We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
157 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
FindHotel
USD 91
View deal
Hotels.com
Traveluro
eDreams
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (467)
360
Panoramas (3)
Room & Suite (301)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Contactless check-out
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#35 of 72 hotels in Auckland Central
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Car park
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Chinese, Filipino and 5 more
1480Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 332
  • 626
  • 360
  • 112
  • 51
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Maurice wrote a review Yesterday
6 contributions
Went for Irish test at weekend . Check in staff were ok but room still not ready at 230 after arriving at 12. Room was ok but the heater was crazy noisy and no extra blankets . To put icing on the cake we got back from rugby at 1030 and they wouldn’t serve us a beer. Play to the crowd !!! If u have Irish guests its a given . Dude in night shift didn’t give a dam despite me thinking that the management might appreciate extra business post covid . Yes 1030 closing on a Saturday!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
leowty1 wrote a review June 2022
Penang, Malaysia2 contributions2 helpful votes
Clean, comfortable, quiet room. No lack of hot water for shower during one of the coldest winters in Auckland. Friendly and attentive staff. Good location in Auckland CBD, with Queen Street nearby. Wide varieties of eateries within walking distance from the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Victor Fung, Other at Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St
Responded yesterday
Dear Leowty1, Thank you for your review and feedback. We appreciate your support and hope to see you again soon. Thank you again from the bottom of our hearts Victor CEO Jireh Hospitality
Read more
Norm wrote a review June 2022
1 contribution
On arrival we were greeted by the amazing staff behind the desk, we were lucky our hotel had parking $30 a day witch is reasonable for being right in the CBD very reasonable prices for their rooms, we enjoyed our stay here would definitely consider this place again when returning to Auckland thank you all for the awesome stay.👌🏼
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Victor Fung, Other at Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you Normandy for you feedback and support. Your words gives encouragement in this challenging times. Thank you again from the bottom of our hearts Victor CEO Jireh Hospitality
Read more
Darren M wrote a review June 2022
2 contributions
+1
First impression good, but then we saw our appartments, not good, Devore bad, conditions terrible, no heating in 2 rooms, dirty, not even a plug for the bath, overall would never stay again, we were on tenth floor and parts of Windows were missing and off kids room
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Victor Fung, Other at Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Z8331, Sorry that the room was not up to the standard that we had set. Indeed, the room need some touch up work before it's been commission for sales. The missing windows slates are intentional for aircon/heating compressor to work and in no danger to guests. However, the door leading to the area should have been locked hence, we have taken actioned to remedy this. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to serve you again in near future. Regards Victor CEO
Read more
Aleksandra V wrote a review June 2022
5 contributions3 helpful votes
My stay in this hotel was excellent. Very friendly concierges Angellia and Jisoo were very helpful, knowledgeable and made very positive experience of my lovely holiday in this beautiful city and great hotel. Hotel is very clean, rooms are very clean and specious good location and lots of entertainments every night. Highly recommended Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: room large and sunny
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Victor Fung, Sales at Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you Aleksandra for you feedback and support. Your words gives encouragement in this challenging times. Thank you again from the bottom of our hearts
Read more
platypus150 wrote a review June 2022
Melbourne, Australia25119 contributions975 helpful votes
+1
I was here just for one night due to airline issues. My room was really good, clean and full featured, but not everything worked. The TV remote control had battery issues, the room heater made a lot of noise, but I could not get any heat out of it, and the bathroom door had its handle falling off. Perhaps it is a staffing issue, as I saw advertisements for staff for the kitchen. Breakfast was fine, but no other meals were available. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Victor Fung, Sales at Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the feedback Platypus, No excuses for the problems you had encountered, we will look into this issues immediately. Only through feedback that we can improve, thank you again.
Read more
altervision wrote a review May 2022
sydney27 contributions10 helpful votes
I've stayed at this place a few times and its a cost effective place to stay located a 5 min walk from Star City, the main street (Queen St) and harbourfront bars and restaurants. Rooms are clean and water pressure in showers is good. The staff are helpful and really polite.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room with a kitchenette for self catering
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Victor Fung, Sales at Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St
Responded 23 May 2022
Kia Ora Altervision, Thank you for your feedback and the opportunity to serve you. We are constantly improving and hope to serve you much better on your next visit. Regards Victor
Read more
Josh N wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Good solid hotel, easy check in and out. Clean and tidy. I also split the hotel over four payments using Zip when completing the booking. Good base to explore Auckland and close to the Casino. Room was a decent size.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Georgie girl wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
I needed a bed for the night and these guys were the only ones that answered the phone and also, importantly, they didn't require a Vax pass. Lovely man who was the concierge, great room at a reasonable price. Really appreciate you guys! God bless your hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Jackie wrote a review Jan 2022
Tauranga, New Zealand1 contribution
Handy to everything, just an 8 minute uber to Western springs and a 5 minute walk to the Sky Casino. The bed was really Comfy and we both enjoyed the cooked breakfast. We also received a complimentary late check-out which was awesome because we got to have a good sleep-in after a late night out.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Handy location in CBD.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 69 - USD 105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
auckland city hotel-hobson st hotel auckland central
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandAuckland Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
150
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St
Which popular attractions are close to Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St?
Nearby attractions include Weta Workshop Unleashed (0.4 km), SkyTower (0.4 km), and Odyssey Sensory Maze (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fondou Cafe, Tony's Steak & Seafood Restaurant & Bar, and Remedy Coffee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Auckland Central.
Are any cleaning services offered at Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Chinese, Japanese, Thai, Indonesian, and Korean.