We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kiwi International Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kiwi International Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

640 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kiwi International Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 531: English reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2015 via mobile

Room too noisy, the wall looks like paper!! The guy who served on breakfast was concerned on cellphone and facebook than serve us or look about the food. Shower doesn't work very well. Friendly guys from reception!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darlan S
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Our apologies on behalf of those inconsiderate guests that disturbed you. — the walls probably look like paper because they have wallpaper on them.

Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile

Good location in auckland with a really helpful tourdesk who gave us all sorts of ideas and places to visit during our stay in new zealand even though we didnt book anything with them. We had a issue with the bed as the mattress had a huge dent in it and on speaking to reception transferred and upgraded us to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We're pleased everything worked out fine for your stay. We have since replaced the offending mattress.

Jonkoping, Sweden
Reviewed 12 November 2015

To be honest, I didn't enjoy this place at all. The location is very central, so there is nothing at fault there, and the price was reasonable aswell. But the window in my room didn't shut properly, which meant I heard all the noises from the street, and the radiator wasn't working either, which resulted in two quite chilly nights,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alicegarnheim
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

We sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us although we feel that the points raised were somewhat trivial and could have been solved by speaking with reception. They would have provided you with a portable heater to boost the central heating as required. The luggage room is always locked and can only be opened by reception. We've never had...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 9 November 2015

We stayed at the Kiwi International Hotel as a base for our day trips- this place is great if you just need a place to sleep. We had one of the en-suites and it did the job- clean sheets, towels, basic toiletries and a kettle for hot drinks (tea/coffee provided). Hot shower was great. Bed was comfortable. When we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank toasted00
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks you for your great review. We think your comments sum us up well and hopefully will prove useful to other people visiting Auckland wanting value and a great central location.

Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Reviewed 5 November 2015

I have to say I enjoyed my short stay at this hotel, yes the rooms were quite small as was the bathroom, however the rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable, the free wireless was a bonus as well. This hotel is conveniently located short distance into the CBD, nice walks through Myers Park to Aotea Square. All in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kainga79
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We agree our rooms are small but offset by the standard, value and location. We're pleased you'd stay again and look forward to hosting you on your next Auckland visit.

Brisbane
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Stayed here for one night on arrival in NZ. Room was clean, cosy and suitable for a family of four but fairly basic. Main issue was at 1.30am in the morning an entire school hockey team arrived and woke everyone on the floor. Could have been handled better, but otherwise good for the price with close access to the CBD...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren H
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review — we're pleased it generally suited you. We do apologise on behalf of those inconsiderate guests who disturbed you.

Reviewed 16 October 2015 via mobile

Price determined this hotel choice. The single room was small (as shown on the website) and on the shabby side but clean. Staff were friendly and efficient. A shared bathroom meant a walk along the corridor and sharing with several rooms. Bathrooms were segregated. Downside - No hot showers whilst I was there and a definite odour in the bedroon....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn L
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. This guest chose one of our single Economy Rooms (most of our rooms are Standard Ensuites). We agree they are basic but are unquestionably the best value private hotel room available in central Auckland to solo visitors and travelers. Although bathroom facilities are shared they have a small desk, vanity wash basin, tea & coffee making...

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 12 October 2015

I booked (on line) one night at this hotel as I decided to stop over in Auckland on my way to visit family in Australia. It was inexpensive, clean, and simple, as well as being downtown and within walking distance to everything I wanted to visit. As well, the front desk folks gave me a great room with a visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. Your review sums us up nicely... "inexpensive, clean, and simple, as well as being downtown and within walking distance to everything".

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 October 2015

I stayed in a single room suite for a week. The location of this hotel is awesome. Although, the bathrooms and toilets are shared for the single rooms, they are quite clean and well maintained. Housekeeping is regular. There is good wi-fi connection available all over the hotel. The staff is very polite and friendly. The front office managers -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arinndam
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay so much. This guest stayed in one or our Economy Rooms with shared facilities which are ideal if you're on a tight budget but most of our rooms are Ensuite which all have ensuites and a greater range of facilities.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 21 September 2015

I stayed here for an overnight stay between flights and it really suited my needs. It was great value for money. The bed was small but the room had a window which looked over a nice garden area and I loved how it had a closet size bathroom. Would have been perfect if it had had a fridge but I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lizziebethw
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. Good to hear it suited you well, tat you found it "great value for money" and enjoyed the excellent location. Thanks also for the really positive mention of the staff.

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (123)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.8 km away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 68 in Auckland
307 reviews
2.3 km away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 68 in Auckland
638 reviews
2.1 km away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 68 in Auckland
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
1.6 km away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.1 km away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 68 in Auckland
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Quiet yet centrally located and of a size to provide the facilities that modern travellers expect while retaining a sense of comfort & friendliness. We offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city - free wi-fi, free baggage storage, no surcharge credit card payment and friendly 24/7 reception & service. Some parking is available on a "first come first serve" basis. Spaces are not guaranteed and cannot be reserved. Ideal for travellers and groups seeking quality, value and location. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance - Skytower, Skycity, Aotea Square, Viaduct Basin, the central business district, 'K' Road, theatres, restaurants, universities & tertiary institutions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $70 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kiwi International Hotel staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Kiwi International Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not your best hotel option for the money.........”
 of 5 bubbles 433josephl, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are noisy and access either the street or the parking lot. I don't think there are any good rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Yollaine2, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stayed on 3rd floor which was nice and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 336RichardB, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't take room 118 or any other room close to the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles kshultz10, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are noisy. The best part was leaving!”
 of 5 bubbles garylX511WR, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5