We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Scenic Hotel Auckland

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

917 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Scenic Hotel Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 838: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is an older , mostly well maintained clean , quiet hotel on Queen st in Auckland's central business district. The kitchenette room was well equipped, had good reliable internet but limited Tv channels. The staff was professional and helpful. The air conditioning and heat were fully adjustable and functioned well . The hallways were a bit grim, a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jronkowski
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the trouble to post your comments. Kind regards, Ken

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have arrived at 1 am. The accommodation was pre-booked in advance. Person at reception was very friendly and allocated a room promptly. Room furnishings were looking tired, but in good condition. Room was big enough. Cozy kitchenette with cutlery, glasses, plates cups etc. Iron and iron board (had to use those to press shirt for meeting). Mini bar with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruben S
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

We really appreciate that you chose our hotel and took the time to review our hotel, thank you so much. Kind regards, Ken

Santa Fe, NM
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were here as part of a group tour and stayed two nights at the beginning of our trip....it was convenient to the ferry as well as several local sights, and the bus stops were closeby and easy to use. Our room was not large but nicely appointed, and contrary to some other reviews, it was very quiet. If interested,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BKandCB
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the trouble to post your comments. Kind regards, Ken

Cross Hill, South Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff of the hotel were wonderful on the two separate occasions we stayed here. The rooms were clean but the furniture and carpeting were not inviting and looked very 'used'. This hotel could use some updating in the rooms with regard to the furniture. We did not want to sit on the couch or chairs because of this so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rbcottom
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the trouble to post your comments. Kind regards, Ken

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Accommodation was very hard to get due to Adele. We grabbed this room when it became available. It was ok but incredibly small and had an odd smell about it. I think perhaps due to having a bathroom that does not have natural ventilation I.e. No window etc it's an internal bathroom. Shower incredibly small and hardly any way to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Our Light-well and standard rooms are 25sqm and our superior rooms are 35sqm. Our heritage hotel is triangular in shape and all the rooms have quirky shapes, sorry about the smell, upon investigation the room had its carpet commercially cleaned a few days ago and we suspect that caused the smell, we do you use deodariser after commercially cleaning but...

Kirkland, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room was nice and clean. Location of hotel was close to busy shopping areas many restaurants and within walking distance to waterfront and most attractions. They were quick to replace a defective lamp. We did not have a car and did not need the valet parking that was expensive. Public transportation in city is a bit complicated to use. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ronald276
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Our valet car parking charge is $30 per night and is available from 6.30am to 11pm, unfortunately our heritage building means we do not have self-parking however there are several self-parking options very close by. There is also a really frequent inner city bus service that stops directly outside for just a $1. It does a loop of the city,...

Melbourne
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms on Queen Street are not soundproof and you can hear every bit of noise and hardly slept at all. We swapped rooms but there were problems with that as well. While we got a quite room the bed was in a small room with little more than a ruler length between wall and bed. The closet was pitiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GabbyC111
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay but anyway thank you for the feedback. Our Light-well and standard rooms are 25sqm and our superior rooms are 35sqm. Our heritage hotel is triangular in shape and all the rooms have quirky shapes, in some cases the bed is in an alcove and as you point out there isn’t much...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here on our first night in NZ and then returned a few days later having done the north of the country. The staff were great, very helpful and friendly and gave us a good welcome on our second visit, recognising us immediately. We used the valet service for our hire car which was very efficient and convenient. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnthewhit
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Our valet car parking charge is $30 per night and is available from 6.30am to 11pm, unfortunately our heritage building means we do not have self-parking however there are several self-parking options very close by. Thanks for staying with us, Kind regards, Ken

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Basically right in the middle of downtown Auckland. It is about 3 long blocks from the main ferry terminal and central to eateries and stores. All the staff very helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable if a little dated but still in good shape. The windows open and the ac was functional. The kitchenette was well stocked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 154914Jack
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the trouble to post your comments. Kind regards, Ken

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Wow! We weren't really sure what to expect from this hotel after reading mixed reviews but our experience was excellent and we both agreed it was one of our favourite hotels in New Zealand! I had e-mailed the hotel beforehand to advise them of a special occasion so we were delighted to be upgraded to a fantastic room on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Selina_J_W
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Exceed expectations.........always a good sign. Thank you for sharing your comments, most appreciated. Kind regards, Ken

306 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (165)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
1:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (126)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Lightwell Queen room (25)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Studio Queen (31)
Viewed
Superior Queen (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.5 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4,060 reviews
0.6 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
2,189 reviews
1.1 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.5 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $147 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland
#19 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scenic Hotel Auckland staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Scenic Hotel Auckland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Queen street facing rooms can be noisy at night if window left open.”
ronald276, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Look for another hotel. I doubt any of the rooms are good.”
GabbyC111, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms overlooking the main road can experience street noise”
452hilaryg, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“With a group of 6 couples, no one seemed to have a bad room.”
foodiefool_10, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check your room first or better still check if the scaffolding remains around the outside.”
Cwhyankee, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5