Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Grand by SkyCity

90 Federal St, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010 New Zealand
Traveller (1148)
Grand Hotel Details
Room & Suite (931)
Sammy's Place at the SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Dining (65)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
AU$222
Get rewarded with One Key
AU$247
AU$202
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#14 of 71 hotels in Auckland Central
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Evening entertainment
Babysitting
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Nightclub / DJ
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Arabic and 2 more

Location

90 Federal St, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010 New Zealand
3,204Reviews62Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,873
  • 922
  • 273
  • 93
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Grant R wrote a review Mar 2020
Mosman, Australia500 contributions101 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at The Grand many times over the years… but my last stay would have been around 2008. Age has caught up with The Grand, the skirting boards could do with a paint, TVs could be increased in size, and USB ports could be retrofitted. But overall, I still enjoyed this property. The rooms have both a bath and a shower, beds are comfortable, and complimentary water, fast wifi and Nespresso coffee continue to impress me.

The Depot and the Federal Delicatessen are right next door, and allow you to charge back meal costs to your room. A great convenience, particularly as both produce excellent breakfasts/lunches/dinners. So no need to roam far for great food.

The gym wasn’t that inspiring, but large enough. I managed a quick run on the machines.

At the end of the day, I’m still a big fan of The Grand.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RuthWhitley, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand by SkyCity
Responded 11 Mar 2020
Hi 9rant, It is always a pleasure to welcome back our return guests to The Grand and we truly appreciate you taking the time to share your valuable feedback. I can assure you feedback, like yours, is always taken on and has definitely given us some areas to focus on. I am delighted you continue to be a big fan of The Grand, and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Ruth Whitley Guest Relations Executive
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacintha Okan wrote a review June 2020
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As we only had one night in Auckland City, my partner and I decided to treat ourselves to a night at the Grand. Upon entering you know you're in for a treat, everything is opulent and beautifully aesthetic. Our room was gorgeous, had amazing views and plenty of space considering it was one of their smaller rooms. Mini bar was well stocked with goodies, bed was huge and super comfy too and the room had pretty much any amenity you could want. Handy to plenty of great restaurants, we chose Tony's Steak and seafood on this night which was a couple minutes walk around the corner. Buffet breakfast at Gusto on the ground floor was lovely too, great variety of food at a good price. All and all, a perfect night for us in the city and we loved every minute!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ruth Whitley, Guest Services / Front Office at The Grand by SkyCity
Responded 11 Aug 2020
Dear JacinthaOkan, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us at The Grand by SkyCity. It brings me great pleasure to hear you enjoyed our well equipped rooms, hotel facilities and the exceptional service from our friendly and helpful team, whom we are very proud of. Did you know our wonderful beds are available to purchase directly from the hotel? I do hope we are able to welcome you and your partner back to The Grand again soon for another outstanding stay. Warm Regards, Ruth Whitley Guest Relations Executive The Grand by SkyCity
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ppnindallas wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was clean and spacious. We were headed to the Australian Open in Austrailia and noticed a couple of the players were staying at the Grand on their way to Melbourne. The most notable was Serena Williams. In our experience, the hotel is pricey relative to other hotels based on the overall experience but it is a great great location with walkable places to eat, bars and casino in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RuthWhitley, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand by SkyCity
Responded 6 Feb 2020
Hi ppnindallas, Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we have a great location and our staff take pride in delivering exceptional service to our guests. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us at The Grand and hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, Ruth Whitley Guest Relations Executive
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
VikkiBPerth wrote a review Jan 2020
Perth, Australia51 contributions62 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The words Grand and Deluxe Room conjure up all sorts of luxurious expectations and at an average of $400 per night I certainly expected more. The room was clean and spacious but no luxuries in sight and a few maintenance issues which I will address with management directly. On the positives though the hotel staff are very friendly, room service was the quickest I’ve ever seen and I made sure to tip each time. Hotel is centrally located and walking distance to anywhere in the city including the harbour, however there is a large homeless group living next to the hotel which can make walks a little uncomfortable if you are travelling alone. Day Spa ok but I’ve been to many that were a lot better. Word of warning this hotel is a pit stop for older pepeople on their way to the large cruise ships docked at the harbour. I would avoid if you are looking for a luxury break.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RuthWhitley, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand by SkyCity
Responded 28 Jan 2020
Hi VikkiBPerth, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Grand Hotel, I would like to extend my apologies that your stay was not at the high standard we wish to deliver to our guests. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss your maintenance and other concerns further. Kind Regards, Ruth Whitley Guest Relations Executive ruth.whitley@skycity.co.nz
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Soozie wrote a review Oct 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand54 contributions63 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked in July and was phoned the day before checkin to tell me that I couldn't have the room that I had booked and paid for. To be fair after a long conversation and me sticking to my guns I did get the room. I found it extremely odd that the conversation began with ' I'm just checking to see that it's still ok to sleep 4 in a bed???? I should also mention here in fairness that it may have been my initial provider not stating that a twin was booked rather than a King. Two rollaways at $60 each per night?? Don't think so thanks. I repeat that the outcome was okay but the conversation shouldn't have been necessary.Okay so it's school holidays and the hotel has a pool and spa area so you expect children. But it may be wise for the hotel to consider making the last hour of opening childfree? 10 pm and the area is loaded with kids both in the pool and the spa. I spoke to one woman who was delighted to be there with her 5 kids as her sister was staying inhouse for the weekend so she was able to visit her and with her kids use the pool! Brea. Breakfast Mon-Fri would rate as the poorest I've had anywhere as only hot main offered-no cereals, toast and spreads, juice, fruit etc. Extremely curt Maitre'd who might be gently reminded that she needs people in her restaurant and that people do have a choice as to where they dine.For $25 extremely poor so go elsewhere. The weekend buffet however is much better. Would I stay here again? It would have to be an exceptional deal to persuade me.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ruth Whitley, Guest Services / Front Office at The Grand by SkyCity
Responded 16 Nov 2020
Dear Sooz608, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us. We take pride in excellent customer service, and on this occasion we have clearly failed to deliver. We take all guest feedback seriously, and I have discussed your comments with the team members concerned, as well as using your comments as a training tool with the rest of the team. In regards to your experience at Gusto, I have passed your comments along to the management team to review and address with their team directly. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Grand in the future, and I invite you to contact me directly next time you wish to stay in Auckland, so I can ensure your stay is more reflective of the high standards we aim to deliver. Warm Regards, Ruth Whitley Guest Relations Executive The Grand by SkyCity ruth.whitley@skycity.co.nz
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Harlz wrote a review May 2020
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first experience staying at The Grand.Upon arrival,we were pleasantly welcomed by a well groomed and we'll spoken valet/concierge who assisted and directed us towards the foyer/reception area.
The receptionist who then managed our check in(Mavis) was a pleasure to deal with,very informative and professional.
The room we stayed in was a KING deluxe and was very nice.
The facilities that The Grand provide eg:gym,pool etc were also great especially the level 7 outdoor area.
An overall fantastic experience, highly recommend and would definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RuthWhitley, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand by SkyCity
Responded 29 June 2020
Hi HHITMAN, Thank you for your wonderful review, I am pleased to hear you made the most of our facilities. Our staff pride themselves on delivering exceptional service to our guests, and I look forward to sharing your feedback with the team, in particular Mavis, who is a real asset to our team. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand in the near future. Warm Regards, Ruth Whitley Guest Relations Executive
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angus L wrote a review Oct 2022
Whangarei, New Zealand497 contributions122 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Not what it used to be. We were dissatisfied with the stay because on arrival our bathroom had not been cleaned properly, the shelf by the desk was dangling off the wall and we found a sign to say our room would not be serviced if we were staying two or more nights! The hall areas weren’t vacuumed the three nights we were there, debris all over the carpet. WTH at $350 each night for two nights and$500 for another this was ridiculous. The notice said we could request extra towels etc at reception should we need them. Room service was very slow. The valet service was flawless, polite, prompt and cheerful, worth the $55 per day. Reception was polite and said they would pass on our comments. We will think twice before staying again, it has always been our “go to” place, so we are disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ruth Ruddock, Guest Services / Front Office at The Grand by SkyCity
Responded 20 Oct 2022
Dear Leannel78 Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay with us. Guest experience is at the very heart of The Grand, and as such, I was disappointed to hear that certain aspects of the stay didn’t meet your expectations. Due to the current climate, we have had to make temporary adjustments to our housekeeping service, however, we have every intention of bringing back full servicing once we are able. Please be assured, I have shared your feedback with our management team to review and address, and we thank you for providing us the information we need to ensure we are always improving. Thank you once again for taking the time to provide this feedback, and I hope to welcome you back to The Grand by SkyCity soon. If I can please ask you to contact me directly, so I may know which room number you stayed in and ensure the issues in your room are resolved. Kind regards, Ruth Ruddock ruth.ruddock@skycity.co.nz Guest Relations The Grand by SkyCity
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Q2192TSianh wrote a review Oct 2020
Gisborne, New Zealand9 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent stay couldn't fault facilities and service. Although we had a problem with the TV and phone service we had it remedied by a change of room. Gusto breakfasts were first rate and the location and access to the city and casino sky tower and parking was easy.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ruth Whitley, Guest Services / Front Office at The Grand by SkyCity
Responded 16 Nov 2020
Hi Q2192TSianh, Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we are currently in the process of updating our phone and TV systems and I apologise this resulted in some minor issues. I am glad that our team were able to remedy this quickly and it did not affect the rest of your stay. I look forward to sharing your comments with the rest of the team and hope to welcome you back to The Grand again soon. Warm Regards, Ruth Whitley Guest Relations Executive The Grand by SkyCity
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alison503975 wrote a review Mar 2020
Grimsby, United Kingdom43 contributions55 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the Skycity Grand Hotel between the 15 and 17 February 2020 as part of a solo tour of New Zealand. I love Auckland and this was my second visit so I decided to splash out and stay at the best hotel. When i was shown my room I was so disappointed with the view that I took the hotels own brochure down to reception and explained that I had expected a view like the one shown in their brochure. My view was of brick walls and cranes whilst the brochure showed trees and city. The receptionist told me that the hotel was full (Elton John concerts) and she would move me to another side of the building-which she did. However this view was so far removed from what I had expected I was so disappointed with my stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RuthWhitley, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand by SkyCity
Responded 3 June 2020
Hi alison503975, I am truly sorry to hear that your expectations were not met during your stay with us at The Grand. Due to the continued construction around Auckland, for many different projects, cranes have temporarily become apart of our daily landscape. Please do let me know when you are next staying so I can ensure you are offered a room on an upper floor - I look forward to hearing from you! Kind Regards, Ruth Whitley Guest Relations Executive ruth.whitley@skycity.co.nz
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ZeeJ91 wrote a review June 2020
Wellington, New Zealand5 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Room did not meet quality of pictures, false advertising. Booked a "grand king room with harbour view" - a) don't know what their definition of a harbour view is and b) no bath in bathroom.
Also frustrating was the fact that they were apparently at 100% capacity (as advised to us when checking in) so we weren't too surprised when we waited over 15 minutes for an elevator to check out (because of a maximum 4 people per elevator rule which is absolutely fair enough). But the annoying thing was that because we then decided to take the stairs, they hadn't unlocked the door of the stairs to get into the lobby (level 3) so we had to walk around outside in the rain to get to the lobby.

Overall disappointed. Seems like poor organisational skills.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RuthWhitley, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand by SkyCity
Responded 8 June 2020
Hi ZeeJ91, Thank you for your feedback and my apologies that your stay was not at the high standard we wish to deliver to our guests. I can certainly understand the frustration of waiting for one of our elevators due to the current capacity restrictions. However our stairs are for emergencies only and not designed for guests to use as an alternative to the elevators. I do hope we can welcome you back to The Grand again soon, and invite you to contact me directly for any future stays. Warm Regards, Ruth Whitley Guest Relations Executive ruth.whitley@skycity.co.nz
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from J N
United States14 contributions1 helpful vote
There is mini bar fridge inside the room but not complimentary.
PDog1979 asked a question May 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand6 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi, what's the difference between the 'sea view' rooms and the 'harbour view'. Which is considered better? Thanks.
Answer from Zip Zing
Auckland Central, New Zealand406 contributions66 helpful votes
Same deal really, you need to be facing the harbour/bridge for best view. Mention when booking.
Answer from Lady Bee
Auckland, New Zealand251 contributions100 helpful votes
Hi check the website
Answer from BarC
Province of Milan, Italy26 contributions10 helpful votes
We found that although it is in a good area it is a bit of a walk back and forth to the harbour. If we were to go back we would probably stay closer to the water as the majority of the things we did was at the harbour.
KasHaley wrote a tip Mar 2024
Northern Virginia, Virginia204 contributions64 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Walking distance to ferry departure ports."
Read full review
Olyvia Basuray wrote a tip Jan 2024
Bengaluru, India32 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to go for breakfast early as the restaurant gets busy post 0830am."
Read full review
lowbk wrote a tip Dec 2023
Singapore, Singapore205 contributions102 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to get a room facing the sky tower. The other side is facing office buildings thus please remember to put down the blind"
Read full review
Whitford4 wrote a tip Nov 2023
South Weber, Utah80 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking was a bit challenging. We should have just valet parked. It would have been so much easier"
Read full review
nells922023 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Auckland Central, New Zealand2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The buffet breakfast available in The Terrace was delicious, best part of our stay."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Auckland Central area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$213 - AU$293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sky city hotel, skycity grand auckland, hotel skycity grand
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandAuckland Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
312
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GRAND BY SKYCITY (AU$213) 2024 Prices & Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about The Grand by SkyCity
Which popular attractions are close to The Grand by SkyCity?
Nearby attractions include Escapade NZ (0.4 km), Great Escape (0.3 km), and Escape Masters (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Grand by SkyCity?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Grand by SkyCity?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Grand by SkyCity?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Grand by SkyCity?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Grand by SkyCity?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Grove, Culprit., and Fondou Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Grand by SkyCity?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Grand by SkyCity have airport transportation?
Yes, The Grand by SkyCity offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Grand by SkyCity located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Auckland Central.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Grand by SkyCity?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Grand by SkyCity offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Auckland Central HotelsAuckland Central Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Auckland CentralHotels near The Grand by SkyCity
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars