We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Discovery Melbourne

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Discovery Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

424 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Discovery Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Showing 388: English reviews
Bonn, Germany
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

The only good thing is that it is so close to the cbd. Room was dirty as and then they charged me twice and it took them nearly 2 weeks to get the money back to me. Wouldnt do it again just felt disgusting after it!! Stuff was unfriendly as well very disappointed

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lea0497
Grant R, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Lea0497 Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I apologise if you didn't enjoyed your time with us. Regarding the overcharge, I processed your refund as soon as it hit my desk. I am sorry if it took longer to come through from the bank. I'm quite dissapointed we didn't reach your expectations as that is...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 March 2016

The hotel is friendly, very good position in the city center. The price is reasonable low, and there is breakfast which make a day starts easier. The staff there are friendly and there are lot of interesting things there.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 682xiaoj
Grant R, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear 682xiaoj Thank you for leaving a review. Appreciate your comments, great to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Again thank you and happy travels. Alejandro Serritiello Front office supervisor

Greater Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 March 2016

Stayed in 16 bed room, it was comfortable bed and easy to sleep. Nice vibe, friendly staff, good small café with nice and cheap meals, very friendly and helpful staff at the tour booking counter, in general good experience, minus for the not-working key card system. Would stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rebecca667
Grant R, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear rebecca667 Thank you for choosing Discovery Melbourne and for taking the time to leave a review. Awesome review!. Thank you so much for your comments. Regarding the key system, it is an issue we have identified and we are aware. The cards are quite sensible to magnetism which means any sort of electronic device will make them stop. In...

Reviewed 2 March 2016

It was o.k. there but what made it a pleasant and enjoyable stay especially were the staff, namely Peter and Caroline. They were very helpful and very friendly. It was in a good location as well. Everything close by.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank craig w
Grant R, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear craig w Thank you so much for reviewing us. Peter and Caroline are known for been great with guests. Again, thank you for leaving a review. Kind regards and happy travels. Alejandro Serritiello Front office supervisor

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 March 2016 via mobile

I've been there during my first month in Aus. Staff was very friendly, dorms and showers were not soo bed. Kitchen clean and really helpful for who wants to save some money. Breakfast included! Under the basement u'll find the bar, it's quite nice amd there is a good ambience. Overall experience really cool!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Piratepixel
Grant R, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Piratepixel Great to hear you had a good time!. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. If you're ever in town again, please come see us as we'd love to have you staying with us again. Kind regards, Alejandro Serritiello Front office supervisor

Nimbin, Australia
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Great place, to stay, if you in need of good bed, showers where kinda not that great, but all in all would stay again and recommend it, The kitchen was nice, and good for coffee and brekky in the morning, The wifi was very good, had no trouble with it,

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank andrecbrown
Grant R, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Thank you for taking your time to leave a review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay!. We work really hard to make this place a home away from home for locals and travellers. Again, thank you for reviewing us. Kind regards, Alejandro Serritiello Front office supervisor

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Stayed for one night, didn't want to extend my stay although the bed was the most comfy one I slept in. Kitchen is big, but very chaotic. Nice extra stuff like table tennis, Billard a bar and a cafe in the hostel. It was not my kind of hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jym47
Grant R, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear jym47 Thank you for your review. I appreciate your comments and understand what you mean with the size of the property. It is a huge property. Glad to hear you had a good sleep and that enjoy the extra perks we have around for our guests. Once again, thank you and happy travels. Regards, Alejandro Serritiello Front office supervisor

Little River, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 February 2016

The staff was very friendly and helpful and the hostel location is just in the CBD area close to everything (post office, Aldi, Queens market all of them within 500 meters). No free Wi-Fi but you can join a hotspot for a small amount of money.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Balint_HUNGARY
Grant R, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Balint_HUNGARY Thank you for choosing Discovery Melbourne. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your comments and wish you the best in your future travels. Kind regards, Alejandro Serritiello Front office supervisor

Melbourne
Reviewed 26 February 2016

When I first came here, I was surprised by the cleanliness and modern furniture of the hostel. The bedrooms are okay, they're clean, the beds are comfy. That's all you need. The kitchen has everything you need for cooking. Enough pans and pots for everyone, plates and cuttlery, just no mugs which is a bummer. What made me feel uncomfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 718thomas
Grant R, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear 718thomas Thank you for taking the time to treview our property. Glad to hear you enjoyed our hostel and definitely taking on board the comments of not enough mugs. The layout we have in our building only allow to access the upper levels by elevator, that's correct. Unfortunately, there is nothing much we can do to change this, so...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Actually a nice hostel but own me 200$ for charging my room 2 times. Explained it over 20 times and they told me they transfer my Money back to me. (Waiting for 3 Month now!!!) no apology Location isn't that Bad

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 892travelgirl
Grant R, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear 892travelgirl Sorry for the inconvenience. Please send me an email to aserritiello@discoverymelbourne.com directly so i can look into the matter. I need to verify how the booking was made in order to see the transactions. Kind regards. Alejandro Serritiello Front office supervisor

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 120 in Melbourne
422 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#33 of 120 in Melbourne
384 reviews
North Melbourne
Melbourne Metro YHA
Melbourne Metro YHA
#49 of 120 in Melbourne
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
King Street Backpackers
King Street Backpackers
#96 of 120 in Melbourne
135 reviews
Central Business District
Nomads Melbourne
Nomads Melbourne
#11 of 16 in Melbourne
290 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#46 of 120 in Melbourne
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
GreenLeadersSilver level
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discovery Melbourne is a large city backpackers conveniently located right in the heart of the Melbourne CBD. Enjoy a free breakfast each day between 7am - 9am, newly installed Global Gossips Wifi throughout the Entire Buidling, and if your stay with us for 14 or more consecutive nights, a FREE airport pick up from Tullamarine. (*Conditions apply.) Features include a basement bar, cafe, cinema, job & travel agencies, rooftop with BBQ's and 24 hour reception with great local staff.For travellers looking to share accommodation we have 4, 6 & 8 share dorms and also 10 - 16 share dorms for those looking for an even cheaper option. For those wanting some privacy we also have basic private double, twin & family rooms. All rooms have shared bathroom facilities, heating and linen.Our Events Program offers guests many opportunities to explore and make friends! Discover amazing street art & hidden secrets on our free walking tours & head out of the city on our free markets & beach bus tours! Our bar The New Disco Bar has cheap drink specials including Happy Hour until 8pm from Wednesday - Saturday! Great DJ's get the dance floor pumping and a huge range of events, such as Poker nights, Minute to Win it and Ladies night on a friday. If it's great coffee & food you're after, the chefs at our licensed cafe serve up delicious food 7 days a week including all day breakfast and some of the best pizzas in town! Our fantastic Melbournian staff will make you feel right at home 24/7 Our overnight security, CCTV, lockers and swipe card access will ensure you and your belongings are safe! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Melbourne

Address: 167 - 175 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $28 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Discovery Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Melbourne Victoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Discovery Melbourne staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
24 days ago
Ipoh, Malaysia
5 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be prepared for the price you pay ”
 of 5 bubbles 739vanessaw, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Bottom bunk it ”
 of 5 bubbles 212306365, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Small rooms are generally quiet”
 of 5 bubbles MattSRob, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms good, choose size of room”
 of 5 bubbles PeterJ905, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Shower rooms on lever 2 and 4 are better than lever 3. But rooms' conditions are better than lever 2 and 4.”
 of 5 bubbles kkkc2016, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay