We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Discovery Melbourne

506 reviews
Save
Traveller (34)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (4)
Overview
  • Excellent12%
  • Very good29%
  • Average22%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible19%
Travellers talk about
“bar downstairs”(12 reviews)
“free tram zone”(5 reviews)
“cinema”(11 reviews)
Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Kitchenette
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (506)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Discovery Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
59
133
104
79
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
59
133
104
79
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar downstairsfree tram zonecinemacomputerscbdheaps
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
101 - 105 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

I have stayed here for a couple of days during the formula 1 because frankly this was the cheapest hostel i could find. I would never stay again. I found the people at the reception to be very rude. The hallways and toilets were dirty...More

1  Thank Lionheart92
Response from Michael B, Manager at Discovery MelbourneResponded 4 November 2016

Thank you for your comments. Might I suggest that next time you bring the issues to the attention of a manager or security guard during your stay rather than waiting until the end of your stay when nothing can be done. It is frustrating to...More

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

First of all the pictures on the website look completely different to how it looks when you arrive especially the rooms. The one we stayed in was so dirty and the people in there already told us it had two mice. We also got put...More

Thank person101
Response from Michael B, Manager at Discovery MelbourneResponded 4 November 2016

Thank you for your comments. Sincere apologies for the issues you mentioned. we are currently in the process of renovating the bathrooms, unfortunately this was not completed during your stay. In relation to mice, some backpackers insist on keeping food in their dorms and on...More

Reviewed 11 October 2016

Perfect accommodation for solo or friends backpackers. In the middle of the city, on less crowdedness spot. ,close to everything. Very well organized accommodation with its own bar, rooftop and special daily activities

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tufel B
Response from Michael B, Manager at Discovery MelbourneResponded 4 November 2016

Thank you for your comments, that is exactly what we are trying to achieve. Many thanks Michael

Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

I've always been used to stay in hostels, and for the first time, at Discovery Melbourne, I was stolen inside my own room! The locker was quite small so I left my shoes and some clothes on my bed, and the valuable things inside the...More

1  Thank RaizamS
Response from Michael B, Manager at Discovery MelbourneResponded 8 October 2016

Thank you for your comments. I am a little confused that you mention that no one would assist you. We take such matters very seriously and do what we can to try to help. I am sorry you had a bad experience. If you would...More

Reviewed 6 October 2016

Very expensive hostel with dirty rooms and dirty toilets, cold water from the female showers, cold air in every common area and private room, no chance to do recycling in the kitchen, no internet included at all, very expensive internet voucher. Friendly staff. Good location.More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank noemi1984
Response from Michael B, Manager at Discovery MelbourneResponded 8 October 2016

Thank you for your comments although I am a little confused. We do offer free WI FI in the lobby at designated times as advertised. As for pricing we are actually a lot cheaper than many of our competitors. As for the other items, perhaps...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
1192021222392
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Silver level
Amenities
Top amenities
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Self-Serve Laundry
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Details
Price range
USD 16 - USD 114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 16 - USD 114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (34)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (4)
Family and Play Areas (6)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
elzibabi
17 November 2017|
Answer
Response from Scott_jordan | Reviewed this property |
6.30-9.30
0
Votes
G900
16 November 2016|
Answer
Response from CJR1993 | Reviewed this property |
Towels yes, toiletries no
0
Votes
G900
5 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Tufel B | Reviewed this property |
Yes the do have hot shower. They r in the middle in the city. Close to everywhere very convinience
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"Smaller room, the better"
Read review
"Do not use this place ever"
Read review
"Zip up your bags at night!"
Read review
"There are lockers downstairs front lobby, left down the stairs. Do go to the roof at some point. Magnet locks..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing