma, CA
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room is huge but in this day and age, wireless internet should be available in the entire room, not just in the lobby. Even then, we were charged. I also had to go up to the bar to order food from the A la carte menu. Come on, I'm not training your staff! if you do not want to offer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jojosonoma
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to see we let you down in some areas. Our wifi is available throughout our entire property including our rooms and guest areas so I am unsure why reception staff did not explain this on your arrival, we also have an option for unlimited wifi which also should have been explained by...

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a room with 2 double beds, awesome clean room. Our room was located close to reception and the pool which was handy. Everyone was very friendly, pool is great and has a little smaller area off to the side for the younger ones. Room had everything we needed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vjm87
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback lovely to see we catered for your family requirements

Sydney
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a room that was directly across from the water, with an amazing view. spacious rooms, large balcony. decent facilities, but nice and close to the town centre and plenty of dining options there. got bitten by some weird insects in the room though, which i had 2 months after I left there. Drs in Australia had no idea...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mia W
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your review as for the insects that has us stumped as well without actually seeing the insect I suspect it was a sandfly which is quite common in this area with hotel being located close to the ocean. I will however contact our pest control to come our view the suites to see if they can sight...

Sittingbourne
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A friendly hotel,offers free wifi for a limited period and then chargeable after 30mins. the Bay of Islands in amazing and the people are wonderful. The hotel has a hot tub that guests can use and an small outdoor heated swimming pool. Buffet breakfast available from 6:30am and they have happy hour in the bar each night. Rooms had double...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rkemsley
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Delft, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Starting with the good/great: the view, especially from the restaurant. My thanks to the breakfast coordinator (lady whose name I can't remember) for reserving a table for me next to the window (even without having asked). The room is ok, matrasses slightly soft. Tv channels offer is limited, but I don't need to watch much to. There was no cheese...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank etjoset
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Hotel is currently looking at replacing mattresses in next years maintenance budget. WIFI is set at a national level with other alternatives available for guest to access the free unlimited WIFI I will discuss with the Front Office staff why this is not been given as an option to guest.

Queanbeyan
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms were cosy and close to coffee shops and restaurants but it does have a restaurant so only a short stroll to get a good coffee or gift shops free parking onsite and across the road from the water, what else could you ask for

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ricki475
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback

Benfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a motel like hotel. It was right on the waterfront and we had a sea view if we stood on the balcony we could see he sea. The room was large enough for us with twin beds which were so big we both slept in the same one. The room was clean and well maintained throughout our stay....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bill A
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night, as we were driving from Auckland to Cape Reinga. We got to Paihia well before our check in, and were told we could certainly park in the facility. That was great help. There is a beautiful pool, a restaurant, a gym, and a little games room. The rooms were tidy and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 56kristinr
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.8 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
402 reviews
0.0 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.1 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
546 reviews
0.3 km away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the waterfront and only 100 metres from Paihia wharf and township the Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia is the ideal base from which to explore the scenic and historic Bay of Islands area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Address: 104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: $119 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia Bay Of Islands, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Paihia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Auckland Region, New Zealand
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Suites in the 400 block----yes they are dearer but if coming for a few days stay well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles Trisha826, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Only two storey building and the sea is just outside the door”
 of 5 bubbles Rkemsley, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A backpackers next door on the left side can be a little noisy on Sat night These are the 200 numbered rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Camro58, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“suite rooms look out to the sea”
 of 5 bubbles waruwhaanga, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with sliding doors easier to access car.”
 of 5 bubbles kitten16, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay