We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Continental Hotel

Weld St, Broome, Western Australia 6725 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (31)
Room & Suite (37)
Dining (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 3 small hotels in Broome
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Continental Hotel is one of the oldest and most historic hotels in Broome. Walking distance from the Heart of Broome, and only a 10 minute drive from spectacular Cable Beach, the Continental is the perfect location to explore Broome and it's surrounds. During your stay why not take a leisurely stroll along Town Beach Jetty, experience a sunset Camel Safari ride, charter a yatch, fish, see the Dinosaur footprints at Gantheaume Point or marvel at the Staircase to the Moon. While away those lazy days relaxing by the pool or hit it out with a game of tennis, the Continental Hotel provides the ideal escape. The Continental Hotel is undergoing one of it's greatest chapters of reinvigoration in 121 years. Watch this space as the exciting transformation of one of Broome's oldest and largest hotels unfolds.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
43Reviews0Q+A15Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 21
  • 6
  • 3
  • 4
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Helena P wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
The room itself was okay, although not the room I thought I'd booked. Lovely cleaning staff who do a great job. Although not mentioned anywhere, the hotel takes $100 as security on the room, and 11 days later I am still waiting for it to be returned. Usually, a hotel just takes credit card details for security - I don't know why this one needs to keep my money for over two weeks and unhelpful response. I wouldn't stay at the hotel again because of this issue.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Salim, Guest Services / Front Office at The Continental Hotel
Responded 10 Oct 2023
Dear J2728KThelenap, Thank you for taking time to leave us an online review. We would like to bring clarity in regards to your inquiry, $100 is required as a bond when guest provide the deposit via Credit Card. The amount will be shown pending on guest credit card account and will be released back to the account within 10 - 14 working days depends on the bank of issuer. After the period, you may see the amount pending was disappear from your statement which means that the amount has been released. For further information, hotel did not hold the amount in our account as in taking the payment of sale, in fact it was a pre-authorization of ensuring the amount is ready to be use whenever guest use for consumption. Upon check-out we will do a completion out of the amount blocked on the day of arrival should it being utilize, when it is not, it will be reflected back to the account with the process of the bank release period. I hope the information clarifies, despite of that, we are glad to hear that you found our cleaning staff helpful during your stay, we do hope we will have a chance to welcome you back in the future should your trip brings you back to Broome to give you a better stay experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ruth c wrote a review Sept 2023
35 contributions28 helpful votes
Lovely well maintained garden setting and swimming pool and outdoor seating. Friendly efficient staff. Good gym. Enjoyed the bistro meals although limited options. A table in the room would have been useful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Salim, Guest Services / Front Office at The Continental Hotel
Responded 1 Oct 2023
Dear RuthcG5768DA, Thank you for leaving us a great review about your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to know that you found our grounds lovely along with the pool and the outdoor seating. Not to mention also about our staff, gym and dining area. We appreciate your feedback and its invaluable to us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon in our property should your trip brings you back to Broome! Kind regards, Michelle Ass. Rooms Division Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Compass60586470807 wrote a review Sept 2023
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution
The shower water flowed out and under the vanity unit. A towel on the floor was our makeshift fix it. My Travel partner and I booked a twin share king singles room for 3 nights. Our tour operator had booked the 4th night at the Continental and another night at the end of our tour. To our dismay the room had a queen bed and a rattan sofa bed. It was after 6pm when we arrived. Reception staff refused to accept that the bed could not be split. They said the house staff would fix it the next day and sorry that nothing else could be done as fully booked. After 3 trips back to Reception, they offered a second room to my friend for that first night. We had to move out the next morning and wait till a king twin room was ready around midday. Then after our tour, again our twin singles room was prepared as one bed. Being late, we decided not to go through the saga again as this bed we could pull apart. That's not all the issues but enough for now.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Don't arrive after 6pm
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Salim, Guest Services / Front Office at The Continental Hotel
Responded 24 Sept 2023
Dear Compass60586470807, Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience during your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences and challenges you faced. Your feedback is invaluable to us. We are truly sorry to hear about the shower issue in your room. This was not up to our standard and we understand how unsettling it can be. Please rest assured that this has been actioned accordingly. Regarding the room type mix-up, we apologize for the delay in resolving this matter on the first night due to the late hour and the fully booked status. If only we would have been informed about the request prior the arrival, this matter could be prevented. With that we have discussed with our reception team to ensure better communication and quicker resolution in such instance. Once again we appreciate your patience and understanding during your stay, particularly with the multiple visits to reception and the room changes. Your comfort and satisfactions are our utmost importance to us and we are committed to making necessary improvements to prevent theses issues from happening in the future We hope that you will give us a chance in the future to host you back in our property with a more enjoyable and relaxing stay in the future. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back should your trip brings you back to Broome! Kind regards, Michelle Ass. Rooms Division Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Pokego F wrote a review Aug 2023
Greater Perth, Australia6 contributions2 helpful votes
I am in broome often and there’s nothing else close for price vs quality. I stayed in one of the refurbished rooms this visit. Very clean, very spacious. Staff always great. Great wifi (100 MBPS). Apple TV to connect to and watch what you want.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Salim, Guest Services / Front Office at The Continental Hotel
Responded 29 Aug 2023
Dear Pokego F, Thank you for taking time to leave us a review about your recent stay with us. We are glad to know that you found our newly refurbished was amazing to you for its cleanliness, spacious and you loved our new technology (Apple TV). Moreover, we will definitely share the kind words to our staffs that were great to you. We love to welcoming you back to our property for your next trip to Broome! Kind regards, Michelle Ass. Room Division Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anne K wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Over priced. Rooms are very basic. Bed was comfortable but didnt make up for the feeling of being ripped off for one night stay. Shower floor flooded due to water flowing away from drain. Restaurant service and food ok.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Salim, Guest Services / Front Office at The Continental Hotel
Responded 21 Aug 2023
Dear P7740GPannek, Thank you for leaving us a review about your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you found that your experience was not up to your expectation. Regarding the issue with the shower flooding due to water drainage, we do apologize for this inconvenience. We can reassure you that it has been fixed. We would really love you to have a better stay experience with us, should your trips brings you back to Broome feel free to reach us out, so we can recommend you our newly refurbished rooms category that might be better suits your travel needs. Kind regards, Michelle Ass. Rooms Division Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
FyingKiwi wrote a review July 2023
Christchurch, New Zealand948 contributions357 helpful votes
Given the average price of accommodation in Broome, the astronomical prices being charged should come as no surprise. However, with such prices also comes an expectation of quality and largely these are met. In the case of the Continental Hotel, however, they fall well short. The room looked “tired” and was devoid of any attractiveness and largely spartan. It contained a large comfortable bed, desk and chair along with a flat screen television that you could only view while sitting on the bed. Neither did it look particularly clean, with the tiled flooring feeling especially gritty underfoot. The bathroom consisted of a hand basin upon which a tile had been precariously placed at one end to serve as the only shelving made available. The shower was over the floor, which resulted in an inevitable flooding of the entire bathroom. Drying (of the feet) could only be completed upon exiting the bathroom. Wi-Fi signal was both very poor in strength and intermittent. Its only redeeming feature was its on-site Bistro which served a good range of meals at reasonable prices.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: For the same price, there is far better alternative accommodation available.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Salim, Guest Services / Front Office at The Continental Hotel
Responded 16 July 2023
Dear FyingKiwi, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us. We do apologize for falling short to your stay expectation especially about the rooms attractiveness, with that we are still in continuous progress of room improvement. In regards to the Wifi, we strive to provide a reliable and strong Wi-Fi connection for our guests. We will investigate the issue further to ensure that the signal strength is improved and made more consistent throughout the hotel. Despite of that we are glad that you fond of our Bistro to be a redeeming feature during your stay. Should your stay brings you back to Broome, we hope we are able to welcoming you back soon in our property and our newly refurbish rooms - Superior King, Deluxe Garden/ pool side room, Junior Suite can be one of your option to book for your future stay with us. Kind regards, Michelle Ass. Rooms Division Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Trevor S wrote a review July 2023
Adelaide, Australia21 contributions14 helpful votes
Very nice clean rooms and great facilities including great restaurant close to everything highly recommend. Staff extremely friendly and considerate with an early check-in and checkout not a problem definitely stay here again when next in Broome.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Salim, Guest Services / Front Office at The Continental Hotel
Responded 16 July 2023
Dear TrevorS444, Thank you for the wonderful feedback about your stay with us and the 5 Star Review! Its delightful to know that our room cleanliness, facilities and the friendliness of our staff contributes to your positive experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon in the near future, should your trips bring you back to Broome! Kind regards, Michelle Ass. Rooms Division Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wendy D wrote a review July 2023
6 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
Excellent hotel we will definitely be back, lovely surprise with our bedroom for our wedding anniversary only issue breakfast was cold on both occasions otherwise lovely staff very accomodating cocktails 100%
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Salim, Guest Services / Front Office at The Continental Hotel
Responded 16 July 2023
Dear Wdunphy, Thank you for sharing your excellent compliment about your recent stay with us! We understand that a warm breakfast is essential as part of the guest stay, we regret that we fell short in this aspect, please rest assured that your feedback is is addressed to our team to make necessary improvement. Despite of that we are glad that you had a memorable one to celebrate your anniversary with us! We would love to welcoming you back in the near future should your trip brings you back to Broome. Kind Regards, Michelle Ass. Rooms Division Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alison M wrote a review July 2023
Brisbane, Australia19 contributions17 helpful votes
This hotel has the atmosphere of decline. Once a thriving resort it is now lacking customer service with the feeling that checking in is an inconvenience for the staff. Having booked a 'Poolside room'- we were placed in a room overlooking a little pool in the back of the building. The restaurant was pleasant but the menu was limited. There must be much better places to stay in Broome.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Salim, Guest Services / Front Office at The Continental Hotel
Responded 16 July 2023
Dear P20t5o39, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us! We regret to learn that the stay was not up to your satisfaction. We do apologize if our customer service during the check-in process gave you the impression of inconvenience. We have allocate you to the room that you've booked accordingly, we are happy to inform you that we do have a newly refurbish deluxe poolside room which located around the big pool. Should you prefer to have the room around the bigger pool location. We thanked you once again for your invaluable feedback about the restaurant menu, the feedback will be addressed to our team accordingly. Should you give us a chance to welcoming you back to our property, we will more than happy to ensure the next one will be up to your satisfaction. Kind regards, Michelle Ass. Rooms Division Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rhonda Donaldson wrote a review July 2023
Kurrajong, Australia134 contributions14 helpful votes
Very pleasant atmosphere with beautiful pools within the gardens. Units comfortable with large shower and bed. Toilet areas were clean and well equipped. Coffe & tea facilities. Meals were excellent and quite large,cappuccino 😋 All staff were pleasant and approachable. Flower pots plants outside reception need some TLC. Otherwise no complaints.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Hop on and Hop off bus aren't really available only if you purchase a day ticket.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Continental Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Continental Hotel
Responded 9 July 2023
Dear Rhondalee1957, Thank you for leaving us a review on your recent stay. We are happy to learn you loved all of our facilities and beautiful lush gardens, we have recently finished upgrades to all of our public areas so it is great to read that you enjoyed them as much as we do! I shall pass along your lovely comments to the restaurant team regarding the tasty meals, we so glad you enjoyed them! Thank you again for leaving such a wonderful review and we very much hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again for another memorable stay. Kind Regards, Saffron - Rooms Division Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Broome area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$159 - AU$176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaWestern AustraliaKimberley RegionBroome
NUMBER OF ROOMS
136
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CONTINENTAL HOTEL (AU$159): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Broome) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Continental Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Continental Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Sacred Heart Church (0.1 km), SSJG Heritage Centre Broome (0.09 km), and The Courthouse Collection (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Continental Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Continental Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Continental Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Continental Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Continental Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Johnny Sausage Italian Restaurant, Papa Fuego, and Matso's Broome Brewery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Continental Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is The Continental Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Broome.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Continental Hotel?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does The Continental Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Continental Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting 9 Zeros, 9 Stories Memorial (1.2 km) and Broome Chinatown (0.9 km).