We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Britannia on William

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Britannia on William
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Britannia on William
See the most recent reviews
Showing 92: English reviews
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed there 4 months, in a double room, because this hostel is one of the best values in town for double rooms. + good location, heart of northbridge + bathrooms and kitchen are very clean + very good equipment in the kitchen, except the oven + beds are comfy - non commercial and unfriendly chinese manager. She stole us... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Claire N
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Considering i had been in the country for a matter of hours and this was my first interaction with Australian culture/life. The staff (Male and female) on the reception couldn't of given me a worst impression, they were AWFUL. By this i mean they were rude to not only myself, by giving me short answers to all my questions, laughing/smiling... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank travelduo900

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2016

So I live 3 hours from Perth, but seeing as I had a Perth license I couldn't stay. I asked if having a picture of an international passport would suffice, and they assured me it would. After showing my international passport the owner said she would speak to me outside then locked me out? I was terribly confused considering they... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Ipalita
Andy A, Manager at Britannia on William, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, but you can not really comment of our facility as you did not make it past our reception. We credit our hostel to be a safe, clean and comfortable environment. We have rights that protect our in house guest. People can only stay here when they are guests. If people are not accepted due to not... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2016

Myself and my partner only stayed here for one night, before going to the airport. We booked a double private room, the room was very clean, but basic. There was a double bed, but also a small table with a chair and also a bedside table. There was only a double socket, which had a fan and a lamp, so... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank EvelynT1982
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for 1 night while waiting for our flight to Bali in the morning. It is located in the more affordable area of perth and has some decent pubs and restaurants closeby. The room was reasonabley priced though basic. The furniture consisted of pretty much a double bed, table and fan. We had shared toilet... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Tam S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

The people that stay here are quite respectful of one another, the Vietnamese housekeeping staff are very friendly but a bit clumsy , often throwing your things away by accident. The aussie bloke at front desk with the beard is a right c***. Be advised.

Helpful?
2 Thank Oliviero S
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2015

Staff was friendly and knowledge about anything you can ask for! Beds were comfortable, clean room, nice backyard, computer room, and definitely worth value for money. Recommend to stay and see for yourself.

Helpful?
1 Thank Evine21
Keelung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2015 via mobile

Pro: cheap, Northbridge, friendly staff, clean bathrooms and toilets Cons: No AC just a fan, free WiFi only on ground floor, have to pay for WiFi in the rooms. Don't take a room (if possible) close to William/Francis St. if you want to sleep early. Even with closed window you hear the music from the nearby bars

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom886
Cornwall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2015

nice place, friendly staff, great location for the CBD and northbridge, A little bit of TLC needed in the toilets/showers but they were clean. In total stayed here for over 3months accross 2 visits to Australia and would happily stay there again. (Didn't actually visit in june 15, was July - Sept 2007 and July - Sept 2011) avoid room... More 

Helpful?
Thank 297492
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

Today I went back to Australia on vacation, still choose my favorite backpacker~Britannia on William~ stay inside aunt people are very kind and very friendly, it is the reason I stay again.😘😘😘 今天剛剛回來又看見阿姨👩在櫃檯忙碌著,打了聲招呼,原來她還記得我,我很開心,接受她溫馨的擁抱😍,讓我又驚又喜😻,現在我非常期待我在這裡繼續holidays的日子,因為多了一位可以好好聊聊天的阿姨,不會讓我因為遠在他鄉而思念,因為我真的很開心有人人陪伴我遇我聊聊天,現在我要大力的推薦這個地方,因為我真的非常這間backpacker~😍😍😍

Helpful?
1 Thank 瑋玲 洪

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Hay Street Traveller's Inn
Perth CBD
Haus Accommodation
Haus Accommodation
#22 of 58 in Perth
18 reviews
Perth CBD
City Perth Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Coolibah Lodge Backpackers
Beatty Lodge
#15 of 58 in Perth
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Britannia on William is a budget backpacker style accommodation, it does have a number of private rooms and bunk rooms. These are very basic private rooms that offer a great rate for the budget traveller, we are not a hotel. Share facilities, bathrooms, kitchen and TV rooms. We have a spacious courtyard and are open 24 hours a day. Please call if you have any further questions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Britannia on William

Address: 253 William St, Perth, Western Australia 6003, Australia (Formerly YHA)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Price Range: $23 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Britannia on William 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Britannia on William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia On William Backpackers Hotel Perth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Britannia on William staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms in the Back are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Alfyman, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“book somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles travelduo900, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Private and shared looked good!”
 of 5 bubbles Evine21, 12 Dec 2015 | Read review
“try not to sleep past about 9 as the cleaners will wake you up”
 of 5 bubbles 297492, 21 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles danlL9755OU, 18 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay