We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barclay Suites Auckland

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Barclay Suites Auckland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

564 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Barclay Suites Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 512: English reviews
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2015

These suites are centrally located in Auckland and the price for a 2 bedroom suite was quite good. Somehow they managed to cram a washer/dryer into the bigger of the bathrooms and this was quite handy. The kitchen was also reasonably well equipped. The whole thing was a bit cramped but not too bad given the facilities. Leaving the window...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigCoolGuy
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post a review BigCoolGuy We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Barclay Suites. – It’s great to see we are on the right track to delivering a great accommodation experience. Our Suites are completely self-contained, One and two bedroom Suites ranging from 45sqm - 67sqm in floor space, Barclay Suites has...

Reviewed 19 January 2015

Checked into Barclay Suites with my Wife for a night away. Had an amazing dinner at El Faro which is inside Elliott Stables, close walk from the hotel. Great location to spend a special night and celebrate. Great view of Auckland from our room. Rooms were clean and had everything we needed. Highlight are the staff, Kingal (I think this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nkolas
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post a review nkolas, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Barclay Suites. – It’s great to see we are on the right track to delivering a great accommodation experience. I will pass on you great comments to our senior Suite ambassador Kinjal Don’t forget to book direct with us on...

Reviewed 17 January 2015

No air conditioning, cramped, mould growing throughout the apartment, tattered towls, and stuffy rooms. Wifi internet is not included, and charged out at $15.00 a day per device. The location of the hotel is great, and price is ok. If you are planning to spend a period of time in auckland consider alternative accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex2417
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Alex2417 It was disappointing to read your stay with us didn’t meet your expectations. We take great pride in offering a fantastic accommodation service in Auckland and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the issues you have mentioned – please contact me at franzs@barclaysuites.co.nz Thank you again and I look forward to hearing from...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2015

The staff are excellent and service of the apartments were great. The apartments are really central in relation to main shopping area and not to far away from harbour if your staying before or after a cruise. There is cheap overnight street parking near the apartments and convenient to a supermarket. The problem with apartments are the lobby is too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Daveborport We were pleased to read you enjoyed your experience here at Barclay Suites. Our Suites are completely self-contained, including portable clothing racks which can be delivered to your Suite on request from our friendly housekeeping team. For your next stay please book direct through our website and receive FREE Wi-Fi We look forward to...

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 16 January 2015

We were very disappointed with the standard of this hotel. First, it was hot and stuffy. There is no air-conditioning and I was assured prior to arriving that the room was not hot and that fans were available. But it was so stuffy we had to open the windows. Despite being on a very high floor, the sound from the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Suessical
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Suessical, Barclay Suites always endeavour to enhance our guests experience, All of our suites come with portable fans, additional fans can be requested and delivered to your Suite 24 hours a day. Our two bedroom Suites range from 50 Sqm - 67Sqm and where possible we try and upgrade our guest too larger suites for...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 January 2015 via mobile

Stayed in a 2 bed apartment for 1 night on arrival into auckland. Its well located to explore auckland. Wont win any awards for facilities or service or anything else but it was clean basic and priced reasonably. had a little kitchenette which was basic but this is an ideal place for a quick stopover 1 maybe 2 nights and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lazirus
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience here at Barclay Suites Lazirus As you have mentioned Our Suites are completely self-contained, which are "well located to explore Auckland" – Barclay Suite is just a few minutes’ walk away from Queen Street and the Sky tower, our superb location means you can access all the best activities and restaurants Auckland has to...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2015

I thought long and hard about this review, started at 3, and ended at 1. Issues at every turn. Parking, this was my biggest one. Had to pay $64 for 2 days parking, only to find that once I left the allotted car park, I would never get it back. So with no places available, some 30 mins later, I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tony H
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Tony H It was disappointing to read your stay with us didn’t meet your expectations. We take great pride in offering a fantastic accommodation service in Auckland and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss all issues especially the car parking – please contact me at franzs@barclaysuites.co.nz Thank you again and I look forward to...

London
Reviewed 15 January 2015

Stayed at the Barclay for an extended visit to NZ recently. Plus points - great location, incredible views (apartment on 20th floor), all mod cons and friendly staff. Negatives - no air conditioning in street facing apartments which were like ovens during the day, no racks to dry anything washed, cracked crockery and the biggest minus no cleaning of bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BernieB68
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback BernieB68 It is disappointing to hear that you experienced issues with services within the rooms. The hotel does complete ongoing checks throughout all rooms to ensure that these shortfalls do not occur again. All suites have portable fans and heaters for our guests comfort. Additional fans can be delivered to Suites upon request. Kind Regards...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2015

Booked a two bed apartment in Jan 2014 for NYE 2015 for a two night stay for four pax. I requested a view of the SkyTower for the NYE firework display. I chose this hotel specifically for its location across from SkyTower. Upon arriving we were checked into a room on the opposite side of the hotel overlooking the rubbish...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paula R
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Paula R, It was disappointing to read your stay with us didn’t meet your expectations especially on a special occasion like NYE. Barclay Suites endeavour to accommodate all requests however due to Suite demand and availability we could not assist your request during your stay. We have addressed all other issues that you have mentioned...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 January 2015

Top location in Central city. Rooms had everything you needed and would've been happy with my stay except I was overcharged. I was in Auckland on business and wasn't there to check out so my wife did. She was unaware of the fact that I had already paid a deposit to secure the room upon booking. She was given the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BradNZtoNSW
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review BradNZtoNSW It was disappointing to read about your recent stay especially with the correction of your refund, all refunds are actioned in a timely manner and without delay. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the issues you have mentioned – please contact me directly franzs@barclaysuites.co.nz Thank you again and I look forward to hearing...

224 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (202)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
1:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
1,179 reviews
0.3 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
2,373 reviews
0.7 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Rydges
Rydges
#15 of 68 in Auckland
1,925 reviews
0.2 km away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 68 in Auckland
1,652 reviews
0.3 km away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Qualmark 4.5 star rated Barlcay Suites Auckland is only 100 metres from Queen St, in the heart of the CBD - and look out for fresh new suite decor in 2014! With an average of 50 sq metres per suite, there are 110 one or two bedroom configurations to choose from. Each suite is fitted with contemporary furnishings, quality kitchen and laundry appliances along with full self catering facilities. A special feature in all two bedroom suites is the inclusion of two bathrooms. We have thought of everything for your stay - flat screen TV, SKY TV, broadband internet access (fee applies), stereo with iPod/MP3 playout to name just a few of our features. Enjoy the sparkle of the Waitemata Harbour from our Harbour View suites or enjoy the fast pace of the city in our CBD View suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barclay Suites Auckland

Address: 74 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $170 - $620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barclay Suites Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Barclay Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Barclay Suites Auckland New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barclay Suites Auckland staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
canada
over a year ago
4 months ago
4 months ago
Barron, Wisconsin
4 months ago

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Barclay Suites Auckland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are 25 floors with small balconies - if worried by heights get lower floors.”
 of 5 bubbles 940barried, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Enquire if works is still going on and about the noise level, ask for a discount based on this”
 of 5 bubbles Marlenenick36, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a higher floor room to avoid street/traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles unawareadam, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check if the road works are complete.”
 of 5 bubbles David102014, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you require temperature control, this is not for you.”
 of 5 bubbles Ricardo773, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5