We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barclay Suites Auckland

Agoda.comUSD 101*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 179*
USD 101*
Great Deal
USD 116*
USD 117*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Barclay Suites Auckland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

581 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Barclay Suites Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 526: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2015

I thought long and hard about this review, started at 3, and ended at 1. Issues at every turn. Parking, this was my biggest one. Had to pay $64 for 2 days parking, only to find that once I left the allotted car park, I would never get it back. So with no places available, some 30 mins later, I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tony H
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Tony H It was disappointing to read your stay with us didn’t meet your expectations. We take great pride in offering a fantastic accommodation service in Auckland and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss all issues especially the car parking – please contact me at franzs@barclaysuites.co.nz Thank you again and I look forward to...

London
Reviewed 15 January 2015

Stayed at the Barclay for an extended visit to NZ recently. Plus points - great location, incredible views (apartment on 20th floor), all mod cons and friendly staff. Negatives - no air conditioning in street facing apartments which were like ovens during the day, no racks to dry anything washed, cracked crockery and the biggest minus no cleaning of bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BernieB68
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback BernieB68 It is disappointing to hear that you experienced issues with services within the rooms. The hotel does complete ongoing checks throughout all rooms to ensure that these shortfalls do not occur again. All suites have portable fans and heaters for our guests comfort. Additional fans can be delivered to Suites upon request. Kind Regards...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2015

Booked a two bed apartment in Jan 2014 for NYE 2015 for a two night stay for four pax. I requested a view of the SkyTower for the NYE firework display. I chose this hotel specifically for its location across from SkyTower. Upon arriving we were checked into a room on the opposite side of the hotel overlooking the rubbish...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paula R
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Paula R, It was disappointing to read your stay with us didn’t meet your expectations especially on a special occasion like NYE. Barclay Suites endeavour to accommodate all requests however due to Suite demand and availability we could not assist your request during your stay. We have addressed all other issues that you have mentioned...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 January 2015

Top location in Central city. Rooms had everything you needed and would've been happy with my stay except I was overcharged. I was in Auckland on business and wasn't there to check out so my wife did. She was unaware of the fact that I had already paid a deposit to secure the room upon booking. She was given the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BradNZtoNSW
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review BradNZtoNSW It was disappointing to read about your recent stay especially with the correction of your refund, all refunds are actioned in a timely manner and without delay. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the issues you have mentioned – please contact me directly franzs@barclaysuites.co.nz Thank you again and I look forward to hearing...

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 January 2015

We stayed two nights in December, in different apartments (on the first night we had our teenage kids, the second night just the two of us). We were a bit disappointed. The bed configuration we'd booked was wrong and although the front desk gave us an upgrade, the new apartment still didn't have the right beds. They offered to fix...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coseytoes007
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review coseytoes007 We have reviewed our security procedure on Suite card production to ensure that this incident does not happen again in the future. To date I have not received your email, I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns further – please contact me at franzs@barclaysuites.co.nz Kind Regards Franz Staufer General Manager

Los Angeles, CA
Reviewed 10 January 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights with some friends in from the States. The hotel is in a great location, near Federal Street and Britomart. The rooms are solid, but nothing spectacular. A couple of things didn't work in our room (one sunshade and the extractor fan). The staff here are wonderful and very friendly and helpful. We tend to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CAJason80
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post a review CAJason80 We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Barclay Suites. – Yes as you have mentioned Barclay Suites is located in the heart of Auckland central city, close Federal St and Britomart, also to shops, bars, restaurants, And we pride ourselves on our team. Thank you for staying...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 January 2015

Wanted to leave a review for both our stay and another customer service encounter on a separate occasion. The stay: Lovely sizable suite which was clean and comfortable at a great price. Great views, friendly staff. When staying in Auckland for personal travel this is a must check place for availability when I book. Service: We were in Auckland stranded...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ScottW1990
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post a review ScottW1990 We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Barclay Suites. – It’s great to see we are on the right track to delivering a great customer service and accommodation experience. Don’t forget to book direct with us on your next stay for FREE Wi-Fi and we look forward...

Georgetown, Texas
Reviewed 5 January 2015

We stayed here for three nights in early November. For some reason, upon check-in, we were given an upgrade to the 21st floor, so we had an absolutely fabulous view, especially at night, of the harbor area and the sky tower (which was so close that we felt we could almost reach out and touch it.) The entire wall of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elaine P
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Elaine P We were pleased to read you enjoyed your experience here at Barclay Suites. The team at Barclay Suites take pride in providing an excellent experience, Our Suites are completely self-contained, with great views over Auckland Harbour and the central city. As we are situated between Queen Street and the Skytower, our central location...

Ipoh, Malaysia
Reviewed 4 January 2015 via mobile

The suites is centrally located. Fully equiped. All furniture and fittings looks new. Easy to get around, however it is a bit uphill if u walk from queens street or the harbour. If u drive a car, u can park at the parking building nearby for nzd32 per day/night.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zalss
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post a review Zalss We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Barclay Suites. – Yes as you have mentioned Barclay Suites is located in the heart of Auckland central city, close to all shops, bars, restaurants. Don’t forget to book direct with us on your next stay for FREE Wi-Fi and...

Reviewed 4 January 2015

Great location. Rooms are a good size, clean,comfortable and modern. 2 major supermarkets within 5 minute walk. We were on the 3rd floor and yes it was a bit if noise around but nothing too much. Lovely view of the sky tower from our window

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anitaw748
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post a review Anita W We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Barclay Suites. – it’s great to see we are on the right track to delivering a great accommodation experience. Don’t forget to book direct with us on your next stay for FREE Wi-Fi and we look forward to seeing...

233 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (211)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
1:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,219 reviews
0.3 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,427 reviews
0.2 km away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,708 reviews
0.1 km away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#14 of 67 in Auckland
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Qualmark 4.5 star rated Barlcay Suites Auckland is only 100 metres from Queen St, in the heart of the CBD - and look out for fresh new suite decor in 2014! With an average of 50 sq metres per suite, there are 110 one or two bedroom configurations to choose from. Each suite is fitted with contemporary furnishings, quality kitchen and laundry appliances along with full self catering facilities. A special feature in all two bedroom suites is the inclusion of two bathrooms. We have thought of everything for your stay - flat screen TV, SKY TV, broadband internet access (fee applies), stereo with iPod/MP3 playout to name just a few of our features. Enjoy the sparkle of the Waitemata Harbour from our Harbour View suites or enjoy the fast pace of the city in our CBD View suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barclay Suites Auckland

Address: 74 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $145 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barclay Suites Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barclay Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Barclay Suites Auckland New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barclay Suites Auckland staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
canada
over a year ago
6 months ago
6 months ago
Barron, Wisconsin
6 months ago

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Barclay Suites Auckland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Mercure is just down the street!”
  • Kitchen with stained, torn carpet
  • Portable air conditioner in sitting area
  • Bedroom
DanandCollette, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Due to the construction, a room in the high floors will be better.”
Peitoh, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“This hotel is at a busy intersection, so a room on a higher floor would be quieter.”
Cheng-Metz, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had a room on the 19th Floor with very good views.”
Brigham69, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“if air con is important, then dont stay here”
962shanes, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
USD 101* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 116
Booking.comUSD 117
HotelQuicklyUSD 179
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates