We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Albatross Motel

Expedia.comUSD 75*
View Deal
#11 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Albatross Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

553 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 544: English reviews
Start your review of Albatross Motel
 Click to rate
Masterton, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Richard welcomed us warmly, showed me to Unit 11 and he turned on the wall heater, needed on this autumnal afternoon. A basic studio apartment, but well-maintained, with instant hot-water heaters supplying sinks and shower. A comfortable double-bed, plus a single. Two leather armchairs, easily movable for TV viewing. The small electric fan-heater was appreciated by my wife as her...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donald S
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

The unit is very nice and clean with a fairly decent sized double bed. Bit cold to start off with but once the heaters take effect, it is very nice and cosy. The hosts are very good and very quick to respond to any queries

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed K
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Only stayed 1 night as needed and it was very "value for money" Usually you swap cheaper for conditions but this was very neat and tidy and did everything we needed for a 1 night stay .I would still recommend this motel for a longer stay but stay on the 2nd floor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neville P
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a lovely weekend staying in Napier with my dog. Great to be able to access so many good dog walking spots and great cafes. Ahuriri is a fantastic spot for people watching and great food. Did lots of mini trips to city centre and Marine Parade - all less than 5 mins away.The unit had everything I needed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank msjlgillam
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Chose this motel for its dog friendly policy and trip advisor ratings, there arnt a lot of motels that allow dogs so massive points to these guys for that, however, be warned. The studio unit we were in was clean and tidy but very small and very basic. The so-called queen size beds were more like dbles and only 1...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karla n
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review

We were sorry that you were disappointed. The problem here was that you booked the cheapest room option and a room that was clearly only designed for 2 people, maximum 3 people and then brought 4 of you and a dog. No wonder it seemed cramped. The standard queen sized bed would have seemed small, since 3 of you slept...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For three adults and a teenager this was most cost effective. Convenience store in the same block and nice walks from the unit. Good kitchen facilities and bathroom was actually a full wet room providing very easy access. Instant hot water system had a few quirks but very minor and easy to learn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RogerFairclough
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. regards Helen and Nigel

vancouver island
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location near estuary, wonderful places to eat at the harbor. Could not walk to Napier though , no grocery store within walking distance, little corner store around the block but didnt find anything there I needed. Very clean, everything you need but the shower was awful, no water pressure and in the bathroom so everything gets wet. Parking was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VancouverIslandSamW
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. regards Helen and Nigel

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very comfortable, clean motel just over the road from the lovely salt marsh in Napier with its many birds - in one short walk we saw herons, spur-winged plovers and goldfinches to name a few. The bed was very comfortable. Some traffic noise, yes, but the motel hosts offer ear-plugs for guests who might find that a nuisance, The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MRS565
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay. We apologised at the time and do so again regarding the mix up with the room servicing. Our housekeeper had misunderstood you when you said that you didn't require some parts of the room service and thought you did not want one at all. regards Helen and Nigel

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good tidy accommodation in a handy, central location with all the facilities you need. Easy parking, attentive hosts with the bonus of free wifi and access to 50+ Sky channels. Only downside is being able to hear trucks very early in the morning due to main road location. Otherwise great motel - I would choose to stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristine J
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Being by a main road has many advantages, hence the majority of motels are located on these roads, but the downside is the traffic sometimes. We do offer earplugs for sensitive people to use, but hardly anyone takes us up on the offer, so maybe the...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was comfortable, clean and well-equipped, with a pleasant view as a bonus. The owners replaced a faulty microwave and toaster straight away. The bed was comfortable and the heating worked well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn B
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately some of the appliances just 'give up' randomly or the toasters frequently suffer from people poking knives in to get the stuck piece of toast out and break the delicate elements and we usually don't know about it until it is reported to...

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.5 km away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
3.8 km away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
566 reviews
3.3 km away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
767 reviews
1.4 km away
The Crown Hotel Napier
3.9 km away
Fern Motel
Fern Motel
#18 of 47 in Napier
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation proud to have scored 9.5/10 on Target TV, Unlimited Free Wifi, Guest Select 50+ TV Channels to choose from, 200m to the beach and overlooking the estuary. Range of room types to suit a variety of requirements and budgets. Refurbished rooms, Swimming pool and spa.You are guaranteed a warm welcome and friendly service at The Albatross. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Albatross Motel

Address: 56 Meeanee Quay | Westshore, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Price Range: $97 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albatross Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Albatross Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatross Hotel Napier
Albatross Motel Napier
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Napier
#4 Business Hotel in Napier
#6 Family Hotel in Napier
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#11 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Albatross Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Unit 12 is fully "accessible" for handicapped clients.”
230donalds, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Close all the windows when it is howling (windy) outside, we forgot and woke up in the middle of the night to close the windows properly”
mohammedk284, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor. We stayed on the lower floor and you could hear all happening above.”
464nevillep, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“We were upstairs, so got the view of the estuary.”
robynb831, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Very clean room and friendly owners-shared good information about what to see and do and restaurants”
Catherp2015, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 75* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUSD 94
PricelineUSD 78
Hotwire.comUSD 75
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates