We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Agoda.comUSD 103*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 194*
USD 103*
Great Deal
USD 107*
USD 107*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Panoramas (4)
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

881 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
See the most recent reviews
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 13 August 2015

I stayed here for three nights at the beginning of August on a business trip. The hotel is opposite Auckland City Mission so is not the most salubrious area, especially late at night which is when I arrived. It is not really a four star hotel, more like a good quality three star. It is aging, both inside and out,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Albywon
Mound
Reviewed 6 August 2015

Our room was very clean and well laid out. There was good water pressure in the shower. The staff was polite and helpful. We had an issue with our door and someone was up very quickly and fixed it (you can’t ask for more than that). We ate dinner in their restaurant and enjoyed the food. The service was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aknuts
Curitiba, PR
Reviewed 31 July 2015

I really liked the location of this hotel, although the breakfast was not that cheap and the wifi was a non-included service. Since there are a lot of Cafes with wifi nearby, that was not a major issue. For me a downside was,by that time, I had to park my car on the street.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alex m
Cambridge, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Helpful location and off street parking when you have checked in. Helpful staff. Clean room. Just up the road from the Sky Tower and not far to Queen Street. Some nice restaurants and pubs nearby. Recommended for either business or leisure good size rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KathrynChristensen63
Ciudad Mante, Mexico
Reviewed 21 July 2015

This hotel is great because of its location. Very near to the bay, fish market, skycity, and also a mall and even new zealand post office. Very easy to find and remember. Accomodation is comfortable, though pretty basic. It does not have laundry facilities. Not a parking. But Since we travel here overseas we had no need of it. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paf V
Brisbane QLD
Reviewed 17 July 2015

Great location in the middle of Auckland. Minutes walk to Sky Tower Casino, shops, convenience stores and we even walked down to the Harbour. On check in staff didn't even give us directions to the room until they seen us walking around trying to find where we were to go. The bathroom was quite small. The bed joins in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FLHAR
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Booked this hotel in July, 2 double beds with a small kitchen. A very spacious room but a rather small bathroom. Good location because it was very close to the city central, a bus stop, many convenient stores nearby and a police station nearby. It was also close to the skytower. Problem was with the wifi, only limited to one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lemonnnn W
Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

This was the worst place I've ever stayed. My advice is to avoid at all costs, but if you've already booked and you're staying during winter, make sure they give you a room with heating. We stayed on level 10 and the room was disgraceful. Dark, dank, dingy and absolutely FREEZING! Two small oil fin heaters was never going to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Fuschia G
ACH157, General Manager at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank-you for your feedback as this enables us to identify shortfalls and improve our service offering. We apologise that your stay was not up to your expectations, but are working to rectify the heating issue for our 10th floor rooms. We do have extra heaters and blankets available upon request, so that can help during the colder days...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 15 July 2015

It was located in the heart of city, walkable distance from skytower. Continental Breakfast. But major issue was with WI FI, It does not provide free wifi. Pleasant staff and Location of hotel makes it a decent selection.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank monikaleoster
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 15 July 2015

Booked a king studio room to arrive after midnight from an international flight to 2 single beds in the room. The beds were so small my legs hung over the end of them. In being light weighted sunk in the middle of the poor mattress so was a terrible night sleep. Approached reception to change rooms, advised fully booked and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WonderSuper
achhobson, Director of Sales at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this review

Dear Wondersuper Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your recent stayed. At Auckland City Hotel, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. We are in the midst of upgrading hotel facilities including those issues that you had mentioned. We value your feedback and committed to providing you with...

345 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (235)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (95)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (86)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Exceutive Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 km away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.1 km away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,117 reviews
0.3 km away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 67 in Auckland
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,219 reviews
0.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
933 reviews
0.6 km away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $124 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#22 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Had higher floor and very quiet, on side, to rear of hotel..”
K.D.Ttree, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“North Side would have a better view although you would need to bee on level 6 upwards”
Gordy40, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors are good”
653AnnFrank, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had room 501 which was relatively quiet.”
Gir66, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room at the back was very quiet”
carolea614, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
USD 103* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 107
Expedia.comUSD 107
AMOMAUSD 194
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates