We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

SKYCITY Hotel

Show Prices
#12 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
SKYCITY Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,713 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for SKYCITY Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,567: English reviews
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights in a Deluxe Room. Hotel is centrally located with good restaurants nearby. Fairly generic room fit out, no outlook as such as its in the CBD, could do with some warmth but was well laid out, spacious and well equipped. Service was highly professional, and free wifi was speedy

Helpful?
Thank happydaysSydney
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear happydaysSydney Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We appreciate all forms of feedback and your positive and constructive comments are very helpful in allowing us to improve on areas our guests feel we may be lacking. I am delighted however that you were able to have an enjoyable stay here with... More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was visiting Auckland for a company event and stayed overnight. The Good The hotel is easy to find. If you are outside just look for the sky tower and you know what direction to go.: Even arriving with a large party the check in was quick and efficient and took just minutes. The elevators to the rooms are just a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robin B
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robin B I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor of your recent visit to SKYCITY Hotel. I am pleased to learn that your check in process and room were to your expectations and that you were able to have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We are so very fortunate to... More 

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place does the trick if you want a clean, comfortable place to stay in Auckland. I can't speak for the restaurants as we were room only. The shower was really strong and easy to operate. My one complaint is I hate sleeping in hermetically sealed bedrooms!! I want the option of having a window that opens and allows in... More 

Helpful?
Thank moxxy-girl
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear moxxy-girl Thank you so much for taking the time to post your lovely review of Trip Advisor of your recent stay here with us. I am pleased that you had a wonderful stay and I do hope that our team here were able to assist in making your stay successful. Regarding your concerns on sealed rooms we do have... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Scrupulously clean, large comfy bed and facilities for the disabled traveller. If I'd been on holiday I'd have taken advantage of complimentary casino chips and wi fi and watched people jump off the sky tower.... instead I went to a great conference at the conference centre joined by a sky bridge on level 3. SO convenient!

Helpful?
Thank leoniew5558
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear leoniew5558 Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to provide us with your lovely feedback on Trip Advisor of your recent stay with us. Here at SKYCITY we are so very fortunate to be apart of such a large establishment to which provide our guests whether here on business or leasure with such convenience. I... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The checkin process was extremely poor with mudded booking information, poor understanding of English by the checkin receptionist. This was noted in feedback to the hotel after our stay but have had no feedback or comment from managers. Not good enough for front line staff for guests who just want to get into their room. Problem with aircon failure and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SpiegsB
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SpiegsB I would like to first and foremost apologise for the disappointing experience you had with us recently. In regards to the concerns you have shared on the lack of customer service provided to you during check in, this is not at all the standard that we wish to uphold or encourage of our team. If you could please... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a pleasant stay here and can boast a casino just below our room. Very clean and tidy but can't help feeling the hotel rooms show their age. We could hear people speaking in the next room. Air conditioning is slow to react and the control module keeps blanking out, while toilets don't have dual flush (something which has... More 

Helpful?
Thank respect2014
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear respect2014 Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with very honest feedback as it is only through feedback that we can improve on services, standards and areas our guests feel we are lacking. I am disappointed that your time here with us we did not meet your expectations, however we appreciate the concerns you have... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a nice hotel at the heart of Auckland city. It's near to many areas we wanted to explore so that was great. We drove so there was parking charges to consider. As a guest, you get $25 off the overnight charges of $50 so that wasn't too bad. It's a regular hotel so don't expect excesses. We love... More 

Helpful?
Thank summerydawn
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear summerydawn Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review up of your recent stay here with us at SKYCITY Hotel. I am thrilled to learn that you had a wonderful stay here with us and took great advantage of our central location. Here at SKYCITY we are so very fortunate to not only... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband and I had a most restful night at this hotel. The room was spotless and the beds were soooo comfortable. The staff were so friendly and helpful too. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family and in fact, anyone. We intend to stay again next month

Helpful?
Thank tutapuitipathearn
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tutapuitipanthearn I would firstly like to share my gratitude for the lovely review you have posted up of your recent stay here with us at SKYCITY Hotel. I am thrilled that your time here with us you were able to have an amazing relaxing time. I do hope that you got all that you expected from staying here with... More 

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A great place to stay provided you don't mind paying that bit more for service. Friendly staff from your arrival to departure. Excellent room with a huge King size (plus) bed. The room is clean and maintained daily. They also have a safe in your room to enable you to store your valuables with peace of mind. An excellent breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Russell N
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Russell N Thank you very much for your lovely review of your recent stay here with us at SKYCITY Hotel. I am absolutely thrilled that your recent stay was an enjoyable and comfortable stay. Here at SKYCITY we strive to provide our guests with the most exceptional service to ensure that our guests have an equally exceptional stay. I... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The bed is so big and comfortable I can just wander into the room and crash. Having a desk to put the laptop on is great and the wifi is good but not blazingly fast. A couch to read and relax on. The bathroom is good but I personally don't like showering in a bath. The TV is good as... More 

Helpful?
Thank donhF1469WZ
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear donhF1469WZ, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your lovely review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to learn that our rooms were very beneficial to your stay here with us recently. I do hope that you were able to take great advantage of the conveniences of all the wonderful amenities we have to offer our... More 

480 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (451)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (100)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (111)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Other (162)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
2,221 reviews
0.6 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#7 of 68 in Auckland
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
3,618 reviews
0.4 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 68 in Auckland
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $207 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Family Hotel in Auckland
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from SKYCITY Hotel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from SKYCITY Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Most rooms don't have a good view, but its location is hard to beat.”
 of 5 bubbles darrenhO7899WQ, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Views better from the higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles leoniew5558, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“H1 would be a good level to suggest”
 of 5 bubbles KarleyKat, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Do you homework before visiting”
 of 5 bubbles zoes76, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room with renovated bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles YvonneTA, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay