We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
465 Great North Road Grey Lynn, Auckland Central, Auckland 1021 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
USD 108
View deal
Booking.com
USD 111
View deal
FindHotel
USD 102
View deal
TravelocityUSD 108
Hotels.comUSD 108
PricelineUSD 117
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (19)
Pool & Beach (7)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#52 of 73 in Auckland Central
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Surrey Hotel comprises of a hotel and motel complex offering a wide range of accommodation options for the budget conscious corporate or leisure traveler. The hotel complex houses The Surrey Pub, indoor pool, spa and gym. The unique English theme with it's charming decor, antiques and memorabilia as well as the informal kiwi style hospitality make for an enjoyable stay.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Parking
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Bottled water
Iron
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Chinese

Location

Full view
73Somewhat walkable
Grade: 73 out of 100
21Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
2Attractionswithin 0.5 km
226Reviews1Q+A48Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 36
  • 64
  • 76
  • 27
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Henrietta2011 wrote a review Dec 2021
Wellington, New Zealand18 contributions35 helpful votes
$150 for a very old grotty room was far too much. Yellowing walls, vintage aircon so loud you could not sleep with it on and the bathroom’s main feature was exploding particle board. The place was almost empty, and no coffee or shop restaurant open. Many of these faults could be forgiven if it was at a lower price point - I would say around $80 to $90. On the plus side the bed was clean and comfortable and there was a TV.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Denise King, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel
Responded 5 Jan 2022
Hi Henrietta 2011, Thanks for your review.... not sure if you were even staying at the Surrey? Our bathrooms are tiled? It is really hard to try and rectify or even work out what room you could possibly have been in as you have chosen not to talk to any of the staff and keep your review anonymous? You are welcome to email me and discuss. Regards Denise
Read more
Rachel1087 wrote a review June 2021
Christchurch New Zealand50 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
We had to stay here on the 15 June because of a cancelled flight by Air NZ - who put us in the Hotel for the night. Fortunately our room wasn't to bad although the screen on the shower was loose and we didn't use the shower. We arrived at 2.30 in the morning and were hungry having just come off a 3hr flight. Only food available was fizzy drink and chips - that was fine but the man on the desk keep saying how expensive it was. The hall was had tarps on the floor and puddles of water - next day we woke to Concrete grinding in the room next door and the smoke alarm in there going off. Bellows of dusk and noise. Other people on our canceled flight saying their beds were damp and like hammocks. The fire extinguisher in the hall way was two years out of date and there was leaks drip into the indoor pool form the roof above that had bits of wood propping up the skylights. The ladies in the breakfast room next morning weren't friendly and weren't eager in serving or handing out the menu - couldn't be bothered attitude. We just asked for toast but weren't given an butter.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Denise King, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel
Responded 20 June 2021
Hi Rachel. Its difficult for everyone when a flight is disrupted and you cannot get to your destination. Late at night it can be difficult to find rooms for everyone and on this occasion we were advised that you would be checking out prior to 7.30am when the construction guys arrived. Obviously we knew we had construction happening in adjacent rooms. Our fire extinguishers are all checked on an annual basis for our building warrant of fitness and all things related to fire, exits, etc are checked on a monthly basis by an outside contractor and are documented. The reason for the construction is we are upgrading our rooms. Our beds are not like hammocks or damp, but I think you knew that too. Everyone else on the flight was very complementary and loved the hotel. I am sorry you had to stay here. Kind regards Denise King.
Read more
alastair4 wrote a review Mar 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand671 contributions260 helpful votes
I checked in at the hotel but my room was across the street in the motels. The location itself was perfect for me and for the price the room amenities were fine and the room was clean. What I didn't enjoy was the continuous thumping through the night from the people walking around the room above me. If I stayed again I would need a guarantee I was in the hotel or I would not bother.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Denise King, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel
Responded 20 June 2021
Hi Alastair. We are pretty clear on all websites that the motels are located across the road. If you book across the road but prefer the main hotel - we will always change it for you if we are not fully booked. The price difference is minimal, it always come to personal preference. Thanks for your review. Regards Denise
Read more
Hutton & Cameron Contractors wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
We had a team working away from home, managing long days and needing a home-away-from-home. The Surrey Hotel doesn’t disappoint. Friendly service and tasty food. Will definitely be using The Surrey Hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Julie wrote a review Sept 2020
3 contributions
We held an event with approx 50 attendees in the function room next to the restaurant / bar area during the weekend. It was absolutely perfect - our guests absolutely loved the decor and commented that it felt like we were in an old hollywood setting. Our entertainer said it was the perfect space for his performance too. The venue has a natural atmosphere / personality, is unpretentious, and we didn't even have to do any dressing to the function room at all. The bar location was super convenient so guests could easily move between the function area and the bar to get drinks. The catering was great as well, couldn't have been better! Thanks so much to the team at the Surrey for being flexible and helpful, appreciated.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Denise King, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel
Responded 29 Sept 2020
Thanks for your feedback - the room you refer to is the Sussex Room and it is a great room for a private gathering - we are very happy you enjoyed it. Hopefully we will see you back again soon. Kind regards Denise
Read more
Awright wrote a review Sept 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Excellent service, amazing food and the most friendliest staff ever...the restaurant and bar has an incredible atmosphere, the wood fire pizzas are delish, the pasta devine and the scallops hmmmmm...love the Surrey staf
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Denise King, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel
Responded 29 Sept 2020
Great review, thanks so much! See you again soon I hope.. Regards Denise
Read more
Carla Dobbyn wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution
We needed to accommodate and provide meals for our team who were working away from home on a project doing 12 hour days. The team at The Surrey, especially Natalie and the Chef went out of their way to accommodate us, providing comfortable clean rooms, healthy nutritious and substantial meals both in the restaurant and take away lunches. They worked with us to tailor this package to suit our needs and budget, all the while providing a friendly, responsive and amazingly helpful service. We will definitely be using them for all our business needs in the future and strongly recommend them to others. Carla Dobbyn, CALD Enterprises
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Denise King, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel
Responded 29 Sept 2020
Thanks so much for the feedback Carla, we try very hard to keep all our customers happy and its really good to have this review. Your team are welcome back anytime. Thanks again. Denise.
Read more
Alicia Collins wrote a review Aug 2020
Hamilton, New Zealand1 contribution
When I booked online for the Surrey Hotel, I was expecting a hotel not a motel. We were told we were across the road where we parked right outside the room which was fine. Entering the room and my husband was so close to having a full bag of rubbish dropped on him by the cleaner from the floor above. We were of the impression there was free WiFi but this was limited to a minuscule amount. When the people from above us came back to their room at 1am we heard every step up the stairs, inside and every word they said like the walls/ceiling was paper thin. This went on for a few hours so it was not a restful nights sleep. And I wasn’t even wearing my hearing aids! Won’t be going back
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Denise King, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel
Responded 30 Aug 2020
Good Morning Mrs Collins, You booked with Expedia and it is quite clear on the Expedia website that you booked a motel room across the road from the hotel. If that wasnt the room you wanted we would have happily changed you to the main hotel. I cannot comment on the WIFI except to say it is free and you can use whatever you want? As for the people in the room above I am sorry they were noisy, we have 24 hour staff and a quick phone call to reception could have made all the difference for you. The walls and ceiling are not paper thin and were upgraded a couple of years ago to the current building standard. Sometimes at night when it is very quite noise does travel. Thanks for your feedback. Kind regards Denise.
Read more
Judith Solomona wrote a review June 2020
1 contribution
Thank you for a lovely afternoon, booked the restaurant for a birthday lunch and food was delicious, very generous portions...the Roast especially is the winner so will definitely recommend for lunch and dinner. Staff are very friendly and made our guests feel welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Wenz wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
Terrible treatment from management!!! Worst ever in my experience. I went to a lot of trouble to ensure bookings made this year to attend training in Auckland accommodated my physical disability. Only to find this hotel takes bookings but that doesn’t mean the room you booked you will get!! They are not disability friendly, actually basically had to cancel all bookings made in advance because they won’t accomodate those with physical disabilities. You can book a studio but you are not guaranteed the studio room you booked.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Denise K, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel
Responded 11 Mar 2020
Hi Wendy, We have tried to explain to you and your husband on many occasions that we will give you the room type that you request but we cannot allocate a specific room months in advance. We would obviously try our best but we cannot guarantee. Again we have tried to explain this to you? I am very sorry this has been such a terrible experience for you but to guarantee you a specific room number is not something we do. Kind regards Denise
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 104 - USD 184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
quality inn auckland, auckland quality inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Quality Inn West End
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandAuckland Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
83
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Surrey Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Surrey Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Uptown Bounce (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Surrey Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Surrey Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Surrey Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Surrey Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Surrey Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Viet, Tiger Burger, and Postal Service Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Surrey Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Surrey Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Surrey Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Surrey Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Surrey Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Chinese.