We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Heritage Apartment

Save
Share
35 Hobson Street PO Box 105-326, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010 New Zealand
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
eDreams
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
USD 151
View deal
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (581)
360
Panoramas (2)
Room & Suite (405)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 23/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 23/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#32 of 73 hotels in Auckland Central
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Car park
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Tennis court
Car hire
Wifi
Paid wifi
Rooftop pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English
2,317Reviews39Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,062
  • 816
  • 276
  • 101
  • 62
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jane wrote a review Mar 2021
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution
We stayed in the Hotel. Very nice rustic decor fitting with the Heritage of the building. Lovely room however breakfast was shocking. There was hardly any food left and nothing had been replenished. There was no-one at reception and we had to ask for someone to show us to our seats. Then had to ask for more bread, the baked beans were dry and mankie. 3 pieces of bacon left drenched in fat, 2 sausages left, 1 pitiful spoon of mushrooms...I complained and did not have to pay the bill however for a 4 star hotel this is not on. The spa pool bubbles didn’t work and their were polystyrene bubbles in the spa and the pool. Several tiles were missing on both the outdoor and indoor pools. The outdoor pool was awesome but these things let it down. There was no towel person nor bar/snack person on duty. We were looking forward to a drink beside the pool..obviously not.. These few things could have been easily rectified to make our stay a pleasant one... At best I would give this hotel 2.5 stars... not good for the price paid..
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Cailene Prins, Other at Heritage Apartment
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Jane, Thank you for contacting us directly, I am pleased that we were able to come to a solution to make up for the negative experience that you had over the weekend. We look forward to hosting you again. Kind Regards,
Read more
Nathan Wallis wrote a review Mar 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand1 contribution
I have travelled for a job for 15 years extensively around NZ Australia and China. I am in hotels on average three times a week. This is the worst managed hotel I have ever been in. The poor staff are doing their best, but management has simply neglected to put on sufficient staff for the number of rooms booked out. My executive top of the range room that was booked and paid for in advance with a 2pm confirmed check in was not available until 4.30, and our second room also booked and paid in advance is still not ready at 5pm and we are suppose to be at our event at 6pm. Our luggage for both rooms is still no where to be found at 5pm so no one is able to get ready. And sitting in the foyer waiting for 2.5 hours to get one room - no drink or explanation has been given other than “we are busy”. We know with covid there are plenty of workers available so it is simply bad management. Whoever is responsible for staffing and management here is the most incompetent hotel manager I have come across in my entire career, and should I believe be replaced by someone more competent - like maybe a 16 year old school leaver as I can’t imagine they could do worse! My empathy goes to the staff that have to compensate for their useless management.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Cailene Prins, Other at Heritage Apartment
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr Wallis, I sincerely apologise for the service that you experienced over the weekend, this is not the level of service that we strive to provide. I have been in contact with your Executive Assistant and I hope that we are able to restore your faith in Heritage Auckland. I can only assure you that this past weekend was an oversight as it was unexpectedly and uncharacteristically busy and we were not prepared. We are already putting strategies in place to ensure that this does not happen again. Kind Regards,
Read more
Alayna M wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The hotel is in a good location in the cbd however is in need of a refresh. The hotel is very tired. Our room was clean but many tiles in the bathroom crakced, carpets in need of a good clean and the walls and kitchen well scuffed. Dissapointing.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cailene Prins, Other at Heritage Apartment
Responded 4 Mar 2021
Good Morning Alayna, Thank you for your review, we appreciate the suggestions. I am so sorry to hear about the concerns you have raised and we will get maintenance to look into this as soon as possible. I hope that you are able to stay with us again and we are able to provide the real Heritage Experience to you. Kind Regards,
Read more
Brian W wrote a review Feb 2021
Basingstoke3 contributions
Have stayed at this Heritage Hotel many times but each time we visit the quality of the Hotel and food appears to deteriorate. On booking requested Feather pillows but was given the usual polyester type pillows. Phoned housekeeping after a bad nights sleep again requesting Feather pillows. Pillows were changed but again no feather pillows,just different polyester pillows. Usually the beds and pillows are the best part of staying at the Heritage. Not any more. Also the usual full buffet breakfast has now been changed to a ordered breakfast. The usual Valet Car-parking has now also increased from $30 to $45/nights. Appreciate that there is a big drop with international tourist but it looks like the loyal NZ tourist appear to be paying the extra price for this downturn. The rooms are also now looking a bit tired with a lot of the floorboards creaking around the Hotel. Sorry for this poor review!!! We used to really enjoy staying at the Heritage.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Not sure where the good rooms are. Don’t have a room near the lifts 01, 02, 03.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Cailene Prins, Other at Heritage Apartment
Responded 1 Mar 2021
Dear Fred, Thank you for your review, it is always great to have feedback from loyal customers such as you. I sincerely apologise for your bad sleep due to the pillow mishap, the Sleep Experience is very important to us and I hope that we are able to rectify this on your next stay. Covid-19 has severely impacted the way that Food & Beverage has had to operate, this is the reason behind our decision to change to an A la Carte menu, we hope to be back to full capacity to be able to put on a buffet again. Our carpark rate of $45.00 has been that way since some time before covid, sometimes if you have VIP perks with your booking system it will be $30.00, sorry about the confusion that this may have caused. I hope that we are able to restore your confidence and host you again soon. Kind Regards,
Read more
770Welly wrote a review Feb 2021
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand34 contributions9 helpful votes
Lovely hotel with lots of style. Our room was large with a comfy bed and great shower. Was nice to have a washing machine and dryer as well. Nice view and easy valet parking. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would stay again
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Cailene Prins, Other at Heritage Apartment
Responded 23 Feb 2021
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review! We are so glad that you had such a memorable stay and we cant wait to host you again! Kind Regards,
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 122 - USD 238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
heritage auckland hotel auckland central, heritage hotel auckland, auckland heritage hotel
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandAuckland Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
284
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Heritage Apartment
Which popular attractions are close to Heritage Apartment?
Nearby attractions include SkyTower (0.2 km), Viaduct Harbour (0.3 km), and Weta Workshop Unleashed (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Heritage Apartment?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Heritage Apartment?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Heritage Apartment?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Heritage Apartment?
Yes, a parking garage is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Heritage Apartment?
Conveniently located restaurants include Culprit., Hello Beasty, and The Grove.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Heritage Apartment?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Heritage Apartment located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Auckland Central.
Are any cleaning services offered at Heritage Apartment?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Heritage Apartment offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Heritage Apartment?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parnell (2.0 km), Auckland Town Hall (0.7 km), and Highwic (3.0 km).