We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel

Booking.comUSD 37*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 163*
USD 37*
Great Deal
USD 77*
USD 77*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

532 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 448: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

1 night was certainly all I could handle at nomads. The place stunk of feet and sweat. The bathrooms were repulsive, it smelt like urine- probably due to the fact that it was all over the floor. Lots of stalls were out of action as they had broken locks. Didn't dare to use the shower. Wifi was free until night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shu444
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed one night at Nomads to get to the airport in Auckland. It was ok. I got a fairly cheap bed in a twelve person dorm close to the bathrooms/showers, which were clean and spacious. Unfortunately being close to the bathrooms meant hearing the roaring hand dryer whenever someone wanted to dry their hands, very loud! There were not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not going back :) Uncomfortable bed, tiny lounge for such a big hostel, the same with the kitchen. The best part is the rooftop, and it was raining. The floor smelled like stinky feet. People are the reception were good though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Double bed with another bunk bed + bathroom. This was $150 a night for a single person. There was little more than a foot at the end of the bed into the bathroom. I don't know how 3 people could share this room. Wifi was only in the travel shop next door. No heating or air conditioning. Had a TV,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fran W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything is tidy as it should be. The bathrooms are nice and the view from the kitchen is very nice. Negative was the smell of the washing machines in the laundry. In the bathroom was a big puddle yesterday and the kitchen is to small for so many people. And no free wifi..... :(

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Horrid hostel, one of the worst I've stayed at. Rooms were so cramped, with four bunk beds in such a small room meant there was nowhere to put your bags or stuff once in there. Only one plug socket between 8 people as well so be sure to pack an extension cable. Kitchen was tiny for the amount of people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank callumtyson1
LauraFlaunty, Trainee GM at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey There, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your comments. I would like to apologise that your stay with us didn't live up to expectations. With regards to the rooms, we do offer luggage sized drawers underneath each bed which are also lockable, unfortunately there are occasions where guests decide not to use them and...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

clean, nice, friendly staff yet no free internet available but you can get connected to SPARK wifi from the main street. the kitchen gets really busy in the morning and after 5pm - a bit small for such a big hostel. during the weekend expect a lot of noise coming from the streets as the hotel is located directly in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petr Z
LauraFlaunty, Trainee GM at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey There, Thank you for leaving us your comments, we appreciate all feedback and it really helps us make improvements where due. I am super stoked to hear that the staff treated you well and I will pass this information along as they will be so pleased to ehar to. I am so sorry you weren't aware of our free...

Alberta
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Unfortunately, it was not a great stay at Nomads. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room, with 4 people, was incredibly hot and we had to open an window, but in doing so we could hear all the noise outside. It was a Saturday night, so very noisy all night long from the bars in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VoyageuseDeCanada
LauraFlaunty, Trainee GM at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey There, I am sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory, that is definitely not the feedback that we like to hear. We are located in the heart of the CBD so unfortunately we are surrounded by the hustle and bustle of downtown Auckland. I do hope you made your concerns aware to our 24 hour reception...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Relatively clean - front counter staff was kind of knowledgeable - beds were clean, mattress very average (I stayed at Nomad's Auckland, Wellington and Queenstown and they were fairly crappy in each one). I would've appreciated more hostel-specific amenities like electrical outlets/powerpoints next to each bed, a light/lamp by each bed, a mini locker by each bed, little shelf etc....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
LauraFlaunty, Trainee GM at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey There, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your comments. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay but I am disappointed it was not as comfortable as it could have been, but thank you for letting us know your thoughts, I will take all points on board and hope to use them to make the necessary...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed here 3 different times, and none of them was fantastic. Every single room smelled pretty gross (like sweat and dirty feet). The beds are pretty much always squeaky, and if you have the bottom bunk you can't even sit up on it because the bed above is way too low. Also, the first time I stayed there, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rsmi7428
LauraFlaunty, Trainee GM at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey There, I am sorry that on all 3 occasions that you had a bad time. I do hope that you came down and highlighted your discomfort to our 24 hour reception team, we would have definitely gone above and beyond to ensure that your issues were seen to, we would have had housekeeping make up the room and have...

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 km away
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
0.2 km away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#39 of 67 in Auckland
2,064 reviews
0.4 km away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#55 of 113 in Auckland
143 reviews
1.3 km away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#21 of 113 in Auckland
271 reviews
0.1 km away
Quest on Queen
Quest on Queen
#56 of 113 in Auckland
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Backpack in style at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel. We're located in a beautiful historic building in downtown Auckland, near everything you need for your stay in this fantastic city. Come stay at our stylish, upmarket hostel in the central city, We have some female-only dorms as well as mixed dorms and private rooms! We have great facilities, with a friendly atmosphere and crew who will cater to your every whim. Our travel staff were hand-picked to ensure you will have a trip to remember!We're in an awesome downtown Auckland location, close to Vector Arena, Skytower, Viaduct Harbour, the train station and all the downtown shops - it's the perfect place to stay in Auckland. Our facilities include 24-hour reception, Global Gossip internet and Wi-Fi, and a rooftop kitchen with panoramic views of the city and harbour. We have free tea and coffee, free travel advice (no booking fees) and free 2-for-1 drinks vouchers at check-in. Hang out on our rooftop sundeck, communal kitchen or our lounge with Sky TV. Chill out in our free sauna and rooftop spa then head down to Fort Street Union Bar to meet travellers from all over the world. We put on free and cheap daily activities all around Auckland. FREE 30min WIFI each day. FREE Tea & Coffee FREE Sauna FREE Heated Spa FREE Travel advice (no booking fees) FREE/Cheap daily activities around Auckland ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel

Address: 16 - 20 Fort Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $25 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“convenient located”
, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“If you can avoid it, do not stay in the 12 share room and ask for a room not on Commerce street.”
Mikhayla_Bader17, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“try out the pool on the rooftop”
paulaL3701YC, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Mid floors are quieter.”
lizninfante, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The end shower (closest to the window) has a window ceil to put your belongings on so they don't get wet or sit on the floor.”
lisa92x, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 37* /night
View Deal
PricelineUSD 77
Orbitz.comUSD 77
AMOMAUSD 163
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates