We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kangaroo Inn

162 reviews
Save
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (14)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good27%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“single room”(10 reviews)
“huge kitchen”(6 reviews)
“free wifi”(16 reviews)
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Kitchenette
Wheelchair Access
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
Breakfast included
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (162)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Kangaroo Inn
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
89
35
9
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
89
35
9
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingle roomhuge kitchenfree wifibasement loungelarge common areashared bathroomgreat common roomfull size pool tablemurray streethighly recommend this hostelnice facilitiespedestrian mallspent three nightshotel pricesstorage spacebig tvother guests
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Great location. There are many restaurants & shops along the road. Walking distance to Perth Station & CAT stations. They have a huge kitchen for cooking at basement level. Lotsa books available for reading of you are boring. Front desk staff are helpful. The toilet...More

1  Thank princessjv
Response from Innkeeper K, Owner at Kangaroo InnResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Princessjv Thank you for writing a review. Great to hear overall that you had a great stay with us. We do take guest comments seriously and your comments about the dirty bathrooms concerns me and I have asked my manager check who was on...More

Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

I got to the inn at 19:00 after a long flight. The room I got smelled so bad, it was so dirty and dark, I had to leave right away and look for another place to stay. I returned the next morning and asked for...More

Thank Noa A
Response from Innkeeper K, Manager at Kangaroo InnResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Noa A aka Primadonna For reader's background, you are a customer who found other lodgings and simply wanted an excuse for a refund. In the morning when you demanded a refund, you will recall that you along with both my staff and myself went...More

Reviewed 31 August 2017

Great location and close to both buses and trains. I really enjoyed my time here. Clean facilities and very well priced given facilities. My suggestion is let them know your check in and check out time, they are very understanding and helpful. Even the people...More

Thank GeorgieB3
Response from Innkeeper K, Manager at Kangaroo InnResponded 14 September 2017

Hi GeorgieB3 Thank you for your kind words on Kangaroo Inn and great to hear you had a good time staying with us. As you may have realised our atmosphere at Kangaroo Inn is more relaxed than other hostels you may have come across (read...More

Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

I have stayed here multiple times and it's by far the best value for money hostel I've come across in perth. Rooms from $16/night and very clean. Bathroom impressed me the most it's extremely well kept and nice. Split system in all rooms so you...More

1  Thank Corey S
Response from Innkeeper K, Manager at Kangaroo InnResponded 14 September 2017

Hey Corey S Thank you for your repeated custom and thank you for taking the time to write a review on us. We really do appreciate it. Thank you for your comments on the bathroom, my staff and I do prioritise that the bathrooms are...More

Reviewed 5 August 2017

Great place in downtown, very clean and low budget. The facilities appear to be new or newly refurbished. The bathrooms are very clean, separated by sex and each floor has its own bathroom. The hostel still has TV and reading room.

1  Thank Caroline S
Response from Innkeeper K, Manager at Kangaroo InnResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Caroline S Thank you for staying at Kangaroo Inn and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Its always heartening to hear when discerning guests like yourself appreciate the clean bathrooms and near new facilities. =) Cheers Innkeeper

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345628
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Hotel Amenities
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Details
Price range
USD 24 - USD 98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 24 - USD 98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (14)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Rosemarie D
25 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Rosemarie D |
Unfortunately the family room that we stayed in did not have an ensure bathroom. Perhaps other family rooms at the accommodation do have an ensure ??
0
Votes
farmergyal
28 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Innkeeper K | Property representative |
Hi farmergyal, Yes all our shower cubicles can be locked. We also have shower curtains inside the cubicles themselves. Shower cubicles are located inside dedicated male and female bathrooms. We also have a disabled toilet... More
0
Votes
PreviousNext
123
Room Tips
"Best to ask for a room not facing Murray St if you're a light sleeper. It is fairly quiet though."
Read review
"I enjoyed my stay in a single room."
Read review
"They provide free earplugs if your a light sleeper like me."
Read review
"Far away from the elevator"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing