We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Quest on Hobson

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Quest on Hobson
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 183: English reviews
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed at this place for 5 nights due to business in the area. The place is situated in a good location, across the road from the casino, and there are plenty of places to eat and drink nearby. The rooms are rather old, furniture has seen better days, carpet could do with being replaced, and the beds rather hard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OzTravels80
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms was Clean, Large and an awesome deck if you got the excuitive suite for the view. A few tweaks and it would be so much better. eg. kitchen cupboard was hanging off the hook and the carpet was wet with towels from the leaking heat pump that got fixed. The furniture black lacquered was chipped and looked scruffy. Had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicky598
QuestonHobson, Front Office Manager at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review

Dear Nicky, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you enjoyed you stay with us here at Quest on Hobson. The hotel is scheduled for a refurbishment over the next few months, which will allow us to rectify the small issues in which you encountered during your stay with us. We thank you for...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Located about 10 minutes from the harbour and Queenstreet. Rooms are spacious and staff friendly. There is a fully equipped kitchen as well as a large bathroom with free-to-use washing machine and dryer which was excellent. Only downside is that the stairs can only be used in emergencies and there is only one lift. One time we had to wait...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BabakTava
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our hospitality. We do apologise for the inconvenience you experienced due to wait time for the lift. We are in the process of installing a new lift which should be in operation by June/July 2017...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely place and good service. Staff members are friendly and assist as best as they can. Good walking distance to cafes, restaurants and shops especially Skyscraper tower! Bus interchange is just down the road. Good accessible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jake L
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review

Dear Jake Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our hospitality. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your trip and hope to see you again in the near future. Warm Regards Harsh Khanna Franchise Director

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have used Quest all over the world, but this is by far the worst Quest we have ever stayed in. Stayed two nights at end of our trip. Had been in a camper for 3 weeks and decided to treat ourselves for last two days before flying home. We were family of four so booked two adjoining rooms, rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RSH68
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback. We apologise for the inconvenience you experienced due to lack of air-conditioning in one of your rooms, as you mentioned this due to direct sun causing very hot heat. It was very unfortunate and again we apologise for the inconvenience caused to you. Rest assured this issue has...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend. The bed was soft and comfy however it was made from two singles pushed together and the gap in the middle was really uncomfortable and noticeable. There was an issue with our plug in the sink but that was fixed by staff straight-away. Great service! We were also able to leave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clifflisachungy
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our hospitality. We do apologise for the inconvenience you experienced due to the bed. We assure you these are Sleepy Head Super King Split beds used by most hotels around the word. Nevertheless we have...

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well located hotel and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Parking underneath for a charge was good too, but the spaces were minuscule - not good for our 4WD. A comfortable apartment, but the washing machine didn't work and the air-conditioner struggled to get to its designated temperature. But I've stayed in worse places. It was roomy and clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kafem1957
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking out time to review our hotel. We apologise that we your beds were not split and the washing machine broke while you were staying with us. As I understand these were immediately looked into by our staff. We thank you for acknowledging that our staff looked after your requirements within minutes of requesting and...

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I booked one night at Quest on Hobson and requested a king bed studio. In my booking, I requested one bed (not two singles pushed together) I was still given two singles pushed together. The bump in the middle was very uncomfortable. The bed it's self was hard and soft pillows. Reception staff were helpful and a problem with my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Damian K
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking out time to review our hotel. We apologise that you felt our beds were uncomfortable while you were staying with us. These are Super King split beds, used in most hotels, but I understand it can be uncomfortable in the middle for some. We are in process of our refurbishment program, this includes new...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Very clean, spacious enough although terrible views but great for a city stopover. We used it as our base to go on the Hobbiton/Waitamo caves tour as it is just over the road from where the bus picks you up! Close to pizza place and groceries as well. Shady end of town but we didn't go out anyway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review

Dear Michelle Thank you for taking out time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future Warm Regards Harsh Khanna franchise Director

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Quest on Hobson is a stone throw away from SkyCity and 5 minutes walk to Viaduct. The room is a bit on the small side, but very clean and tidy. Free wifi is very handy. Good value for money. We didn't care if the room didn't have any views since we are out and about most of the time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeeBai
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking out time to submit your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. We hope you have a great new year and look forward to seeing you again soon Regards Harsh Khanna Franchise Director

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 km away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.5 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
1,132 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Rydges
Rydges
#14 of 68 in Auckland
1,866 reviews
1.3 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.5 km away
Barclay Suites Auckland
Barclay Suites Auckland
#7 of 100 in Auckland
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Quest on Hobson Serviced Apartments Strategically located on the western side of the CBD, Quest on Hobson is opposite the famous St Matthews Church and adjacent Sky Tower, besides being only 1-minutes walk away from a multitude of businesses, fabulous shopping, restaurants, bars and theatres on Queen Street.Quest New Zealand and Fiji CEO Stephen Mansfield says that the new property will be a great choice for business and leisure travellers alike."Accommodation in the CBD is in hot demand and Quest on Hobson will provide further access to New Zealand's largest business, leisure and entertainment centre."The 44 room complex will host a range of studio, one bedroom, and interconnecting two bedroom apartments, each equipped with all the modern furnishings and independent facilities that Quest has become known for.Quest on Hobson reception hours are 7am to 9pm Monday-Friday and 8am to 6pm Weekends and public holidays. Guest may still check in after these times using our afterhours lock box and call centre. Instructions for this can be found outside reception doors. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Quest on Hobson

Address: 127 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $163 - $723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Hobson 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Quest on Hobson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Hobson Auckland, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Quest on Hobson staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Wolverhampton, England
over a year ago
2 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Quest on Hobson staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at rear and upper floor.”
 of 5 bubbles RSH68, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Central location. Quiet spacious room.”
 of 5 bubbles kafem1957, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Any room would be fine”
 of 5 bubbles ChinaChinaChina, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms without a view at the back of the hotel are generally quieter”
 of 5 bubbles lillie12345, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Quiet fartherest away down passageway from lift.”
 of 5 bubbles mwlockley, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5