We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hicks Bay Motel Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hicks Bay Motel Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hicks Bay Motel Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 281: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 October 2014

This is an older property. We stayed in a 1 bedroom Ocean View room which was slightly more expensive than a 1 bedroom self catering - strangely they were both identical! The rooms were very clean and we appreciated the generosity of towels and other amenities. Easy to self-cater if that is required. Lovely grounds and plenty of room to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lesley A
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review

Our head Housekeeper has been with the motel for twenty years. She takes pride in her work and she deserves to be recognised online. Thank you for stating this online and contributing to her success.

Te Puia Springs
Reviewed 10 October 2014

The Hicks bay motel is set in a magnificent location on the hill overlooking Hicks Bay to the historic wharf. The rooms are basic but comfortable and clean and the views are amazing The staff were helpful and the hotel includes a restaurant and a shop that sells alcohol.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dan R
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review

We have been here fifty years and will be here in another fifty years preserved and ready to offer a classic chunk of New Zealand to all traveller who need a good nights sleep. You rock online.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 9 October 2014

Perfect place to break the trip around the cape. Wonderful location, basic accommodation, very friendly staff, spotless throughout, the lounge is a great place to strike up a conversation with other guests.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gise70
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review

Gee we love your comments and the staff are all aware of how important it is to have an independent online comment like yours. Thank you for your time online.

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 September 2014

We had a very friendly and enthusiastic greeting from the lady on reception when we arrived on a very wet Sunday afternoon with no booking. No need to worry though as there didn't seem to be any others staying. Our room was a blast from the past, very basic but clean and comfortable. We enjoyed a couple of games of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Meandhim566
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review

Fortunately we have this new ability as humans to read through the lines and pick and choose what is truth and what is not online. We often have happy guests who scratch their head and wonder why some guests write what they do. Hicks Bay All Day.

Whakatane, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 September 2014

Nice clean room we had an awesome view, a lovely young Mexican lady was so helpful and friendly with a smile every time we saw her. We ate in the restaurant every night and we left every night happily full and satisfied (good meals).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorraine206
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review

We have many guests who stay three days or more just to collect the visual sensations from the colours on the coast. Thank you for staying with us and providing your time online.

Parksville, BC
Reviewed 10 September 2014

This motel is really the only game in town, but it is a classic New Zealand motel with 1960s charm, and close to everything in Hicks Bay (which is nothing). It is perched out towards the end of East Cape on a road that even most New Zealanders have not driven. If you are looking for luxury or nightlife, Hick's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy_Two_Socks
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review

We offer steady three star accommodation. For luxury one might choose TeKaha or Gisborne. Thank you for your honest comments.

Cromwell, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 September 2014

Hicks Bay Motel rooms are tidy, clean and well maintained. This property has very friendly staff who look after our groups well. The highlight is the wonderful location - you cant beat it for a laid back trip

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimmyb662014
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review

We take all comments seriously and we strive to Welcome every guest properly. Thank you for your time online.

Reviewed 27 August 2014

When we arrived the TV would not work,the shower water tap gave either very hot water or Ivey cold water. The bed had been made with the electric blanket on the wrong end of the bed. The evening meal was OK but breakfast was terrible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimruth
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review

We have a lot of fun at Hicks Bay. We love the guests and perhaps this is amusing at times. Thank you for your personal comments.

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at Hicks Bay for one night in July 2014. It was a great place to stay. Good location and friendly staff. The restaurant was perfectly adequate - not fancy food but we did not have 5 star expectations. Would recommend staying there

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel119
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review

We represent our community and the motel is a product of those that live around us. This area has been protected and kept free from commercialisation. No signage -- means for self exploration while on the coast.

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Although the whole site was very dated the meals, accommodation and service was of an average standard. If anyone else is considering doing a 2 day motorcycle ride around the east coast this is the perfect place for an overnight stop so long as you are not looking for luxurious top end accommodation. Even though the prices seem high for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 58steve2014
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review

We can only see the good in Hicks Bay when we receive comments like yours. Thank you for your time online.

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
121.4 km away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#7 of 27 in Gisborne
254 reviews
121.9 km away
Waikanae Beach Motel
Waikanae Beach Motel
#16 of 27 in Gisborne
41 reviews
120.3 km away
Colonial on Gladstone
Colonial on Gladstone
#17 of 27 in Gisborne
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
123.1 km away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#1 of 27 in Gisborne
184 reviews
121.9 km away
Waikanae Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
121.9 km away
Beachcomber Motel
Beachcomber Motel
#11 of 27 in Gisborne
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
...where the morning sun first meets the horizon...1960s Kiwiana - defining what it is to be Kiwi. Set on a 14 acre bluff, 250 meters above sea level, in historic and botanical protected -- unspoiled -- countryside. where peace and tranquility abound. Overlooking the beautiful Hicks Bay Waterways 40 rooms with 175 person total capacity. AMENITIES. Outdoor Swimming Pool. Bush walks. Restaurant -- 60 person seating capacity. Breakfast and Dinner prepared by Maori chef with freshly prepared sauces, vegetables - served homestyle. Shop and Bottle Store. Internet access, Payphone, and Guest laundry. Playground and Pool Table. Glowworm Grotto and Rock Fishing. East Cape Maritime Lighthouse accessible to the public, 35km.Located midway between Opotiki and Gisborne on the Pacific Coast Highway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hicks Bay Motel Lodge

Address: 5198 Te Araroa Road, Gisborne, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Price Range: $122 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hicks Bay Motel Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hicks Bay Motel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hicks Bay Hotel Gisborne
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Gisborne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hicks Bay Motel Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hicks Bay Motel Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“great view but choose one with its own kitchen and take your own food rather rather eat in the restuarant”
 of 5 bubbles nzmarkb, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“units closest to the sea have outside decks and views”
 of 5 bubbles , 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get one of the front units with best sea views”
 of 5 bubbles jamesk631, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Find another motel”
 of 5 bubbles 394BrianB, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room with an ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles LizB442, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5