We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,232: English reviews
Start your review of SKYCITY Grand Hotel
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked in to the Skycity Grand for our first night in NZ and got a premium luxury King suite. Room was very comfortable, particularly loved the bathroom with bath and shower. Fantastic views over Auckland and very quiet. Good bars and restaurants around so didnt have to go too far for good food if you didnt want to eat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizskel
Lugano, Switzerland
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Reviews are always based on personal experience and share mine. For my business I am traveling for last 20 years for about 100 days/year and have the privilege to stay in 5 stars accommodations, this is to say that have some background to compare structures. This time it did not work here. Upon arrival after 16 hours flight at 11:30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evvivalavita66
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for one night in a Premium Luxury King Suite and it was amazing! I was so impressed with how quiet the room was, I only wished that we had stayed longer! I really loved this place. I just wanted to also point out, that I called reservations to pre-pay for the room before we arrived and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacee80
Essendon North, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

This was my first place of stay in Auckland, we got in around 8pm. Unfortunately we did get stuck behind a group check in, but what can you do. We were seen to and given our room key quite quickly. The room was very nicely presented, which was to be expected. Clean and wasted for our first night, I wish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frangipani44
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Frangipani44 Thank you for reviewing your stay, I am pleased that we were a pleasant welcome to Auckland and only sorry you couldn't stay any longer. We hope you had a great time in New Zealand! Kind Regards Alison Borland Guest Relations Executive alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Bellingham, Washington
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed to nights on the 20th floor. Quiet room with beautiful rain shower and full bathtub. Comfortable bed and pillows, clean but a little dusty which was weird. Friendly staff willing to do anything they could to improve our stay. Nice surrounding restaurants. Just started shuttle service to airport.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donald J
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Donald J Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Grand Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to passing your compliments onto the team. I am sorry about the dust particles that had settled in your room and our Housekeeping Team will be advised of your comments. We do hope...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great location, wide variety of dining and bar options, large room size and well appointed. We generally stay at the Stamford however SkyCity Grand is much better. Staff are very helpful and friendly. We will be staying here on future trips to Auckland.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul D Many thanks for reviewing your stay with us. It's wonderful to hear that we are your hotel of choice when staying in Auckland and we look forward to your next stay! Kind Regards Alison Borland Guest Relations Executive alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was great comfortable, all facilities wanted, great to have a bath. Restaurants great with such a wonderful variety. Staff were great, friendly, efficient, helpful. Using the valet parking helps well worth it. Gusto great place for breakfast and Jade Dragon first time

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gaylene01557
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gaylene01557 Thank you for commenting on your stay at The Grand Hotel. Our guests are spoiled for choice when visiting SKYCITY Auckland and I am pleased your enjoyed your time with us and your visits to Gusto and Jade Dragon. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Alison Borland Guest...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed there with my mum for our Easter holidays. We stayed one night at Room #1502. Great view to see the Auckland Harbour Bridge. I really like it. Be aware, not all the rooms in Skycity Grand Hotel have a bath. If you want to have a relaxing bath after a long day, better ask and double check with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarahliu88
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarahliu88 Thank you for posting your review of The Grand Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your most recent stay with us, it was lovely having you stay with us again. A number of our rooms do have a large walk in shower only and I will update your preference for a bath now. We look forward to your...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed at this property in March, 2017. It's located right at the centre of downtown. Some of the Auckland's best restaurants are located at the hotel and nearby. The room was clean and modern. The only issue was wireless internet access. While accessing internet and email, I was disconnected several times. It might be just my room, but certainly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K T
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear K T Thank you for your review of The Grand Hotel. It's great to hear that overall you had an enjoyable stay. I am sorry that you had a couple of issues with the complimentary Wi-Fi connection and I pass these comments onto our IT team. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed 8 nights here recently and was a bit disappointed given the hotel's high ranking and price point. The front desk staff at check-in and throughout our stay were mostly polite but impersonal. Housekeeping was ok but the little touches such as our toiletries being laid out on a towel (which 5 star hotels tend to do) were missing....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dbasha
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dbasha Thank you for your review of The Grand Hotel. I am sorry to hear that we fell short in the normal high standard of service that we take pride in delivering our guests. I have passed your review onto the teams to review and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We do hope to welcome you...

1,187 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (727)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (96)
Viewed
Bathroom (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (174)
Viewed
View from Room (97)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (252)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (423)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
City View King Room (61)
Viewed
Grand Presidential Suite (115)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Premium Luxury Harbour View King Room (116)
Viewed
Premium Luxury Harbour View Twin Room (56)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.9 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4,060 reviews
0.1 km away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
2,147 reviews
0.7 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
2,187 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $228 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Priceline, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from SKYCITY Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question
Allen, Texas
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
28 days ago
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from SKYCITY Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“King rooms”
lizskel, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Good location. Amazing restaurants near by.”
Sarahliu88, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The hotel seemed very quiet, the upper floors can see the water.”
18CW, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher would give best views”
kiwi051, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The higher the better the views”
kathieoguy, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5