We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pinctada McAlpine House

Orbitz.comUSD 213*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 219*
USD 213*
USD 219*
USD 213*
USD 219*
USD 213*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Pinctada McAlpine House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Pinctada McAlpine House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 95: English reviews
Geelong
Reviewed 12 August 2016

I cancelled my booking via phone, but this seems to have not been recorded, so on the day of the previously schedule arrival date a woman with a non Australian accent called me from the facility and was very rude abusive and threatening. She did not allow for any negotiation or discussion so I terminated the conversation. She took full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
Marilynne P, Owner at Pinctada McAlpine House, responded to this review

Dear Jenny, thank you for taking the time to write a review. However, I find it necessary to record the facts of our transaction which do not appear in your review. I received an email from Expedia the night before your arrival date advising me that you had a "change of plan" and wanted to cancel your reservation. Our reservation...

Tomakin, Australia
Reviewed 6 August 2016

What a wonderful, unique, relaxing place to stay. Marilyn, Gary and Ronaldo are just lovely. Not your average type of hotel, and thats what makes it so special, i just love it! Nothing is a drama. Stayed in The Tree house, garden suit and the Pearls over the last 3 weeks at different times, all fabulous. Im coming back again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
Margaret River, Australia
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Ahead of a two week tour of the Kimberley region, my partner and I decided to start our journey with a few days in Broome. We wanted to be close to the centre of town so we booked McAlpine House. Though we'd spent time before in Broome, we'd not stayed here, and we're so glad that we did. The team...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IanParmenter
Burlington, CT
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

This small guest-house grows on you after awhile. I must admit that I was a bit underwhelmed by the property and Pearler's Room upon arrival. The room was pretty small and standard and the price seemed a bit bit much, it had more of an "historic" guesthouse feeling than a "boutique" guest house feeling. The shining star of this property...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen P
PinctadaWA, Owner at Pinctada McAlpine House, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen, Thank you so much for making the time to write a review about your stay at Pinctada McAlpine House and for your compliments about the care and attention you received whilst staying with us. It is unfortunate that you consider the pricing "high", as we are priced extremely competitively against the other properties in Broome. We are not...

Avoca, Australia
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Beautiful setting but the high tea was far from value for money. Our tea went cold waiting for the food, the scones should never have been served, final food service wasn't until just before 5pm when most people were ready to leave. Only one toilet for around 60 people was inadequate, and it appeared to be the shower/toilet unit for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ellcee28
PinctadaWA, Owner at Pinctada McAlpine House, responded to this review

Dear Ellcee, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We spoke on the day and you expressed your disappointment at the time. I appreciate that you spoke to me face to face about this. As you know, I totally agreed that the scones you received were not successful and checked with you whether that was the only...

Reviewed 6 July 2016

Recently enjoyed a great weekend visiting beautiful Broome. Marilynne and Gary are fabulous, hard working hosts that will make your stay memorable. Their friendly demeanor really makes you feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are spacious and well appointed and if you are really lucky, Rocky the dog will escort you to your room and expects nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DarwinHully
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

Real experience of old style Broome Pearl Master style, coupled with contemporary comforts: shady pool and airconditioning. Marilyn and Gary were wonderfully welcoming and thoughtful and full of interest. I had an excellent stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhilippaRD
Halls Creek, Australia
Reviewed 27 March 2016

You can stay in a concrete 4 star hotel nearly anywhere today but old fashioned wooden buildings converted to modern use are rare. McAlpine House is a wonderful old school b+b with great breakfasts, comfortable air conditioned rooms, luxurious beds and engaging friendly hosts. It's close to town and a short drive or ride to magnificent Cable beach. The central...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David P
UK
Reviewed 7 November 2015

After travelling nearly 2 days to get here, this was a perfect place to chill & recover. Beautifully restored period house, with comfy furnishings, shade & tranquillity. Owner was lovely. Really couldn't fault it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank somebodyUK
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Stayed with my husband oct 2015 and could not have had a more fabulous time. Great host in Ronaldo who organised a couple of trips for us. Nothing was too much trouble. The ambience was out if this world. Will certainly be back. Thanks Ronaldo and resident dog rocky x

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nigel M

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broome hotels
4.5 km away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
3.7 km away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#4 of 11 in Broome
350 reviews
0.4 km away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#8 of 11 in Broome
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#7 of 11 in Broome
275 reviews
43.8 km away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
3.5 km away
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As soon as you step through the modest white picket gate onto a path sprinkled with frangipani flowers and shaded by towering palm trees, you know instantly that you are entering a special place of relaxation and solitude. The former home of Lord McAlpine, Pinctada McAlpine House has been meticulously converted into a private 8-room lodge - perhaps 'oasis' is a more fitting description. A subtle blend of historical charm and modern facilities makes McAlpine House the perfect place to reawaken the spirit. Wide open verandahs and polished timber floors complement a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere which slowly extinguishes your sense of time. We encourage you to make our boutique lodge your home for as long as you stay. By day, the atmosphere is shaped as much by the lush tropical gardens and exotic birds as it is by the personalised attentive service. At night, enjoy a moment of calm by the turquoise waters of a pool lit by a myriad of tiny lights. World class resort? Private retreat? Luxury guest house? McAlpine House defies classification, and that is precisely why it is such a unique place to completely rejuvenate your soul. With just eight rooms - each with its own style and private outdoor escape, a sense of space and escape is blended with a feel of intimacy and serenity. Create your own world among the original artwork and decor reflecting the unique colours and textures of the Kimberley, or step outside to explore the wonder, beauty and contrasts of Broome's azure waters, sweeping white beaches, distinctive red earth and eclectic culture. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pinctada McAlpine House

Address: 55 Herbert St | (Corner Louis Street), Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Price Range: $191 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pinctada McAlpine House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pinctada McAlpine House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcalpine Hotel Broome
Pinctada McAlpine House Broome, Western Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pinctada McAlpine House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The library room overlooking the pool.”
HalifaxFoodie2, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I don't think you will find a bad room here but we loved ours which was off the veranda by the pool.”
CazWorcester, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Treat yourself to a Garden Suite”
serenaw274, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“loved the old pearler's room and its jarrah verandah”
alphabetas, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good, garden suites a little more comfortable McAlpine Suite is historically lovely as well as large and has a bath”
Josg29, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
USD 213* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUSD 213
Expedia.comUSD 213
Booking.comUSD 219
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates