We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,089 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
See the most recent reviews
Showing 975: English reviews
Malaysia
Reviewed 10 December 2014

Good location close to Flinders Street railway station, very strategic location. Meaning no issue for transport and food as it is situated in the melbourne CBD. Room size is adequate (was given at double bed + bunk bed for 2 person) Comfortable bed, cleanliness is acceptable. Wifi available. Staffs are helpful and friendly

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Soon Yiu O
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewed 10 December 2014

We were looking for a centrally located hotel in CBD and this hotel met our needs. We took a family room that comes with a bunker bed and bed. Less than 100 m from the hotel you have access to free city tram, train station, shopping, restaurants shops and transport. Room and the toilet were clean and the air conditioning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PallaviMyPackageTrip
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 December 2014

Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ozemum
Tyrendarr
Reviewed 2 December 2014

I thought that for what i had paid for my 1 night stay it was good value for money. Yes the room is small and not suitable for more than 2 adults in my opinion. The ensuite was small but adequate, with separate toilet, all very clean. I got there around 9pm and checked out by 7.30am, so the Ibis...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nellie D
F1Manager, General Manager at Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD, responded to this review

Hi Nellie D, thanks for taking time out to post a review, we love it when people share their thoughts with others on the Hotel, really assists in keeping it real. The prices with us can move about in regards to the room as we shift according to demand for this supreme location. Sometime people say ' I could have...

Horsham, Australia
Reviewed 2 December 2014

located in cbd, close to everything small rooms packed with bed, clean toilets and shower room not very expensive don't get the breakfast there-its not worth to pay book early to avoid high charges, usually weekends are expensive

 Report
Helpful?
Thank senthoo47
F1Manager, General Manager at Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD, responded to this review

Hi S47, prices climb according to demand with us, weekends we are always busy and prices start from a higher point. You will find no matter how high our prices get - they will always still offer excellent value when compared to the other CBD hotels - we always offer the best rate we can even when they are high....

Tasmania, Australia
Reviewed 1 December 2014 via mobile

We travel to Melbourne for a shopping weekend , 2 adults and 3 teenage children . Hotel is very cheap and was the only hotel that would allow 5 people in one room . The room had a double bed and 2 sets of bunks , with large bathroom . Room was very basic , only had beds, mini fridge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anniebeeton
F1Manager, General Manager at Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD, responded to this review

Hi AB, thanks for the great review, really appreciate your taking the time. It's not everyone's cup of tea, so I'm happy that on this occasion we met the needs you had for this trip. The location is simply unbeatable, so I'm glad you where able to take full advantage of that. Good for people to note it's a 2...

Penang
Reviewed 1 December 2014

Cleanliness is ok. Price wise, it's not cheap though as compared to Discovery Hotel (which was fully booked when I was doing my booking). Breakfast was not provided but you can opt for it at AUD$9 per person. Discovery Hotel do provide breakfast for free. And looking at the price, I wonder why wifi is not provided. I have been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank choihb
chicago
Reviewed 29 November 2014

Excellent location. Very central to all modes of transportation. However we were four adults in a room and there was no place to walk with our bags. The room is small and the pictures do not really give an idea of how small. The carpets had stains and the upper bunk bed was not made when we checked in. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rj3kilo
F1Manager, General Manager at Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD, responded to this review

Hi RJ3, No doubt about it, rooms are compact. Ibis budgets provide the basics at reasonable prices, essentially if you need a no frills bed for the night, we will suit, if you need a little more, then we might not. The bunk beds are not made up with Ibis Budget, we replace towels daily for you, and a full...

Reviewed 28 November 2014

The location is great . Room is clean . However, the room is very tiny even for asian size. Tiny bathroom and room is not enough space for luggage placement. Its suitable for budget travelers who aim for central location and convenient transportation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Htchtc888
F1Manager, General Manager at Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD, responded to this review

Hi 888, Thanks for taking time out to post a review. We're glad you enjoyed the great location. Fantastic reminder to all that the aim is to provide basic essentials at reasonable prices with Ibis Budget, so thanks for providing your insight to others. Hopefully it will help people make their own informed choice regarding the appropriateness of Budget Accommodation...

Noosa, Australia
Reviewed 27 November 2014

We had three nights here recently. We only paid about $95 a night so wasn't expecting much. It had the basics, a queen bed (with a bunk over top) a digital TV, small ensuite (with a curtain for a door). Good bed, good shower. Their room service was very questionable - they came in and sort of straightened the bed,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
F1Manager, General Manager at Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD, responded to this review

Hi CH, So glad you enjoyed the location. Housekeeping do only change towels daily, a full service happens mid stay when staying 4 or more nights (future stayer please note your welcome to ask reception for assistance if you need anything in between) with Ibis Budgets. I'm glad you found the staff friendly and helpful, I would like to share...

309 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (196)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (81)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (101)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Bunk Bed Room (20)
Viewed
Family Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Standard Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#100 of 156 in Melbourne
370 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#110 of 156 in Melbourne
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#134 of 156 in Melbourne
1,281 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#128 of 156 in Melbourne
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
HOTEL NEWLY REFURBISHED NO CARPARK this can be booked for you, it is approx 600 meters away, please ask reception. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD

Address: 97 - 103 Elizabeth St | Near the Corner of Collins & Elizabeth, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Price Range: $78 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Melbourne
Melbourne Hotel Formule 1
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD Victoria
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hooks to hang up your towels and the shower door got stuck. But other then those two things great budget hotel and great location ”
 of 5 bubbles 39rhondac, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floor with street view”
 of 5 bubbles Razyesh, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“room are quite, tram station around the corner.”
 of 5 bubbles UteL481, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on top floor quieter but the lifts can be a little slow.”
 of 5 bubbles beenaroundthailand, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the frontside may have better view on the street (otherwise you are facing concrete walls only)”
 of 5 bubbles 444hendrikm, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5