We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Econo Lodge City Central

Expedia.comUSD 116*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 135*
USD 116*
USD 135*
USD 116*
USD 135*
USD 116*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 260: English reviews
Start your review of Econo Lodge City Central
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I read people's reviews and looked at photos before booking so knew what to expect. It was better. It was clean and central. Tiny room which is fine for one night. Drawback is the overpowering deodoriser which they drown the carpets in. Don't expect a lot when staying here and you won't be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 192holidaymaker
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Arrived to check in at the Econo Lodge Auckland to 1 of the concierge arguing with the cleaner, while we were trying to communicate with the concierge who was checking us in and it was very difficult to hear him. And not a very comforting welcome to guests. We had arranged for a late check out of 11am the following...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelYippey
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked 2 nights here but leaving after one.building is run down and over priced. Can't even open a window for fresh air. Old air con, awake at 3am and feel like I have throat cancer. Like everywhere in New Zealand they give you Barely any wifi, and it's super slow. Avoid like the plague

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
Econoldge c, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Central, responded to this review

Dear Michael Thank you for taking the time and doing a review for Econolodge City Central Hotel regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. I can see that you booked and stayed in a compact budget room. We do have larger rooms available,...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you want a budget hotel in downtown Auckland, this is ideal. Central to buses, trains, harbour, shopping, restaurants, etc. We found several local pubs within 2 blocks of the hotel. Easy to get to from the airport

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sdspring
Reviewed 24 March 2017

I had the misfortune of arriving when Justin Beiber came to town and everything was sold out. Econo Lodge was the last reasonably priced place left within Auckland (I still paid double the normal rate). Rooms were clean and it was easy to get around from this location. Definitely a 'get the job done' kind of establishment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liam L
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Booked for 2 nights with special discount via Expedia, a good budget option and walking distance to center city, Queens Street. However, the room is very small area and i have no choice but to let my luggage to share the bed with me. But the room is clean, and the wifi is fast. Staff at the front desk are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anderson C
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

We had a booking to stay for a concert. On the day of arrival we were phoned to say the card was declined despite a pre-purchase booking. We tried another card which had plenty of credit but were still told it was declined. The receptionist (I assume) then became very rude and abusive to my wife and had her in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shane M
Econoldge c, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Central, responded to this review

Dear Guest On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. As you explained yourself, this booking was made by you using pre-purchased method, which is it will be charged prior to your arrival, but the credit card was declined, as per the contract when you pre puchase, if the credit card...

Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Very tiny room-way too small for 2 people with a suitcase each. Bathroom was substandard. Sheets had some small dried blood stains- we were too tired when we got there to have them changed and were out touring the entire next day. We told reception at checkout. The only good thing about it was the central location.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joan m
Econoldge c, Public Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Central, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. I saw that you booked a small compact budget room, we do have other room types available, which are larger. If you would...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 14 March 2017

The Econo-Lodge was as advertised, a good budget option in the center of Auckland. The room was tiny, but clean, and the bed was comfortable. There is no AC, but I found a working fan in the closet that I used for light air flow. The staff was friendly and efficient. Wifi was limited to 30 free minutes per day,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Greg M
Whanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Had a double room, this was great for someone on their own. Rooms were clean & adequate for what we wanted, as staying in Auckland for a girls weekend. Really central, handy to everything we needed. Staff were excellent, really friendly. I had room that faced onto the street, this was a little noisey, so would suggest asking for a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mw66

211 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (14)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (137)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
One Double Bed (19)
Viewed
One King Bed, Business Room (19)
Viewed
One King Bed, Superior Room (26)
Viewed
One Queen Bed (19)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)
Viewed
Two Single Beds (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
661 reviews
0.3 km away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.3 km away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 66 in Auckland
654 reviews
3.0 km away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland
87 reviews
0.7 km away
Ascotia off Queen
Ascotia off Queen
#54 of 66 in Auckland
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Econo Lodge City Central

Address: 37 Wellesley Street | Corner Wellesley & Albert Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly City Central Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $81 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Econo Lodge City Central 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Central Auckland
Hotel City Central
Econo Lodge City Central Auckland, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge City Central staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Sydney, Australia
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
3 months ago
Montreal, Canada
3 months ago
San Diego, California
5 months ago
Perth, Australia

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge City Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room didn't have normal windows but a weird ceiling vent with sunlight coming through so don't be surprised if you get that.”
liaml411, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room that is not facing onto the street”
mw66, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“T/he internal room was fine but if you want room facing the exterior make sure to ask at the desk.”
WingerJack, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not all rooms have windows or AC. we had one room with only a sky light. I think the AC rooms may be quieter than non-AC rooms.”
hannahw597, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't book a compact room, especially if you lots of luggage with you.”
RaJSheffield, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 116* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 116
Orbitz.comUSD 116
TripAdvisorUSD 116
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates