We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010 New Zealand
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!All Inclusive Winter Warmer
Booking.com
USD 86
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/22
Expedia.com
USD 91
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/08/22
Official Hotel
USD 70
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUSD 91
TravelocityUSD 91
PricelineUSD 90
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (57)
360
Panoramas (42)
Room & Suite (266)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from President Hotel Auckland
Updated 11/06/20

About

#37 of 72 hotels in Auckland Central
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
Modern Apartment Hotel located in the Central Business District, 150 meters from ferries & buses.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Car park
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Green
Languages Spoken
English, French, Chinese, Filipino and 2 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:All Inclusive Winter Warmer
272Reviews29Q+A43Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 87
  • 97
  • 47
  • 19
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sandra B wrote a review Yesterday
Auckland, New Zealand3 contributions2 helpful votes
Do not purchase this deal - no weekend availability until 31 October 2022. Very disappointed by lack of Customer Service when trying to locate availability- only offered Mon 29 & Tuesday 30 August?? Very Disappointed 😞
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
kiwigal78 wrote a review June 2022
Whitianga, New Zealand64 contributions14 helpful votes
Stayed here for 3 nights in a studio room in the 12th floor. Room was good and clean, but they did not service room at all for the time of our stay, so we had to ask at desk for extra shampoo, toilet paper etc. Breakfast was good but sometimes cooked food was cold . But a good place to stay as it's close to everything and public transport
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tara Baxter, Guest Services / Front Office at President Hotel Auckland
Responded 2 July 2022
Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad to hear you found our excellent location convenient for your travels, you were satisfied with the rooms and enjoyed your complimentary buffet breakfast. At President Hotel you can rest assured knowing your room has been thoroughly cleaned and sanitised prior to your arrival. We have changed our practices a little to adapt to the effects the pandemic has had on our industry. A Full Room Service is only provided on every third day. In the meantime, fresh towels, rubbish bin changes and amenities are available upon request at reception. We have since implemented notices within the rooms to inform our guests of this, and apologize that these were not in place during your stay. We hope this did not hinder your stay with us as we hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards, Tara
Read more
Kim M wrote a review June 2022
sydney40 contributions36 helpful votes
We were in a group of 3 couples each having their own room. Ours on the 6th floor had little road noise unlike the friends on the 7th and 14 floor. The mattress was the worst I have ever slept on with a slope so bad it felt like I was falling out of bed. The mattress itself on the side of it, the top of the mattress hit the bottom of the mattress. It was by far the worst night sleep we both have had as both mattresses were the same. We were thinking of sleeping on the floor instead of the bed. We were told they had no parking left so had to park for 35.00 a night at the Wilson car park across from the Motel. Upon arrival in the morning we were to discovery that the hired car window had been smashed in and 6 suitcases taken. We were only staying one night before heading to the airport so we only took our carry on bags with us. The motel won’t accept responsibility nor the car park. So the end of our 15 days in New Zealand ended in disaster. This Hotel should be avoided at all cost it is not worth the money. On a positive note we did enjoy the breakfast even if half the food was only available at one time ,but that did not really compensate the mattress and car parking arrangements.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Just don’t stay.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tara Baxter, Guest Services / Front Office at President Hotel Auckland
Responded 2 July 2022
Good Afternoon Kim, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are so sorry to hear that you had a bad nights sleep. I have spoken to housekeeping and maintenance and we are going to replace the mattress in the room you mentioned, this is part of an upgrade in both beds and mattresses that is currently ongoing across the whole hotel and all the rooms should have newer beds and mattresses by the end of the year. We are sorry to hear about your experience with the Wilson car park. Unfortunately we can not take responsibility for what happens in their facility as they are a company completely independent of ours. We have no access to their CCTV, no contact with their staff other than the contact numbers they provide to the public and have no other access to their security, property or offices. Our staff were and will continue to be happy to assist in anyway we can with regards to contacting the police, providing reports and/or statements, As Wilson are so close to our hotel we had been hoping to work with them to provide a convenient multi-entry parking option for our guests similar to the deal we provide in our small limited car park as we are located in a central city location and understand that parking can be hard and expensive. However, if their communication and assistance continues to be unhelpful we will cease any connection with them. We are sorry to hear this had such a negative impact on your visit to Aotearoa and hope that your fond memories outweigh the negative. Good Luck with recovering your luggage and should we be able to assist in this in anyway please do not hesitate to contact us. Kind Regards, Tara
Read more
Trudy wrote a review Apr 2022
Nelson, New Zealand22 contributions20 helpful votes
Spacious room (mine was seperate lounge), great price with breakfast included Very central location - 2mins walk to Sky City, 5 mins to Queen Street shopping and Waterfront. Hotel certainly isnt fancy but has everything you need and is clean and comfortable. Only downside are the roadworks which are due to continue for at least another year, so not quiet and area not the nicest with closed down shops and narrow footpaths due to barriers.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tara Baxter, Guest Services / Front Office at President Hotel Auckland
Responded 2 May 2022
Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate your feedback and are so happy you found our hotel great value. Our convenient location is certainly one of our main draws, and our friendly reception staff are always more than happy to help should you require any assistance or directions. We enjoyed having you visit us at President Hotel and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Kindest Regards, Tara Front Office Manager
Read more
Kaveetz wrote a review Aug 2021
Auckland, New Zealand25 contributions7 helpful votes
Very expensive room with outdated furniture and the noise. Constant roadworks all night for the underground train-would have been great to have known this. The reception people could crack a smile and have some manners. Very basic breakfast. Parking cost $60 for the night. Many nicer choices around the area for the same price yet cleaner and don’t have 70’s decor.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tara Baxter, Guest Services / Front Office at President Hotel Auckland
Responded 2 July 2022
Good Afternoon, We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay here at President Hotel. Our prices do fluctuate daily to match events and our surrounding competition. Unfortunately, Auckland's ongoing roadworks are out of our control. However, they should not be working between the hours of 9pm-7am. Should there be any roadwork noise we do ask our guests to let our reception know immediately so that we can contact the council and inform them that they are not complying with the noise control regulations. This is an ongoing issue around Auckland CBD effecting many businesses and we want to do our upmost to ensure our guest still have a pleasurable stay here. Parking costs $35.00 per vehicle per night, this allows multiple access to our secure underground car park. This rate is very competitive with the surrounding car parks in the area. We hope if you do choose to stay with us in the future you have a much more pleasurable stay. Kind Regards, Tara Front Office Manager
Read more
Freezing K wrote a review July 2021
Wellington, New Zealand16 contributions62 helpful votes
Great central location, superb value, great option for CBD hotel. The staff were attentive and looked after us. The parking, whilst tight, was really appreciated and made travel easy. The breakfast was loved by the kids, it's a good mixture and they'll make eggs and pancakes to order too. The room (2 x double bedrooms on the 8th floor) was amazingly spacious and very tidy. The TV was connected so YouTube worked. The kitchen was well specced including an oven. Everything was basic but clean. Only downside, there was a horrible fan noise on the East side, so take your earplugs.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tara Baxter, Guest Services / Front Office at President Hotel Auckland
Responded 2 July 2022
Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this wonderful feedback. We are so glad that you and the kids enjoyed your stay here, especially the breakfast as I do have to agree those pancakes are tasty start to the day! We hope you choose to stay with us on your next trip to Auckland and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Kindest Regards, Tara Front Office Manager
Read more
SilicoJack wrote a review July 2021
Wellington, New Zealand434 contributions45 helpful votes
The hotel is super central and in an awesome location. The breakfast is good and quick. This is the second time I have stayed here and it’s been good both times. Lots of road works outside the hotel because of the rail upgrades which you can’t hear but can make access slightly difficult. The Room we had seemed to have super thin walls and you could hear the lifts and people in the corridors. This wasn’t ideal with a 17 month old.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tara Baxter, Guest Services / Front Office at President Hotel Auckland
Responded 2 July 2022
Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and give us your feedback. We are so glad to hear you found our central location convenient for your travels and enjoyed a nice hearty breakfast to start your days. Unfortunately, Auckland's ongoing roadworks are out of our control. I do have to agree they seem to be creeping further and further around the city roads. But hopefully they will lead to making our location even more accessible to the public in the future. We hope to welcome you back for a third visit in the near future! Kind Regards, Tara Front Office Manager
Read more
Thefamilytraveller wrote a review July 2021
Whangarei, New Zealand107 contributions41 helpful votes
If you want a hotel in the middle of the CBD for a great price this is the one. Large, clean rooms and waking distance to anywhere central. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. My only disappointment was at breakfast with many of the cooked items cold, the Bain Marie wasn’t switched on and when our group and another group pointed out it was cold we were shown where the microwave was. Not the best solution especially with food safety concerns with cold food left on the side. However when speaking direct to the chef they cooked fresh food. Overall a good place to stay
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ask for higher floors, quiet and unable to hear any road noise which others have commented on
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tara Baxter, Guest Services / Front Office at President Hotel Auckland
Responded 2 July 2022
Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and give us your feedback. We are so glad to hear you found our central location convenient for your travels and were happy with your room! I apologize about the confusion with breakfast, we aim to provide the best service possible for our guests and we will take your feedback on board to ensure everyone gets a warm hearty breakfast to set them up for the day going forward. Our chefs will always be happy to make up fresh food should you require it. We hope this will reassure you that you will get a nice hot breakfast from the buffet during your next stay and that we can welcome you back again soon. Kindest Regards, Tara Front Office Manager
Read more
BOMIWA wrote a review July 2021
44 contributions17 helpful votes
The rooms were comfortable and the location was great, close to all main attractions in the city. However, there were several issues which were disappointing: 1. The vents in all bathrooms/toilets didn’t work (we had two rooms for our family). We were informed it was a problem in all the hotel. It wasn’t fixed for the two nights we were there. Made it uncomfortable using the bathroom. We were not offered compensation. 2. The breakfast was very disappointing. Only old fashioned bacon and eggs, toast, jam etc. hardly anything healthy, other than basic oats. No fresh vegetables or fruit. The photos indicated fresh fruit but none was available. When we asked, the staff brought a can of preserved fruit. We didn’t touch it. We didn’t even come for breakfast the second day. Waste of money. 3. There were significant road works next to the hotel and the noise insulation was poor.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you like healthy food, don’t book breakfast. Check that the vents were fixed before you book.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tara Baxter, Guest Services / Front Office at President Hotel Auckland
Responded 2 July 2022
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are so glad to hear you found our excellent location convenient for your travels. All our bathrooms have vents within, but the fans inside the vents are somewhat redundant from the previous system. Thus, they simply work as a bathroom air vent. Our complimentary buffet breakfast is a full cooked breakfast including eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes, bacon, hash browns and white or wholemeal toast. We also offer spreads, croissants, fruit salad and oats/muesli/cereals. We apologize that this did not meet your requirements, our kitchen staff will do their utmost to accommodate your requests when asked. Unfortunately, Auckland's ongoing roadworks are out of our control. However, they should not be working between the hours of 9pm-7am. Should there be any roadwork noise we do ask our guests to let our reception know immediately so that we can contact the council and inform them that they are not complying with the noise control regulations. This is an ongoing issue around Auckland CBD effecting many businesses and we want to do our upmost to ensure our guest still have a pleasurable stay here. We hope these factors did not hinder your stay to much and should you choose to stay here again we will do our best to ensure it is a more pleasurable experience. Thank you again for your feedback we have taken it onboard and will address what we can. Kind Regards, Tara
Read more
ChariotOfFaith wrote a review June 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand21 contributions1 helpful vote
Great value for money for a very large 32m squared King Studio room, excellent, very spacious and comfortable with a good view of the city from the 7th floor. Great location in the very heart of Auckland city and a close walk to everything! The buffet breakfast was tasty, no room service to bring up to your room even though it was listed in one of their signs going in the lift. (Weird they didn't have my favorite tea - Earl Grey considering that is so popular - but not a biggie) The staff are accommodating, the manager was friendly and patient. The $200 bond gave me a bit of a nasty shock for an amount even though it was just a prepayment. The only other let down is need to keep hot water running for a very long time before it becomes warm. But all in all a positive experience and happy with what I saw :) They have a very convenient drop off location literally right out the front door for a shuttle bus! I would recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tara Baxter, Guest Services / Front Office at President Hotel Auckland
Responded 2 July 2022
Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback and review our hotel. It is great to hear you were happy with your room, enjoyed your city views and well as utilize our convenient central location. We are glad you enjoyed your breakfasts, room service was a service we used to provide but as breakfast is included in many of our packages it has become an buffet only service. I will however speak to the kitchen and see it we can get in some early grey tea for your future visits! :) We have since eliminated the $200.00 bond and either take a credit card on file or hold a $100.00 bond to try and allow our guests to have a little more accessible cashflow for their trips to Auckland. I hope this will improve on your future visits. We will take all your feedback onboard and pass it on to the relevant departments. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Tara Front Office Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 78 - USD 133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
auckland best western, best western auckland
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandAuckland Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
117
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about President Hotel Auckland
Which popular attractions are close to President Hotel Auckland?
Nearby attractions include Weta Workshop Unleashed (0.2 km), Escapade NZ (0.2 km), and Great Escape (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at President Hotel Auckland?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at President Hotel Auckland?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at President Hotel Auckland?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at President Hotel Auckland?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to President Hotel Auckland?
Conveniently located restaurants include Culprit., The Grove, and Cooke's.
Is President Hotel Auckland located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Auckland Central.
Are any cleaning services offered at President Hotel Auckland?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at President Hotel Auckland?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Chinese, Malay, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to President Hotel Auckland?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parnell (1.7 km), Eden Garden (3.1 km), and Auckland Town Hall (0.5 km).
Is President Hotel Auckland accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.