We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Attic Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Attic Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

477 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 433: English reviews
Paris, France
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

situated in the city center, on a top of a building, the team is friendly, the hostel is spacious, well equiped, everything is so clean , the kitchen is incredible, fully equiped, always clean, no dishes in the sink, commun area are nice, beds are comfy, there is computer, Tv, lounge, piano, terrace for smockers,... after 2 nights you feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C-lya F
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked into a 10 bed dorm and we're pleasantly surprised by how well payed out and spacious it was. The beds were comfy and the hostel is clean. It's got a cool terrace area and sofa rooms to chill in. It's in a great location and the staff were friendly. Highly recommend to anyone needing somewhere to stay in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Macolo3
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Quite simply, this is is a great place at the heart of Auckland, with all major attractions within walking distance. 1. Right from the stage of reservation, the staff were extremely prompt and helpful in replying to my emails. 2. The single room where I stayed was excellent. The shared toilets were very clean, The kitchen was very well-equipped and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RahulMukerjee
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Attic backpackers had a lot of quick turn over with guests. In the 4 share mixed dorm in the 5 days I stayed there, there were six different backpackers. The kitchen was well stocked with backpackers (bp) items however their storage system was not the best. Each bp had to label food with their name and checkout date. I did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We just had a one night stay here, the last night of a two week trek. Compared to other hostels we have stayed in NZ and beyond this one stands strongly amongst our top experiences! The hostel itself is not crowded, not clique-y, just nice. Facilities have a great design and are bright, spacious, and clean. That said, some surfaces...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenell W
Tampere, Finland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

So, you are looking for a cozy, warm, friendly and high value place to stay in Auckland? Look no furher. The Attic has everything you need for a high quality hostel stay with no inconveniences. With awesome staff, who are wiling (and able) to help you with almost anything, clean premises and cozy shared space it's hard to beat this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vuento
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff are super friendly. The room was clean, the bathroom also clean. I stayed in female dorm, it was nice. Separated bathroom for boys and girls. They even provide hair dryer and hair straightener in the bathroom. Big mirror, spacious room in the bathroom, you can sit in front of the mirror and dry your hair. They have lounge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nengsy D
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in Attic Backpackers for three nights on the start of my Kiwi Experience trip. It has a great location just a few minutes walk from where the airport transfer bus drops you off. The lift has had some bad reviews it's really easy and actually quite cool. The hostel is kept very clean and the beds were comfy, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Callum W
AklHostels, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you chose us to stay with us as your first experience of New Zealand. We take a lot of pride in keeping our hostel clean throughout the day by doing daily deep cleans and hourly...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've stayed in my fair share of hostels, and The Attic has to be one of the best, if you're looking for a place with all the best mod cons at ridiculously high prices you won't find it here...HOWEVER, what you will find is some of the nicest, attentive most entertaining staff in the business, a welcoming bunch make you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
AklHostels, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are so happy that you loved your stay as much as we always hope. We are so lucky to have some awesome guests (including you) and staff here to really bring this place alive. The staff always try their hardest to make sure that everyone is having a...

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with my boyfriend and wasn't disappointed. It is a little pricey and you could probably find somewhere cheaper to stay in the city however it's clean, has friendly staff and is in a great location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lottiedove16
AklHostels, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are happy that you chose us to stay with during your time in Auckland. We are glad you were not disappointed with your stay with us. We believe we are very competitively priced for the facilities we provide. We do hope that you come back if you are...

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#7 of 68 in Auckland
1,053 reviews
0.1 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
2,226 reviews
0.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 68 in Auckland
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.8 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
3,629 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Attic is a fresh and vibrant, newly refurbished top floor backpackers situated in the heart of the city centre, on Wellesley Street, just steps from the iconic Auckland Skytower and the hustle and bustle of Queen Street. Sleeping a maximum of 100 guests, we are a smaller inner city hostel than most, offering guests a central location and budget accommodation with a difference. Ride our traditional, 'old school' service lift to the top floor, which opens straight out on to The Attic. Enjoy a tour of our place upon check in, no impersonal pointing to your room and off you go, we want you to feel at home with us. Some of our larger dorms feature dividers so that even our most budget options are still as comfortable as a smaller dorm, attention to detail is important here at The Attic. Incredibly friendly and helpful, we go the extra mile to make your stay with us that little bit more special. Our guests comfort is the most important thing for us and we pride ourselves on creating a chilled, helpful and caring hostel environment in Auckland city centre! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Attic Backpackers

Address: 31 Wellesley St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Topfloor Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $27 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Attic Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attic Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Attic Backpackers staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Kuala Lumpur
3 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Attic Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I prefer female dorm.”
 of 5 bubbles , 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in room 13 - small industrial vent lower down could hear but didn't affect sleep at all.”
 of 5 bubbles JG2013, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a bigger room”
 of 5 bubbles 181francisy, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in the 6 bed room and it was just a tad squished but not terrible for my and my three bags”
 of 5 bubbles crestonmartin, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“They all have beds, if you want a cheap and safe place to stay, I recommend staying here.”
 of 5 bubbles igleas0n, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay