We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,673 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,534: English reviews
Start your review of Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
 Click to rate
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Outstanding hotel right in central Auckland down the waterfront. Close to great food.. Namely grand harbour for yum Cha! Easy access to ferry and transport. Excelant 5 star accom modern and not uptight! Just how we like it ...thanks!

Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank markwO2784PT
New York City, New York
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Did all the research on which hotel would give us the experience that we were looking, and came up with this (unexpectedly expensive) gem for our seven days. After we got over the sticker price and additions, we came to appreciate this wonderfully run establishment. The perfect location and is neither too busy nor too far from any of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank InternationalPursuit
About Hotel's Favourite Review
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour InternationalPursuit, Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience at the Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to read you enjoyed the comfortable long stay at Sofitel Auckland and were able to make use of our facilities, location on the Viaduct Harbour and explored beautiful attraction that New Zealand has to offer....

Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Located near the harbor and within walking distance to many Auckland city sites, this hotel is top notch. From the friendly and helpful gal at the reception to the large and wonderfully appointed room (balcony with harbor views, nice linens, Nespresso, robes, slippers, you get the picture), I could not have asked for more. I only stayed one night but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bas0921
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Having stayed at the sister hotel in Brisbane, we expected that this hotel would be one of the best we would encounter on our tour of Australia and New Zealand and we certainly weren't let down. Fantastic quality throughout, from very comfortable corner room to top class restaurant. Our dinner here was excellent and the breakfast the best of said...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 114tonyw406
Gold Coast
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Beautiful rooms, nice and clean and fresh and the beds are incredibly comfortable. Had room service which was (expectedly) pricey, but delicious. Service was really good too. Would stay again for sure!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melinda B
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour Melinda B, Thank you very much for you wonderful review on your stay with us here at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the comfortable Sofitel Mybed. Once again, thank you for your lovely feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future....

Noosaville, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed for three nights to see friends and attend a 70th celebration. The Hotel is situated in one of the marinas and it's a pleasant walk around the harbour to the restaurants and an easy walk up into town. The service was good and the breakfast was superb.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wdbentley
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour wdbentley, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share your experience at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I am thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay and the delivery of service from our dedicated team here at Sofitel Auckland. Thank you for choosing to...

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Truly wonderful experience. Service, rooms, both outstanding . Excellent bars onsite offering a fantastic range of top quality New Zealand wines. Fantastic location, walk to the vibrant life on the Viaduct Harbour.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacey W
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour Stacey W, Thank you for choosing to stay at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour and taking your time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you appreciated our hotel location, luxurious room and outstanding service standards. Thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us. It would be a pleasure to...

Honiara, Solomon Islands
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It isn't surprising that TripAdvisors place this wonderful hotel so highly in the Auckland hotel rankings. It is situated beautifully allowing views across the harbour. Lava Dining, its restaurant, is wonderful - Chef produces some quite superb dishes. An excellent breakfast is available, though costly in comparison with the price of hotel breakfasts in Britain even allowing for the poor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank white_knight_and_dog
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour white_knight_and_dog, Thank you for devoting your precious time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our beautifully appointed rooms especially after your long haul flight. Furthermore, it is a pleasure you had enjoyed our food quality, hotel facilities, and ambassadors’ service throughout the...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Truly lives up to the 5* rating (one of very few)! Friendly Service started with Tom lovely french Concierge whoo took care of the car etc. to a very polite and friendly service at reception by Serena ( I hope I spelt the name right) to the surprise flowers for my wife that I ordered (which were already in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vlad L
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour Vlad L, Thank you so much for kindly sharing the experience you had here with us at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. It gives me great delight to read such amazing and satisfying feedback. I am thrilled to know that you had a Magnifique experience. We are very humbled and happy to read the spacious room and hotel facilities have...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

lovely hotel with pretty water feature in reception but the view from our room was the huge bus station and a range of bus employees having a fag on the white plastic chairs out the front! The positioning of the bed and tv unit made it difficult to get the wheelchair into the bathroom and the problem was exacerbated by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vjbar
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour vjbar, Thank you for taking your time and sharing with us your recent Sofitel experience. It is delightful to read you had enjoyed the hotel ambience and chic appearance. In addition, I am sorry to hear that the room was not to your expectations along with the view. Please note these preferences are subject to availability and we have...

919 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (680)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (84)
Viewed
View from Room (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (134)
Viewed
Bathroom (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Other (306)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (167)
Viewed
Amenities (56)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
2,365 reviews
1.5 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
3,957 reviews
0.9 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
2,133 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 68 in Auckland
1,126 reviews
0.9 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Lava Dining
Lava Dining
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
Sabrage Bar
Sabrage Bar
Cuisines: European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination.Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers six private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $208 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms overlooking the marina are a little noisy at times.”
 of 5 bubbles wdbentley, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a marina view room for a little extra”
 of 5 bubbles 545vladl, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the quay offer great views but with floor to ceiling windows offer very little privacy without closing the drapes”
 of 5 bubbles 779bobt, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best View of the harbor and out sitting for duct..”
 of 5 bubbles kmlbarik, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room on the far end, closest to harbor facing city and marina”
 of 5 bubbles 532pierrel, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5