We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Village Melbourne

167 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (89)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#24 of 30 hostels in Melbourne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
Looking for the perfect base to stay and explore the coolest city in Australia? The Village Melbourne has it all! Situated right next to the iconic Queen Victoria Markets, cafe-filled lane-ways, bars & spacious parks, our guests are perfectly situated for all the city has to offer. The Village Melbourne is the ideal budget friendly hostel! The hostel is spread over 5 levels, including a brand new basement reception and bar area - the perfect place to play pool, have a few drinks and get to know fellow backpackers! Each level is equipped with it's own kitchen and laundry area, as well as a large communal space where you can socialise with other guests, or chill out on your own. We have dorms that range in size from 4 beds to 18 beds, and all rooms include an ensuite bathroom. Come and enjoy our newly renovated hostel with us when you're next in Melbourne!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Happy hour
Game room
Table tennis
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
24-hour check-in
Paid wifi
Snack bar
Vending machine
Nightclub / DJ
Baggage storage
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Desk
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Laptop safe
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Portuguese
571Reviews6Q+A76Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 68
  • 141
  • 121
  • 108
  • 133
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
roxie wrote a review Feb 2024
Calgary, Canada2 contributions
+1
Great location, friendly and interpersonal staff, great layout, good daily social events, lots of comfy lounging areas, lots of gaming space (pool tables. Ping pong, air hockey & arcades), each bunk has their own personal plug in. Would happily stay there again!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Candice Grant, Guest Services / Front Office at The Village Melbourne
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your positive review of our Hostel! We're so glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon! Thanks, The Village Melbourne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chris L wrote a review Sept 2023
2 contributions
Nice hostel, with a gym and a nice bar. However, the staff don't take the official government photo ID cards, only passports or driver's licenses. Non-drivers shouldn't be treated as second-class citizens.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Cam B wrote a review June 2023
1 contribution
My children stayed at The Village on a music tour of Melbourne. I was not looking forward to it as I had read the reviews! Honestly, they enjoyed it, and they were safe and well-fed for the duration of their stay. I wanted to put up a review for any parents in the same position as I was and hopefully relieve some of your fears. The tour students had a designated floor away from the general public. Was it luxury? Absolutely not. Was it cost-effective, good fun and in the centre of Melbourne? Yes, it ticked all of those boxes.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Dylan wrote a review Nov 2022
4 contributions6 helpful votes
The staff stank and were very unhelpful and rude. Not naming names, but the bald Italian guy in particular was giving me very strange vibes . Toilets were never cleaned and toilet roll , which is must admit I used frequently, was rarely if ever restocked. I would save yourself the hassle and just commit an unforgivable sin so you go to hell, it’s basically the same thing. At least hell is free
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jason Reed wrote a review Oct 2022
Hobart, Australia12 contributions3 helpful votes
Not a backpacker but needed a bed while transiting overnight in Melbs (everything booked). Clean and looks like it would be a lot of fun for the backpackers. Smooth check in and digital keys are awesome. Downside, no alcohol in rooms due to downstairs being licenced. Arrived about midnight, left at 7am, no issues and would happily stay again; should I not secure a standard hotel room.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jess P wrote a review Oct 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Rooms and bathrooms were super dirty, rubbish all over the floor even though we were the first to check in and it had been "cleaned" after other people checked out. The whole place has a seedy vibe, out of the 8 hostels stayed in so far in Melbourne and great Ocean road area this is definitely the worst, looking forward to leaving
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Elie L wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
At the end of the day I spent 3 months living at the hostel. Reception makes life in The Village better , especially lovely Mariana who took care of my bookings and multiple extensions ...Very professional and smiling person, a pleasure to deal with!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Paul W wrote a review Apr 2022
Sydney, Australia2 contributions
Unilaterally cancelled my booking. It was purely by accident I discovered they had. No attempt was made to contact by SMS, phone or message on the app used to book. Efforts to discuss the matter after discovering the problem have proved fruitless.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Fiona F wrote a review Apr 2022
Wattle Grove5 contributions
+1
Worst customer service and experience ever! Don’t even consider going here! I rarely write reviews but this one needed to be said. I made a reservation for a standard double room and a week before my arrival, they messaged saying that due to some “emergency maintenance” they could not accomodate my request and forced us to cancel the reservation. I tried calling their number multiples times over the next few days with no response, to a point where their line goes straight to voicemail. I tried emailing them, facebook messaging, instagram messaging and also booking.com messaging them WITH NO RESPONSE. It wasn’t until a week later, I finally got a reply from Adam who said “unfortunately, we are fully booked. Probably for the best as I don’t think you would enjoy your stay here”. They were extremely lacking in any support to help us find alternative accomodation. In the meantime, instead of paying the original AUD$117 for a standard double, they had now jacked up the prices and we had no choice but to book AUD$408 for 2 x 6 bed mixed dorm with shared bathroom!! When we arrived, Rabi at the front desk mentioned that he had seen my name come up on reservations but did not do anything to help us with the situation or try to refund the price difference. Yet another example of terrible customer service. I’m attaching photos that clearly show how the images on their page are not true or accurate. There is mould on the ceiling, the paint is bubbling, I had a dried-in period stain on my blanket, there was a huge purple stain on the sheet, random brown specks on the other side of the blanket, and dust on the power socket. It was so cramped, you had to use the other beds frames to climb up to the top bunk bed because there was no ladder. They put us on Level 1 so your window opens up right into the alley were there’s so much noise and pollution, you might as well be sleeping on the streets (as we nearly did). Not worth the hassle, stress or inconvenience especially since they did not try to help at all and still took the funds. I will be fighting to get a refund because this place does not deserve any financial support as they are clearly not using the money to look after their property or customers!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Level 1 opens up to the alleyway and its very noisy/ so much light coming in
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Alex D wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
Every aspect of the property was bad, so I’ll name a few: The awful smell as soon as you entered that lingered throughout, the kitchen was uninhabitable due to the extent of the smell. Waiting an hour for anyone to turn up to check us in, even though we got to the property at 3pm, hardly an odd time. Filthy mattresses, floor and bathroom. Being totally catfished by the photos. Not remotely a reflection of the actual property Mouse traps all around the sides of the room. Dirty air conditioner- Consistently had a “CLEAN FILTER” banner across the control, this is bad for everyone in the room’s respiratory systems
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Pack nose plugs/ gas mask. Bring cleaning equipment Prepare to spend any money you 're saving...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Melbourne area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$60 - AU$147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Discovery Melbourne
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaMelbourneCentral Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
117
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE VILLAGE MELBOURNE (AU$60): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hostel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Village Melbourne
Which popular attractions are close to The Village Melbourne?
Nearby attractions include Virtual Room Melbourne (0.4 km), Queen Victoria Market (0.2 km), and Melbourne Central (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Village Melbourne?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include internet access, a rooftop terrace, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at The Village Melbourne?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a desk, and a stovetop.
What food & drink options are available at The Village Melbourne?
Guests can enjoy a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Village Melbourne?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Village Melbourne?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Rincon, Brick Lane Melbourne, and David's Master Pot (Elizabeth St - CBD).
Are any cleaning services offered at The Village Melbourne?
Yes, self serve laundry and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Village Melbourne?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to The Village Melbourne?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Melbourne Gaol (0.6 km), St. Patrick's Cathedral (1.5 km), and Parliament House of Victoria (1.3 km).