We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

VR Auckland City

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for VR Auckland City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 994: English reviews
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Just as the title says, this hotel had everything we needed for our 3 nights' stay. Location is great, walking distance to Queen street area and public transport options including the airport express bus. The room was clean, well equipped with… kitchen appliances, even a washing machine. Free wifi connection was provided to ensure communication with those we had to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tnorby
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear tnorby Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience and happy to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Great rooms, Great price, Great location. Take care and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 19 December 2013

good location within city. close to most of public transport. rooms were well services with all necessary things........ enjoyed my stay with family.Room clean also bathroom large. light breakfast was also provided.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atif S
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Atif S Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel.We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Room was very functional with kitchen including washer/dryer, which we did not use. The breakfast provided was in the fridge when we checked in and was enough for both of us the next morning. It is walking distance to restaurants, etc.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elsie H
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Elsie H Thank you for your review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your short stopover with us as we enjoyed looking after you. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The day we arrived to the hotel the staff at the check in desk were so helpful. We booked a 2 bed-roomed apartment. When we went to the apartment, I noticed in my room there was a huge dead moth under the curtain, which goes out onto the balcony. Showing that maybe the room wasn't hoovered properly the last time...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lissahhh
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear lissahhh Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. Firstly we do apologize for the dead moth you found in your room, it properly flew in through the open window or balcony door by us to get some fresh air. We do apologize we were fully...

manchester
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Had a great stay for 5 days.Room clean also bathroom large.There was washerdryer which we put to good use as we had just come of a cruse,we had trouble with washer did not dry but got a room maide to dry washing for us,thry said it must be broken.also stove oven microwave and dishwasher.You get each night put in your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david1474
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear david1474 Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed at Auckland City Oaks earlier this week where we found a few things not working in the room we were staying in. Some of these things were covered in feedback form we completed, such as: sticky floor, not vacuumed carpet, bits and pieces of rubbish on the floor, lights not working and the most inconvenient of all a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank APTravels000
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. We pride ourselves in offering a high level of service. I am very disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay.We do apologize for our in-room washer/dryer (self-service facility) was not...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights here at the start of our North Island trip. It's a nice, clean hotel and good value for money. The included light continental breakfast (delivered to the room the night before) is a bonus for travellers on the move. Our room had a little balcony with views over the city to the harbour in the distance....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KAOSabroad
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear KAOSabroad Thank you so much for your glowing review, we truly appreciate it. We are so glad to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Great rooms, Great service, Great location – there are no properties in Auckland that can match what we offer with complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. It is wonderful to know that...

Koloa, Hawaii
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Auckland City Oaks during the first week of November and it was my first time ever I'm Auckland. Pros; Hotel was cheap and right in the center of the city which was very nice having. The hotel had a fairly nice continental breakfast delivered to the room the night before. Nothing to get full over but it was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank HIgummie
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we've stayed at City Oaks and once again it's been excellent value for money. The rooms are clean and modern and if you book in advance you can get a room for around £50 a night which is far cheaper than anywhere else in Auckland City. The only things I would say is it's about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gavmountford
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear gavmountford It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are looking forward to welcome you back in March next year.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Hi there my partner an I stayed at the Auckland oaks last night I was really looking forward to our stay there in till Not long into staying there. Our TV had no sky channels I was charged 25 for parking but when I got there an read threw manual an it said 20 and vallet parking but there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blondie318
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Blondie318 Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. There are a number of issues raised in your feedback, i will pass on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address.

261 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (238)
Viewed
Room/Suite (94)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Other (71)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 km away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.6 km away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.5 km away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 66 in Auckland
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
1,199 reviews
0.5 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
661 reviews
1.4 km away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $128 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from VR Auckland City staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Newcastle
4 months ago

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from VR Auckland City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Non roadside facing room - though you cant hear much traffic with window closed”
JoEastMidlands, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“close to aminities”
chathurikak, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere”
johnwY9626MK, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“make sure it cleans”
B95_Junior, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher the floor the better the view”
314margieh, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5