We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

City Travellers Auckland

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
City Travellers Auckland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for City Travellers Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 94: English reviews
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Just stayed for a week - the positives were the location and staff who were willing to help, price and cooking facilities The room was very dark during the day requiring lights which were very dim. To get more light required the opening of the curtains which gave an outlook onto another apartment window very close.by. We also suffered bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Craig E
Ranzolin, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us and have definitely taken into account the issues you have addressed. I have increased the wattage of light bulbs particularly in those rooms, and unfortuately the shower cubicle is standard size, regarding bed bugs, appreciate the feedback but would have been alot more...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 December 2011

I had never experienced bed bugs in my life and now thanks to a short stay at this hostel a couple of months ago I am still trying to get rid of them. We stayed at one of the ensuite bedrooms and they didnt even offer an apology after the incident. STAY AWAY.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Max A
Ranzolin, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Guest We certainly do apologise and am not sure if you bought this to our attention and if you did it certainly does not ring any bells, as most certainly do remember if it did happen! Unfortunately for us operators these little critters are a product of human carriers, so whilst we do our best to eliminate them, we...

Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 21 November 2011

It is very close to the Auckland city center. It's safe to stay alone.I stayed 6 days and after decided to stay 1 day more. It's clean and cheap. But for me, the most important thing is smiling service.It was there!Managers were so ready to help,to find a solution,to organize an activity.The people were supernice.Hope to go back there,soon. Daria

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daria B
Ranzolin, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and we are happy you had a good time with us and in Auckland, Hope to host you again soon. Regards Ranz

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Having stayed there for a month i can say i absolutely loved it. If you can try and stay the top floor as it has a great communal area. The staff were very friendly and dont mind you drinking which alot of other hostels ban. Cheers guys for a good month!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefan S
Ranzolin, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review

Good to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you again for making the time to write a review. We certainly appreciate it and hope you enjoy your travels. Regards Ranz

Waikato
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We (husband, daughter and I) had a great stay at this hostel last weekend. It was great value and a great location to show our 10yr old Queen Street and all the hussle and bussle. Front desk reception was friendly and helpful and we found the hostel to be pretty clean and pleasant, certainly good value for money as it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L R
Ranzolin, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and that you had a great time in Auckland! Hope to see you again some time in the near future soon! Regards Ranz

Belfast Northern Ireland
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed during the Rugby world cup and accomodation in Auckland was at a premium. City Travellers was in a good central location about a 5minute walk from Queen Street and the fanzone. I had a 5am flight so had booked a room for the night beofre to allow for early checkin which was great. Was staying in a studio apartment....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pen10poppy
Ranzolin, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and appreciate your comments and we're glad the RWC is now over! We hope you have enjoyed NZ and safe travels. Regards Ranz

Christchurch
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This is a budget hotel and you get what you pay for. Everything that janewdc said is completely true and my experience exactly. I stayed for two nights in a Private Studio Apartment and as well as the cleanliness issues found the room to be very dark, even with the thin curtains open, due to the low wattage lighting. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Puk3k0
Ranzolin, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to write a review and I do appreciate what you have outlined and will certainly look at it, lighting and curtains are being looked at so this will improve but unfortunately traffic noise in CBD Auckland is out of our control. We hope that you do try us when your next in Auckland and that...

Clermont-Ferrand, France
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I intended to stay in this hostel for two nights and ended up cancelling my second night because it was aweful. The room was dirty, the bathroom hadn't been cleaned either, there was a dirty towel, extension cords all over the floor it looked like workers were about to come at any time to finish the work... there was mold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
Ranzolin, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review

Very sorry to read your review and just to make it clear that i am a hostel and not a hotel as you have stated in your review. Will look at the following and to rectify these areas you have outlined above so we do thank you for briinging it to our attention. Regards Ranz

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 21 October 2011

The room was very big but barely acceptable clean. Froma distance it looks very clean but if you look closer it doesn't look as clean.The sheets, floor, shower and toilet were ok clean, however it looks like the cleaning team only cleans what's minimally required and ignores the rest which makes the room look dirty and old. For example, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KNDC3
Ranzolin, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments and have taken this onboard on cleanliness and will take up with my team! Regarding the sinks is they are small and it is on the cards to look at in the future however I do appreciate you have taken the time to write a review and hope your time in NZ was a success. Regards...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Originally checked in for 2 weeks and ended up extending it to 3 weeks, It was great to have a single bed as opposed to bunk beds!! The place itself is ideally located within the city centre. the staff are very relaxed and friendly. And i met some great people here staff included.I would reccomend this place to anyone to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rob_23uk
Ranzolin, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and appreciate taking the time and hope you have enjoying NZ and look forward to having you back one day. Regards Ranz

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.1 km away
The Station Backpackers
The Station Backpackers
#72 of 94 in Auckland
78 reviews
0.1 km away
Quest on Eden
Quest on Eden
#61 of 94 in Auckland
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
K Road City Travelers Hostel
0.1 km away
Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland
0.6 km away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#53 of 94 in Auckland
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
City Travellers is designed with the budget traveller in mind. If you’re looking for affordable accommodation in the centre of Auckland that is handy to all the excitement of the CBD, come and stay with us.We provide safe, cheap and conveniently located hostel accommodation for the budget conscious traveller who wants to be close to public transport, the Vector Arena and downtown Auckland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about City Travellers Auckland

Address: 93 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Hotel Class:2 star — City Travellers Auckland 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
City Travellers Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
City Travellers Auckland New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from City Travellers Auckland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The windows open slightly. First night we could hear noise until we realized window was open.”
 of 5 bubbles 767billd, 2 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Try and get an apartment on a high floor at the back of the building if you want a quiet night”
 of 5 bubbles TomTom803, 30 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Do not choose a room here”
 of 5 bubbles F_K_C2014, 19 Feb 2014 | Read review
“Buy your room from wotif, and if you need to get anywhere ask the people at the desk, they are super heplful.”
 of 5 bubbles JanelleS309, 8 Jan 2014 | Read review
“Do not stay here”
 of 5 bubbles Ninaclent, 7 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5