We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
06/08/2017 07/08/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}
    Neighbourhoods
    Neighbourhoods

    The Greenhouse Backpacker

    228 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    06/08/2017 07/08/2017
    Traveller (103)
    Room & Suite (26)
    Dining (6)
    United Backpackers Melbourne
    557 reviews
    #5 of 137 Speciality lodging in Melbourne
     
    Melbourne Central YHA
    416 reviews
    #19 of 137 Speciality lodging in Melbourne
     
    Flinders Backpackers
    328 reviews
    #34 of 137 Speciality lodging in Melbourne
     
    Home at The Mansion
    120 reviews
    #44 of 137 Speciality lodging in Melbourne
     
    Overview
    • Excellent25%
    • Very good40%
    • Average23%
    • Poor7%
    • Terrible5%
    Travellers talk about
    “tv room” (19 reviews)
    “travel desk” (10 reviews)
    Free Internet
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Kitchenette
    Multilingual Staff
    Accessible rooms
    Self-Serve Laundry
    Free Parking
    Air Conditioning
    All hotel details
    United Backpackers Melbourne
    557 reviews
    #5 of 137 Speciality lodging in Melbourne
     
    Melbourne Central YHA
    416 reviews
    #19 of 137 Speciality lodging in Melbourne
     
    Flinders Backpackers
    328 reviews
    #34 of 137 Speciality lodging in Melbourne
     
    Home at The Mansion
    120 reviews
    #44 of 137 Speciality lodging in Melbourne
     
    Reviews (416)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    1 - 5 of 323 reviews

    Reviewed yesterday via mobile

    The hostel itself is pretty good - room was a decent size and the bed was comfy and clean. Agree that the walls are thin and I could hear people 3 rooms away having an argument but that could happen anywhere. Bathroom was clean, common...More

    Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

    This hostel is amazing for solo travelers. I met people every day here whilst staying for 4 days. The staff are amazing and helpful. The location is perfect for almost everything and the hostel offers free walking tours and can arrange for you to watch...More

    Response from Jonathan L, Director of Sales at The Greenhouse BackpackerResponded yesterday

    Hi Subhaan, Thanks for sharing your experiences at Greenhouse. We thought you were amazing too. Did you try the MCG stadium tour? We have plenty more great activities ready for your next trip.

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    I stayed for 4D/3N in the third floor. The location is really great: in the heart of downtown! With only some steps you can reach pub streets, cafeterias, supermarkets, trams, etc.. almost everything. The floor (3) that I stay in is very quite. Room is...More

    Response from Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse BackpackerResponded 1 week ago

    Hi Thang453, Thanks for the review and feedback, we will certainly chat to the team about it. Have an awesome trip.

    Reviewed 17 June 2017

    Stayed for 6 days and had a wonderful experience. We joined 2 free walking tours, a city tour with Shanon and tour around Fitzroy with Emily. We would have missed some of the interesting places and food if we were to be on our own....More

    Response from Jonathan L, Guest Relations Manager at The Greenhouse BackpackerResponded 5 weeks ago

    Hi Chery, Woah, great review! We love helping guests explore the hidden gems of Melbourne. We can't wait to welcome you back and show you some more of our favorite places.

    Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

    This places gets a 1 and that's because the only good thing is its location. Everything else about it was poor. It was cramped, constantly dirty especially in the kitchen and common room areas. And the female bathroom were infested with bugs! The 'free breakfast'...More

    Response from Jonathan L, Guest Relations Manager at The Greenhouse BackpackerResponded 5 weeks ago

    Hi Alex, Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. We spoke with the activities co-coordinator and she mentioned there were five or six attempts to include you in the pub crawl which weren't reciprocated. We have made sure to have a wide range of...More

    United Backpackers Melbourne
    557 reviews
    #5 of 137 Speciality lodging in Melbourne
     
    Melbourne Central YHA
    416 reviews
    #19 of 137 Speciality lodging in Melbourne
     
    Flinders Backpackers
    328 reviews
    #34 of 137 Speciality lodging in Melbourne
     
    Home at The Mansion
    120 reviews
    #44 of 137 Speciality lodging in Melbourne
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    GreenLeadersGold level
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Breakfast included
    • Free Internet
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Breakfast included
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Room amenities
    • Microwave
    Details
    • Price range
    • USD 24 - USD 76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Accessible rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 64
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Greenhouse Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Australia >
    • Victoria >
    • Melbourne >
    • Central Business District
    • Also Known As
    • The Greenhouse Backpacker Hotel Melbourne ,
    • The Greenhouse Backpacker Melbourne, Victoria
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (103)
    Room & Suite (26)
    Dining (6)
    Hotel & Grounds (81)
    Family and Play Areas (6)
    Nearby
    Central Business District
    Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways
    tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary
    feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the
    city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques,
    throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You
    never quite know what you’ll find around the next
    corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and
    even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air
    ...More
    Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
    2,185 reviews
    .24 km away
     
    Adelphi Hotel
    1,033 reviews
    .14 km away
     
    Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
    581 reviews
    .13 km away
     
    City Square Motel
    185 reviews
    .02 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Roule Galette
    218 reviews
    .05 km away
    Maccaroni Trattoria Italiana
    221 reviews
    .09 km away
    Dukes Coffee Roasters
    104 reviews
    .07 km away
    Sushi Hub
    59 reviews
    .00 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Degraves Street
    1,351 reviews
    .13 km away
    St Paul's Cathedral
    1,015 reviews
    .12 km away
    The Regent Theatre
    603 reviews
    .12 km away
    Flinders Street Station
    1,336 reviews
    .14 km away
    Questions & Answers
    teresa_wan
    16 April 2016
    Answer
    Response from ayie92 | Reviewed this property
    Green house back packers , all toilet is shared, but it's usually clean:)
    0
    Votes
    birdh0vell
    27 December 2014
    Answer
    Response from Jonathan L | Property representative
    Hi Birdhovel, Thanks for your questions. We offer free unlimited internet to all our guests in the common areas, (up on the sixth floor,) only. At this stage we do have female dorms available, but availability can... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "The third floor may be the quietest floor."
    Read review
    "Request for quieter room"
    Read review
    "Some rooms don't have windows, ask at the reception"
    Read review
    "double room was a great choice"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing